We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #40 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Hotel has vast expanse, one can have a good morning walk in the premises itself. If you need market is just outside of the gate.
Good breakfast spread, excellent treatment, a little aqway from the airport; you should allow atleast one hour during peak hours.
At times, it is crowded.

Room Tip: Higher floor will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu !

We are delighted to note that you have had an enjoyable stay and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you. Your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate our team to continue to deliver a high level of service to our valued guests.

The team at the hotel looks forward to having you back with us and assure you of another great stay and dining experience.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    274
    79
    15
    4
See reviews for
91
149
51
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Had a brief stay at Soaltee ,though have stayed here earlier too,but fortunately got better carpetless rooms,and better clean room.Staff was courteous and welcoming.Special mention on Guest relation officer Muna Bhandari,who made the stay a comfortable by proactive attitude and also made correction in slightly overpriced bill which I couldn't notice.The only problem I faced was lack of cooling in AC as I was told that during winters only Heating services are activated,nothing to complain it was just personal issue :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team member's effort and takes the time to write about it. It has always been our utmost focus to provide our guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and it is motivation from guests such as you which encourages us to give our best. We take all our guest feedback very seriously and we would like to assure you that we have addressed your feedback on AC with concerned department.

We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm Regards.

Nalin Mandiratta

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintra, Portugal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Good choice for the big and comfortable rooms but definitely the crowded areas in the reception, bar and restaurant can spoil your stay. My bathtubs leaked every morning and, although reported in reception, they refused to change my room saying they would repair it, which they did not do. The menu in the restaurant is great and breakfast superb. In front of the hotel (in a restaurant called Svastik) you can get the same food for half the price. Taxis are also expensive, just walk to the hotel entrance and grab a taxi in the street for a third of price.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu !

Thanks so much for pointing out the disappointing aspects of our services, we are indeed very grateful to you because it is feedback like yours that allows us to evaluate the systems set in place and take corrective action where necessary. Please consider this to be an aberration to our normally high standards. At the mean time we are very happy to know that our rooms were of your great liking.

The team at Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu looks forward to providing you with a much better experience on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The hotel is like any other 4-5 star hotels. Nothing special except the hotel is spread out. Good rooms. Food was just okay. The Casino, Casino Mahjong was a bit of a let down. It looks like it's made on the top floor of someone's mansion. Cheap dance happening at the backdrop. And not even the kind of cheap that gets you excited! Really sleazy.
Casino was okay, but because of the sleazy dance, my experience got ruined.

The breakfast was really good though.

Room Tip: 2nd floor and up. Not below that
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu !

We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience during your recent stay.
We are delighted to know that our infrastructures were to your liking.
In regards to your feedback on Casino, we have shared your feedback with the "Casino Management" as the casino being a separately managed entity .It will certainly help them to constantly introspect their system and procedures and assist them in striving for better services to our guest as per our standard.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on you next trip to Kathmandu.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia, USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed there for a week. It's a great oasis in the vibrant city that's Kathmandu. The staff is very helpful and nice. The rooms are great and very clean. Four restaurants onsite: an international buffet (very good), a chinese (very good), an indian (good), and an italian (so so). The bar does not have a lot of options in terms of drinks. Internet is really expensive and not reliable. Overall a good place nevertheless that I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Be prepared to regular power shortages!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.
We are very happy to know that room and our restaurants were to your great liking. We have noted your feedback on internet service and are addressing the same .On a separate note, we are pleased to inform you of the fact that the internet service is on complimentary basis from January 1st, 2014 to all our IHG Rewards Club member so that we are better able to serve the needs of our guests.

We thank you for your recommendation and support and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here after coming down from near Everest base camp. After being In the mountains for over a week this place looked like paradise...
Check in was a bit confused and rooms are a bit of a trek away. Rooms are ordinary and tvs are so old fashioned it's funny.
Bar area is very nice and staff were very helpful. Went to the restaurant 2 nights and it was ok. Again nice staff but nothing else memorable. The casino here is an absolute joke. Probably the most depressing casino on earth. If you enjoy this you must have a gambling problem.
Pool area is very nice with mice bar. It is a lovely setting and lovely to get away from the chaos of Kathmandu.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated.
We have noted with concern your feedback on our room and furniture and are addressing the same. On a separate note, we are pleased to inform you of the fact that we are carrying out an on-going product improvement program within our hotel so that we are better able to serve the needs of our discerning travelers.
In regards to your feedback on Casino, we have shared your feedback with the "Casino Management" as the casino being a separately managed entity .It will certainly help them to constantly introspect their system and procedures and assist them in striving for better services to our guest as per our standard.

The team at Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu looks forward to providing you with a much better experience on your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Soaltee as part of a package tour. Room was spacious and comfortable. Staff was service oriented, especially liked the bar (they were good about bringing in food from other food venues) and the Chinese restaurant was excellent. Breakfast also had a lot of variety. [LOVED the lychee juice!!!]. My one issue with the establishment was the extremely high (about $13 US/day) internet fees. For that fee, one would expect seamless, consistent, reasonably fast wifi. But the wifi was spotty, kept dropping and overall was frustrating and unreliable. I first thought that this was an issue related to the limited infrastructure in a quickly developing country. However, we stayed at another hotel in Nepal, up in the mountains closer to the Himalayan foothills and they had free, fast lobby wifi and $3/day hotel room wifi. So it can be done. disappointing in an otherwise lovely, sophisticated establishment.

Room Tip: Hard to say. there were noisy weddings going on when we were there but the drumming calmed down aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide feedback about your experience.
We are very pleased to know that you liked our infrastructure and enjoyed at our Bar and Chinese restaurant "China Garden" and also found our team service oriented.

We respect your view pertaining to prices of internet and would like to share that our prices are competitive vis-à-vis similar standard hotels in town.On a separate note, I am pleased to inform you of the fact that the internet service is on complimentary basis from January 1st, 2014 to all our IHG Rewards Club member so that we are better able to serve the needs of our guests.

We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.


Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Address: Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#18 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the natural beauty of Nepal and strive for business success at the pioneering 5-star Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee hotel.The preferred hotel for heads of states visiting Kathmandu, our 12 acres of landscaped grounds echo the mountainous beauty of the Kathmandu Valley, with vibrant gardens surrounding our open veranda. You can stroll the grounds in peace and absorb the mountain view that surrounds Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, then drop into Rodi Bar for a celebratory drink.Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee is in peaceful Tahachal, 4 km from the palaces and temples of Durbar Square in the city centre. You're 6km from Pashupatinath Temple and 3km to Swayambhunath Stupa shrine. Tribhuvan International Airport is 8 km away.You can host stylish banquets, conventions and conferences in one of 7 elegant meeting rooms with space for 20-1,200 people. Gaze up at the mountains while you float in the pool or wind down with one of our rejuvenating therapies. You'll find Italian food at Al Fresco, Chinese at China Garden and Awadhi cuisine at our speciality Indian restaurant, Kakori and all day dining option at Garden Terrace.Ask Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee's Concierge to arrange hiking trips into the mountains and villages of Kathmandu Valley that will open up Himalayan panoramas or give you an insight into Nepali culture. When you return from your inspiring adventure, sink into your bedroom's inviting luxury sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.