We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Kathmandu city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Yak & Yeti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Yak & Yeti to your Saves list
Hotel Yak & Yeti
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box: 1016, Durbar Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best place in Kathmandu city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

This hotel has a great advantage due to its centralized location. Malls, eating joints, markets are just a hop-skip and jump away. One might actually forget to tour the city of Kathmandu as this hotel binds the guests to its scenic campus. The early morning tea at the picturesque gardens along side a small pond with swans wondering adds to the beauty of the hotel. Rooms are spacious with luxurious amenities, food is delicious and staff hospitality is something to mention about. The fitness centre, spa and other facilities make this place a complete package.
Booked the hotel with some expectations after browsing the website but expectations were exceeded soon on check in. Carried some wonderful memories from Hotel Yak & Yeti. Kudos to the team!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilippeBelhay, General Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti.

Thank you for your most wonderful and genuine feedback on your recent stay at Hotel Yak & Yeti.

We are very pleased to hear that you liked our property very much and had a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for such positive feedback pointing out specific details regarding our centralized location, our picturesque garden, our newly renovated rooms with ultra-modern facilities, the delicious food served in our restaurants and our fitness and spa facilities which makes it a complete package.

We have duly noted all the positive comments on the hotel staff and they will definitely be delighted to hear all about it.

It was a pleasure having you at Hotel Yak & Yeti. We look forward to your next visit and exceeding your expectations each time.

Best regards,

Philippe Belhay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    224
    158
    51
    22
See reviews for
85
148
67
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

My partner and I booked to stay at the hotel & were pleasantly surprised when we were picked up at the airport by the complimentary hotel shuttle.

Our room was spacious. Breakfast was nice with lovely views of the garden and swans wondering about :) In room dining was good. The hotel also had a fitness centre. It was quite small but it gave us the opportunity to work out on holiday.

What I most enjoyed about the hotel was the location - it was so convenient. Only a short walk from the high street & Thamel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilippeBelhay, General Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti!

Thank you for your most genuine feedback and for highlighting our central location, delicious food and the beautiful garden area. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience while staying with us.

It was a pleasure having you at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

With regards,

Philippe Belhay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The hotel has excellent location and the service is also very good . The upholstery definitely needs a makeover , the carpets in the rooms seem to be very old and never ever cleaned.. The windows were very dirty from outside due to the bird droppings. The housekeeping staff is very rude , they just knock once and then straight away open the door with master keys. The food quality is average , the buffet does not suit every palette . Overall it is not worth the money .
The hotel does offer complimentary pick and drop from the airport.

Room Tip: Do not opt for a room in the old block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilippeBelhay, General Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti.

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review on your stay at Hotel Yak & Yeti in April.

We were unpleasantly surprised to hear about your comment regarding the status of the carpets and that it was not cleaned (?). Please do not get confused with the style and the authenticity of the traditional carpets fitted in our hotel with respect to the originality of the hotels’ decor. You may rest assured that our housekeeping team has an ongoing rolling rooster to continuously and rigorously clean each room.

With reference to the housekeeping staff being rude, we have never received such comments as our staff consists of 100% Nepalese team who go the extra mile to give the best services to our guests, as it is in their nature and culture to be courteous.

For next time, May I kindly advise you to put the ‘Do not disturb’ sign on the door knob if you choose not to have your room cleaned at 10:30 am.

Wishing you a very pleasant day ahead!

Best regards,

Philippe Belhay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Amazing place. Started with a big smile when we entered the hotel. I with my other 5 friends booked 3 rooms at the beginning and end of our trip to Nepal for a couple of days.
Nice and big rooms with a nice view to the swimming pool. Breakfast is great especially the mango juice. It's fresh. They do provide Halal food as well.Swimming pool is quiet and clean. Ducks are playing near the pool. Internet is available free only in the lobby. We talked to the General Manager Mr. Philip and he offered us a free access to the rooms as well. The hotel is few minutes far from the main shopping area in Kathmandu. Spa and money exchange are one step out of the hotel.
Frankly I can say that Yak and Yeti is the best hotel I visited in Nepal. If I do visit Nepal again, definitely I will stay at Yak and Yeti.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilippeBelhay, General Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti.

Thank you for your most wonderful and genuine feedback on your recent stay at Hotel Yak & Yeti.

We are very pleased to hear that you liked our property very much and had a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for such positive feedback pointing out specific details regarding different sections of the hotel such as the newly renovated rooms with a beautiful view, our refreshing swimming pool, our breakfast menu, the HALAL MEATS triggered specially for our regular Muslim guests, our central location and our ARABIC Speaking Management.

