We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" SERVICE EXCELLENCE .....WITH LOVE !!! "” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Annapurna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Annapurna to your Saves list
Hotel Annapurna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P O Box 140, Durbar Marg, Kathmandu 14229, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Stanger, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“" SERVICE EXCELLENCE .....WITH LOVE !!! "”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I travelled Nepal for 8 memorable weeks. My stay at this fantastic hotel will remain etched in my mind. There seems to be a inherint Nepali culture amongst the staff and management , that sets this establishment apart. With all the fine and modern luxury trimmings of a 5 star hotel of this stature...yet it still maintains the spirit and culture of all things Nepali. Live evening music compliments the great food served. Its locality is ideal for sampling the day tours or the vibrant nightlife of the city. It is certainly the jewel of Kathmandu.

Room Tip: Choose pool facing rooms..... peace and silence from the bustling city .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    103
    55
    22
    14
See reviews for
40
52
27
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

i have stayed last week at the hotel annapurna which was very memorable moments for me. what a great hospitality from the staffs.very nice helpful and courteous front desk staffs. the location of the hotel,room and swimming pool all are beautiful. i had a very nice stay and had a great time there. i love to go there again and again. thank you

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed in this hotel last week, which is located smack in Kathmandu and about 20-30 mins drive form the airport. The service is really great, the linens were nice and thick, there were plenty of towels and we checked out quite late at about 2pm and they didnt charge us extra!

Ok now in details:

Room View:
our room was on the 3rd floor, and the view wasn't very good, we were facing another block of wall from the building opposite.

Attractions Nearby:
there's a casino located near the hotel, its called the Anapurna casino (really run down and dowdy,unlike the ones in Las Vegas) the slot machines are still using levers not buttons!
Pizza Hut and KFC within walking distance

Service:

The breakfast was superb! Our room came with breakfast, lunch and dinner! Of course we missed the lunch and dinner but the selection of food for breakfast was scrumptious! It was a mix of Nepal + Western food. Mind you, since this is like their 5 star hotel everything was to perfection, with the exception of wifi. Now the thing with wifi is that you have to pay for it like Nepal rupees about 1000 and the hotel provides you with a user ID and password which is only applicable for single person usage (major drawback) and in some places in Kathmandu you have to ask for wifi password and that also they are reluctant to release it to you. The room was great, the toilet was clean there were plenty of soap bars, shampoo and shower gel for two persons usage. Also the ventilation was great because the water in the loo dried up fast. And every time we exited our car, someone always held the door open for us.

The bar (its called Juneli) is nice, it has a dark ambiance and its nice to cuddle up and have a few pints of beers with each other.

Please note that the swimming pool is fitly, and by filthy I mean the color is green so please please please stay away from it

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathmandu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

stayed at annapurna for 3 nights last month and had a wonderful experience. All the staffs are courteous and professional. buffet breakfast was very good. the best part of the hotel is the location which is in the centre of the city. would definitely stay in annapurna in future.keep up with the good job.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed here back in 2011 in the Spring; the hotel was really cozy and friendly and was spacious as well even though it is in the heart of the city. Rooms were a little cramped so ask for the newer ones which are larger but the service is very good and efficient. The hotel is within walking distance to Thamil which has some great shopping and lovely restaurants.

Room Tip: The elevators are archaic and slow so if you are claustrophobic consider a room on the first 2 floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

I had a very nice stay and receive a memorable hospitality from the staffs. Very nice swimming pool and excellent location and easy to access to the main market. Rooms are new and very comfortable.
I recommend others who are visiting to Nepal should go and stay at Hotel Annapurna, Kathmandu.

Very happy and will go again and again.

Special thanks to Front office team and thanks for the nice support from IT.

Stayed June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed at the Annapurna on a recent business trip. We were accommodated in the recently renovated club rooms, they are well appointed, beds are comfortable and very clean and generally all have garden views.

The staff are courteous, food in the Indian & Chinese restaurants is excellent and the morning buffet that’s served across the road in the coffee shop is simple and adequate for breakfast. I would normally stay at the Hyatt when in Kathmandu but now I have discovered the Annapurna I will be back, it’s very centrally located giving easy access to the city, and great value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a Club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Annapurna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Annapurna

Address: P O Box 140, Durbar Marg, Kathmandu 14229, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#20 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Annapurna 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Durbar Marg, Kathmandu's premier street, 5-star Hotel Annapurna has a long history of excellence in the hospitality industry. Established in 1965 and named after Annapurna, the Goddess of Abundance, the Hotel provides the finest personal service and facilities in Nepal's fabled emerald valley, and its cultural, political and commercial capital. The Hotel has a total of 151 recently renovated Deluxe and Heritage guestrooms, including 5 suites, equipped with modern amenities such as the latest flat screen TV, bedside lighting & climate control unit, tea & coffee making facilities, mini bar and electronic safe. The atmosphere within the 5-acre property is warm and relaxed, the ambiance embracing the unique and friendly essence of Nepali culture and traditions. The Hotel is an architectural marvel, cleverly combining the local pagoda-style with contemporary flair. The Hotel is also famous for its popular eating outlets. The Coffee Shop is the all day, every day place for favourite eats and drinks and surprising new delights. The capital's most exotic Chinese restaurant, the Arniko Room, has established itself as one of the culinary wonders of modern Nepal. If the aristocratic flavour of fabled Mughal kitchens is more your to your taste, then Ghar-e-Kabab is the place to dine either alone or, better still, with your family and friends, AND when the sun goes down - or even a lot earlier - the Juneli Bar, stocked with the choicest drinks from around the world, is the perfect place to hit! In keeping with modern times, the Hotel is entirely Wi-Fi enabled. With extensive banquet and conferencing facilities, beautifully landscaped garden, one of the largest hotel swimming pools, well-equipped gym, business center and the most prestigious shopping arcade, our property is also within easy reach of religious, historical, cultural, architectural and shopping destinations, as well as Government offices, diplomatic missions and airline offices. At Annapurna, it is our promise you will feel truly blessed by the Goddess of Abundance. Hotel Annapurna,'Truly a Heritage of Hospitality' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Annapurna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Annapurna
De l Annapurna Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Annapurna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.