We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Kathmandu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Kathmandu to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taragaon, Boudha, Kathmandu 459, Nepal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #31 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The Hyatt Regency Kathmandu is one of my personal favourites. There is very little you can complain about the hotel as it somehow gives you a very cozy feel. The hospitality is fantastic, food is great, the room quality for Nepal standards are exceptional. The ease of access to the city is good. The banquets are spacious enough to host large groups. Overall a complete package and by far the best hotel in Nepal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind positive response and the appreciation of our hotel. I am glad to know that we are your personal preferred hotel in Nepal. Thank you. Guest satisfaction & service are our primary motive and hence, it is very gratifying to know that our valuable guests are well taken care of.

Thank you once again for your compliments and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Patrick Iserlohe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    298
    95
    24
    19
See reviews for
152
279
84
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydin-eey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

After a great trek we all really appreciated and used the great facilities and service in this hotel.
I recommend the club rooms with dining floor, sauna, spa, steam room and gym & wifi included. After a crazy day in Kathmandu the hotel is a much appreciated retreat to pampered sanity. Also loved the tennis court and terrific massages - Saroj is a highly skilled masseur who fixed my back from the hard tennis court.
The food at the buffets for breakfast and dinner are very hard to resist - we failed to go al la cart when enticed by wide ranging foods and irristitable Himilayan French Cheese.
If you are thinking of staying at this hotel - just do it - you will not regret it - great professional service and style - a sanctuary.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience via Tripadvisor. Your compliments about the hotel and the services offered is greatly appreciated. I will certainly pass on your positive feedback to Saroj.

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to your return in the not too distant future.

Best regards,


Patrick Iserlohe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

calm and peaceful
resonating the mountain music .
perfectly relaxing
staff courteous and eager to help
architectural beauty reflecting the structures of chaityas . very peaceful and serene. totally a place you would want to stay all day long. although in the heart of city but the hotel is surprisingly quiet .
in the evening the lobby is alive by the music of flute and the local musical instruments played by local artist . we thoroughly enjoyed the experience and the music touched the heart.
food good and for an indian vegetarian traveller , decent vegetarian spread.

Rooms very comfortable and clean

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments on the hotel’s great services and associates. It is always our endeavor to extend the best hospitality and it is comments as yours which are most rewarding; to know that you enjoyed the experience.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to your future visits.

Best regards,


Patrick Iserlohe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Have been a regular visitor to Kathmandu for many years and have become a huge fan of this hotel for its consistency, great personalized service and ambience as while it has a great location once you are in the hotel it is supremely quiet with a fantastic bar and deck to sit at all day, fine dining in the ROX and just an altogether great feel. Super staff who have been there forever and a dynamic director of sales Sanjeev Thapa and a resident manager Suman.

Room Tip: Stay close to the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words and positive feedback about our hotel and service standards. We have noted your comments about the services and the facilities that you have enjoyed at our hotel. Also, your compliments will be passed onto Mr. Sanjeev and Mr. Suman and will be much appreciated.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Patrick Iserlohe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The Hyatt Regency is, simply, the most pampered, relaxing place you can stay in Nepal. You might think that you wouldn't feel "in Nepal"; but you do. You might think that a big chain hotel would not make you feel welcome: but it does, in many very personal ways. I would not want to spend all of a trip to Nepal in the Hyatt; and it's not very convenient for southern and western Kathmandu; but I would definitely stay there on arrival after a late flight, and for a few days of self-pampering at the end of a trip the Hyatt provides the ideal base for exploring Bouddhanath and the hills and ridges to the north.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we appreciate your kind words of compliments.

I hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back soon again.

Best regards,

Patrick Iserlohe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My wife and I visited Kathmandu, staying at the Hyatt. A wonderful oasis of green and calm in the midst of the hectic surroundings. We were treated so well by the staff that we hated to leave. Smiles abound as you walk around the property, a nice break after the busy city. Gorgeous pool and outside areas. Nice dining options with a very good wine list. We were upgraded to an incredible room with a nice view of the sunset. At night, the city is incredibly dark due to local power outages so make sure you are back by dark.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were treated so well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback . The hotel nestled on 37 acres of landscaped gardens does give the ambiance of peace and tranquility in a hustling and bustling Kathmandu and I am glad that you were able to enjoy the location. I appreciate your comment respective to our hotel and associates.

We look forward to your return visit to make it more memorable.

Best regards,

Patrick Iserlohe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed in this Hotel for three nights. On arrival we could not enter the hotel by the main door as it was being refurbished. As we checked in nothing was said about any works going on and we had not been advised of anything when making the booking or prior to our arrival. We also noticed that the bar balcony was off limits as it was being painted, but didn't think much of it. The room looked a little tired, but we managed to get a decent nights sleep on the first night. On the second day they were painting the main reception area and that evening/night it sounded like furniture was being moved around in the room above ours. I managed to get some sleep, but my wife was kept awake most of the night. The next day we decided to relax by the pool in the afternoon to try and recharge our batteries, but no sooner had we got onto the sunloungers, the pool was closed, a chemical cleaning pump was set up not 10 feet from where we were sitting, and in addition they started jet washing the façade of the building (hanging on ropes with a Karcher!). It was rather noisy and not conducive to relaxation so we retired to our room for some peace and quiet. We had a very early start the next day so on returning to the room after dinner we wanted to get to bed at a decent time (10pm). However, the furniture movement, regular toilet flushing, banging and crashing fired up again and went on for over an hour at which point I tried to call the manager and this is when we found out the phone in our room didn't work. I went down to the front desk and that is when the manager explained the hotel was being refurbished, that the work crews were occupying the rooms above ours and were refurbishing them too whilst they were staying in them!! I have no idea how many were staying in each room or what they were doing, but the manager told them to be quite, but 30 minutes later it kicked off again and went on all night. Needless to say we got little sleep. One of the worst hotel experiences ever. They did refund our money in the end, but be warned, their policy is clearly not to advise customers of what could be going on during their stay, and the managers comment that "this refurbishment is being done to make your stay better" was unbelievable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyatt Regency K, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback ! I deeply regret the inconvenience caused to you due to the work that was being undertaken during your stay. I have followed the incident with the respective team and have to admit we have failed to deliver the standard of service expected from us.

Unfortunately I was not able to meet you personally during your stay, the chain of negative experiences could have been easily managed indeed and I am very sorry that we were unable to do so.

Kindly do not hesitate to contact me personally shall you return to Kathmandu and I will ensure your visit to our hotel will be with all the services you can rightly expect from us.

Once again, I apologize to you personally.

With best regards,

Patrick Iserlohe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kathmandu

Address: Taragaon, Boudha, Kathmandu 459, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#14 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Kathmandu 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu Hotel Kathmandu
Hyatt Kathmandu
Kathmandu Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Kathmandu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.