We have duly noted all the positive comments on the hotel staff and we are all delighted to hear about it.

It was a pleasure having you at Hotel Yak & Yeti. And, we would like to thank you again for mentioning that Yak and Yeti is the best hotel you have visited in Nepal.

We look forward to your next visit and welcoming you with even bigger smiles.

Best regards,

Philippe Belhay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The Yak and Yeti is a very nice hotel when staying in Kathmandu – the staff is very accommodating, facilities are nice and comfortable and the rooms (we stayed in heritage section which have been updated) were very good with a comfortable bed, good-size bathroom w/shower and quite fast wifi. The shower does take a long time (many of the guests were commenting on this) for hot water to arrive…we would let it run for 10-min before getting warm enough to get in. The staff makes the hotel – there is no request they will not work hard to deliver on – and in fact, recommend corresponding via e-mail with the staff prior to arrival to set your accommodations and associated costs. We did that, and the staff was prompt in replying and we negotiated a room rate that included airport transfers, breakfast buffet for two (good selection of foods), two large bottles of water per/day (you will need these) and a room in the heritage section. The rooms have universal plugs, so we did not have to bring an adaptor for the rooms (and there are 5 of these plugs in the room for use). (These work great for cell phone, iPad, computer chargers, etc which do not have polarized plugs. But my wife had to use a 2-prong Europe adapter for her curling iron.) There is a small gym (4 cardio and 6/8 weight machines) and also a spa that has a sauna/whirlpool and place to get a massage. My spouse and some of our conference attendees when right outside the gate to a spa where they could get a massage at a lower price – all said it was very good.

Kathmandu is a crowded, poor and extremely run-down city with very poor roads and power that only stays on for about 11-hours a day; so the hotel runs on generator power and also created a garden area for walking and relaxing from the noise of the city – the hotel has a nice garden area to either sit and walk…or swim in the pool. We did not swim but saw some guests who did.

Some Tips To Consider:
Tip: Kathmandu is a very crowded and large city w/poor roads and very interesting drivers – so expect it and plan accordingly for what you plan to do – we had a transfer to/from the airport and worked very well. We provided our arrival info to the airport and upon leaving the airport, looked across the street and saw a gentlemen holding a Yak and Yeti Hotel sign. They took our luggage, loaded us in the car and within 20-min we were at the hotel. Recommend the airport transfers.

Tip: If you need a VISA upon arrival – have $25 US cash/pp (they have a challenge making change) and also a passport picture. Upon entering the immigration section go to the far end of the room and there is a bank booth (far end on right next to immigration booths) where you will pay for your VISA and get a receipt and then proceed to an immigration booth where you get your passport stamped. Took us less than 10-minutes to do both and we had exact US cash.

Tip: My spouse did the Everest flight – was awesome and she booked it at the hotel Travel Desk – was $200US and was picked up at the hotel and taken to the airport for Buddha Air flight. Was in the air for over an hour (left hotel at 5:45am and was back for breakfast by 8:00am) and got to see the entire range to include Everest. Only 18 per flight and everyone gets a window seat and also opportunity to go up into the cockpit for pictures through the front window.

Tip: Everything is negotiable – everything so do not pay the first price offered. For instance I watched four people negotiate 4 different rates for a taxi to the same location…..from 200 rupees to 500 rupees. We even negotiated a lower price for a tour from the Hotel travel Desk. So negotiate.

Tip: Enjoy the people and the natural beauty of Nepal and get outside the city if you can – by air or car. Do not let the challenges of the city (there are many) distract you from the beauty…..

Tip: We booked a tour w/guide and car to see the specific highlights (temples, palaces and artisan locations) of the city and did so via the Hotel Travel Desk for 6-hours. (you can also book a three hour tour). Cost was $120US for both of us and did not include the admissions into some of the locations -- which we paid separately and was approx $50US for both of us. Was well worth it as our guide was extremely knowledgeable, spoke excellent English and bartered for us on things we wanted to buy. When we completed a tour the car was right there – with a/c running – to take us on to the next place. You can go see all these sights much cheaper by taking a taxi – but you will not get the education and understanding of what you are looking at. So choose based upon your preference but would recommend the tour – we will not be back to Nepal so wanted to understand what we were seeing. We left at 0900 and were back by 4pm.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilippeBelhay, General Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti.

