We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite place to stay every time I come to Kathmandu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vaishali

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vaishali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vaishali
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box: 206, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #91 of 134 hotels in Kathmandu
Abu Dhabi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“My favourite place to stay every time I come to Kathmandu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

I visit Nepal about twice a year and Vaishali is my favourite place to stay. I have tried Hyatt and Radisson before, but there is nothing like Vaishali. Maybe is not perfect 5* or 4* standard, but is close to everything and most of all - service is just amazing. If you are looking for simple rooms (recommend to try one of the suites which are realy very nice), good service, friendly staff and wish to feel like "at home" - I would definitly recommend Vaishali as the place to stay.

  • Liked — Very comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Water pressure could be better, but I would say this is common problem in Kathmandu
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    54
    41
    27
    15
See reviews for
40
43
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2008

This was pre-arranged through a trekking company and I stayed 2 nights before and 2 nights afterwards.

Its a 3 star rather than a 4 star place in my opinion and there are some issues - the shower was not that brilliant, the rooms could do with an upgrade and the power (like most of Thamel) cut out at about 6 every night.

Its biggest plus is that it really felt like a safe sanctuary away from the craziness of Thanel. It is close to all of the major bars and restaurants which is great because Thamel is such a maze.

I thought the breakfast was quite good although the Indian breakfast was much better than the western breakfast.

Definitely recommended for those who want a standard hotel before and after a trek.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2008

We stayed there for 1 night in October and 2 nights in November 07. I'm not sure about the room rate as it was a group booking.

Pro's:
Close to great shopping and sight seeing. Decent sized rooms. The only way to be closer to Rum Doodles was to be in Rum Doodles. It's in the Thamel district which hasn't seen any Maoist activity as far as I'm aware.

Cons:
Discovered bed lice and blood all over the sheets upon waking. I didn't inform staff as we left that day for a scratchy flight to Lukla.
Found exposed electrical wiring hanging out of the wall. Plumbing leaking around toilet and onto the floor. Three squares of toilet paper one micron thick. Broke out the candles regularly as we lost power every night that we were there. TV didn't work (but who cares) Upon returning from 2 weeks of trekking up to Base Camp it was disappointing to find the showers were cold whenever I tried to use them.

Synopsis: Definitely not a 4 star Hotel.

  • Liked — Being able to step out of the hustle and bustle of KMD
  • Disliked — Bed Lice
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seoul
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

good location and service, large mildly rundown room, fair central air conditioning, warm bath, small unheated pool, good free breakfast

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — run down room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2007

This is an Indian run hotel in a good location on the edge of Thamel's buzzing streets, and is cheap enough with friendly staff. Popular with pre- and post-trekking groups. The rooms are large and comfortable enough, but nothing special - could definitely do with updating, although I'm not sure what the competition is like in Kathmandu as I haven't stayed anywhere else there. The pool didn't look like it had been used in a long time. On our first night we had a suite which was huge and had some very "interesting" furniture! I think there is one ancient hairdryer for the whole hotel, so if this is important to you - bring your own! Breakfast was terrible - do yourself a favour and give breakfast a miss and find a nearby bakery (we liked the Bretzel Bakery) instead.

  • Liked — Central location, decent price
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

Good, convenient location. Nice, clean room but AC was not effective. Hotel gave a pedestal fan. Staff was polite. Room service was poor. Restaurant had same menu for breakfast for 21 days. Stayed for 21 days in April-May 2007 and stopped eating in the hotel after 10 days. Cannot be called 4-star hotel though it has a swimming pool. Price quite cheap for its good rooms, facilities and location.

  • Liked — Nice clean rooms. Good price and value for money.
  • Disliked — Poor room service. Staff not trained properly.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2007

Absolutely terrific location - right in the heart of the city's main tourist district with lots of good restaurants on the doorstep, a short walk to nearly anywhere in the city centre, yet set back from the street so a bit quieter than many other hotels in the area.

Rooms were fine - nothing special, but fine - as were staff and breakfast. Our one concern was with security: we're far from being over-nervous travellers, but there was definitely an issue here with teenage kids who didn't belong in the hotel roaming the corridors, trying doors, etc.

To be fair, the management did seem concerned when this was pointed out to them.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vaishali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vaishali

Address: P.O. Box: 206, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 134 hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vaishali 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Vaishali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaishali Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vaishali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.