Thank you for taking the time in writing such a constructive feedback on our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you liked the hotel property very much and found our newly upgraded facilities nice and comfortable. Thank you for complimenting our new and improved Wi-Fi service, presence of universal plugs in the rooms and our lovely staff who are always fully committed to serve each of our guests for a pleasurable stay. Our lush garden and pool area has always been one of the biggest highlights to our guests for being an oasis from the hustle and bustle of the busy Kathmandu.

With reference to our spa and massage facilities, it could be that the services provided outside the hotel could be as good but regarding the rate, we have to maintain the 5-star rate as it is a part of the hotel and access is granted solely for the in-house guests and club members. Thus, it would definitely be a value for money.

All your suggestions have been duly noted especially regarding the hot water in the bathrooms and it has been taken on board for action.

It was a pleasure having you at Hotel Yak & Yeti. And, if you ever change your mind and decide to come back to Nepal, we will be delighted to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Philippe Belhay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Staff service was good and attentive, and I also enjoyed an excellent massage session there. One concern I have with the hotel is the poor gym area; the equipment provision is simply too outdated, and the room is too small. Jacuzzi and steam room/sauna use were for extra charge, which I found unreasonable as they come standard in every other hotel I have stayed in. it'd also be good to have more variety in the breakfast buffet other than Indian! most time I found myself having just boiled eggs and fruits. Pancakes were good though. As mentioned elsewhere the hallways in upper floors could use renovation; it was dimly lit and the carpets looked old.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Sales Executive at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Yak & Yeti.

Thank you for taking the time in writing a feedback on our hotel. We are pleased that you had wonderful massage. We are also pleased to announce that our gym will soon be renovated into a fully functional gym with all the modern equipments.

We have noted all your constructive feedback and have forwarded it to the necessary head of departments.

It was a pleasure having you at Hotel Yak & Yeti.

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Slowly but surely Kathmandu's famous Yak and Yeti Hotel is getting a well-deserved facelift. The old wing, now the Heritage Wing, is being redone with traditional carvings, wood floors and new linens that brighten up the rooms. The newer wing has been spruced up, and looks quite nice also.

For many reasons, the Yak and Yeti has been my preferred hotel in Kathmandu both for myself and my Myths and Mountains guests. Top of the list is "location, location, location. " The hotel is tucked away off of Dhurbar Marg, lined with nice stores, and not too far from the former palace. It is a 10 minute walk to the crowded Thamel area with its tourist shops and restaurants and very near the beautiful Garden of Dreams, a restored palace and park dating back to the 19th century era of the Rana rulers. Here one can also find a lovely restaurant frequented by Nepalis and tourists for both lunch and dinner. There may be other hotels that are fancier or more expensive, but none can boast the location.

Secondly, I love the feng shui of the grounds. In the back, the hotel has a small pond, complete with geese and ducks and backed up by a hill and tiny shrine. There is a nice, green lawn area lined with colorful flowers and boasting a good-sized pool. To sit or dine outside is a relaxing pleasure.

Third, I have always appreciated the warmth of the staff, from the concierge staff, to management, to those in the restaurants. They have always been welcoming, courteous and helpful - willing to go the extra mile or prepare a delicious cup of homemade Nepali chai. Food is good in both the buffet and restaurants, and during cocktail hour and evenings, there is a piano bar.

The hotel boasts a spa, beauty parlor, exercise room, shops and there are tennis courts available for those who wish. Parking is easy, something much appreciated in crowded Kathmandu today .

Room Tip: Get a room on the garden side, preferably some distance from the casino
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shejey, Manager at Hotel Yak & Yeti, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your most wonderful and detailed feedback on your recent stay at Hotel Yak & Yeti!

You have been us for a very long time and we are committed making you stay as comfortable as possible, as your second home.

We look forward to your next visit.

With regards,

Shejey Agyitsang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Yak & Yeti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yak & Yeti

Address: P.O. Box: 1016, Durbar Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#13 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Yak & Yeti 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Yak and Yeti, is a luxury 5-star deluxe hotel in the heart of Kathmandu, Nepal. Modern day sophistication greets cultural heritage in the ample grounds of the 100-year-old palace and newly designed structure of the hotel. Find refuge among antique fountains, gilded temples and emerald gardens as you remain just moments away from all the shops and adventure of the Kathmandu city, located at Durbar Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Yak & Yeti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yak And Yeti
Hotel Yak Yeti
Yak Yeti Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Yak & Yeti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.