We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Kathmandu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #32 of 133 Hotels in Kathmandu
Vancouver
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great for Kathmandu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Crowne Plaza Soaltee - a great hotel for Kathmandu.

We tried a few options in the city, this was the best. Not 5 stars, but a solid 4 I'd say. Restaurant is decent with a decent selection and quality of different foods. Shisha on the patio outside is nice and you get to watch all the guests arrive and depart. It took them about 30 minutes to prepare it though.

I like how the hotel is in its own gated compound. That's not always a good thing, but after spending a couple days navigating the craziness of Kathmandu, its a welcome retreat from the chaos of the rest of the city.

Beware taking a taxi to get back, there is another hotel named the 'Crowne Plaza' in the city, and it's not nearly as nice as this one. Our driver brought us to this other hotel first. He didn't think I was staying at the Crowne Plaza Soaltee... probably because I was dressed to blend in with the rest of the city.

Rooms are nice, a little outdated but that adds some charm to the property. Service was spotty when we were dressed casual to go outside exploring, but they perked right up when we got more formally dressed for dinner.

Overall its a good hotel, and good value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

We are delighted to know that you had a good stay with us. As you have noticed that the hotel is built to be an oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of the city.

We hope everything about your stay met your expectations and encouraged you to choose our hotel for any future accommodation needs.

Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    247
    72
    12
    4
See reviews for
91
130
45
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Staff are very friendly so that to me is already a bonus. The issue that I have is that the Elevators are so out-dated, the rooms are old fashioned and again out dated and the power is always going out so its just... a very creepy feeling. I feel like I'm in ''Tower of Terror'' when I come to this hotel. Wifi connection isn't the best either. Food is alright if you go to the Pizza place across the street. Cheap beers if you enjoy one. Overall, like I said, mixed feelings... It has it's ups and downs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that you found our team to be very friendly.

It is feedback from esteemed guests like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I've been to Kathmandu quite a few times and every time I stay here at the Crowne Plaza.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and even though it seems like quite a dated hotel, they keep it well maintained and the location is very convenient.

Not far from the Monkey Temple and about 20 minutes to Tamil.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable however a few rooms are out of reach of the wifi.

The buffet breakfast in the morning is excellent and has a great variety.

The Chinese restaurant located in the hotel is also very good. I always enjoy eating here.

There is also an Italian restaurant within the grounds of the hotel and not far from the swimming pool.

Fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

We are delighted to know that you had a relaxing and peaceful stay.

It is heartening to know that you liked most aspects of our room and our food and beverage offerings and also found our team friendly and helpful. The team is our strength and your feedback encourages us to strive harder to create moment of delights for our guests.

We have noted your feedback on our internet services and are addressing the same. On a separate note, please be informed about the fact that we are carrying out an on-going product improvement program within our hotel so that we are better able to serve the needs of our valued guest.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all time.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Nice Hotel in Kathmandu,Airport is Quite Nearby,Have Casino as well,Needs some improvement in Food and WiFi has to be Complementary.Overall OK experience with them,best Part was they Welcome US in Traditional Nepal Style .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. We have noted your feedback on the food and complimentary internet and the same has been taken up with the team. We assure you that we will give this feedback the seriousness it deserves and will work on it.
The team at the hotel looks forward to having you back with us and assure you of another great stay and dining experience.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, United States
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Staff very professional and friendly, Italian restaurant is excellent, breakfast and lunch buffets very good, it is a must to always have non-smoking rooms. The furniture is a little old and hopefully they will soon be remodeling the rooms. Standard rooms are ok, suite is always better.
Although very distant from the center of Kathmandu, you can walk around the area surrounding the hotel and do some quite good shopping. I have been staying at this property for several years in a row. After spending 10-12 days in India, a dinner at the Al Fresco Italian restaurant is always enjoyable.

Room Tip: Make sure it is always a non-smoking room preferably never on the 1st floor. The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza !

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you really enjoyed the food at our Italian specialty restaurant "Alfresco". We aim to sustain a high level of service throughout the hotel and allow guests such as you, to have a pleasant and hustle free stay.
Thank you once again for your patronage and we look forward to your longer stay with us on your next trip to Kathmandu.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent 3N/4D at crowne plaza soaltee in the month of july our vacation was planned and organised by cox & kings. At our arrival we were greeted with fruit basket and welcome drink then we were taken to casino (different property in hotel itself) for lunch were buffet was being served, we didn't liked lunch due to poor service otherwise casino was good for their offering and amenities. We then tried our luck at casino were we enjoyed thoroughly, fortunately we won some games and started accumulating chips. In the evening we spent some time in swimming pool which was refreshing experience for us, at swimming there was a open air bar but unfortunately was not functional at that time. Park area near park was well maintained and gave a pleasant view of mountains. About rooms i must say that some rooms that were mountain facing that gave a thrilling sight on the other hand rooms facing city was pathetic.Room service was very good waiter and housekeeper were cooperative ,we had prompt service in rooms even at midnight.

On the second day we had a appetizing buffet breakfast at hotel and lunch at casino-majong were buffet was stale and service quality was poor we reported such experience to the manager Mr Madhav Khatri who attended to our complaint and provided us better service for next 2 days. He was very friendly to everyone ultimately he became very good friend of us. To sum up we had a value for money experience at our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu !

We really appreciate your positive feedback regarding our Hotel and are thankful for your constructive comments since it allows us to improve our product and service quality.

We have well noted your concerns in regards to Casino Mahjong and have shared with the concerned management team of the Casino. Nevertheless, we are glad to learn that you were happy with our product and the service of our team.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Kathmandu for 2 nights in April 2011. It was overall a good experience, with nice staff. However, the services (coffee, food, water,...) are over priced: ~12 USD for a cup of espresso!!! The hotel is a bit old and needs to be refurbished. We tried the Chinese restaurant, which was not bad. The breakfast garden restaurant is really nice and offers variety. Rooms are clean, spacious, and we had a communicating room, which was really practical and made rooms look bigger. So if you are staying in more than a room, you definitely need to request a communicating one. The only negative aspect of the room was the smell of cigarettes (despite he fact that we requested a non-smoking room).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

We appreciate you taking the time to write your comments. We are glad to know that overall you had a very good experience with us. It is our constant endeavor to provide the best of services and hospitality to our valued guests.

We respect your view pertaining to prices of beverages and would like to share that our prices are competitive vis-à-vis similar standard hotels. As a hotel, we just do not provide a product but also an experience and a high level of quality .

We have noted your feedback on room smell and are addressing the same. Please consider this to be an exception to our usually high standards.

We’ll be honored if you could give us another opportunity to serve you in the near future where our team will leave no stone unturned to provide you a great experience with fond memories to cherish.


Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee

Address: Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#9 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the natural beauty of Nepal and strive for business success at the pioneering 5-star Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee hotel.The preferred hotel for heads of states visiting Kathmandu, our 12 acres of landscaped grounds echo the mountainous beauty of the Kathmandu Valley, with vibrant gardens surrounding our open veranda. You can stroll the grounds in peace and absorb the mountain view that surrounds Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, then drop into Rodi Bar for a celebratory drink.Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee is in peaceful Tahachal, 4 km from the palaces and temples of Durbar Square in the city centre. You're 6km from Pashupatinath Temple and 3km to Swayambhunath Stupa shrine. Tribhuvan International Airport is 8 km away.You can host stylish banquets, conventions and conferences in one of 7 elegant meeting rooms with space for 20-1,200 people. Gaze up at the mountains while you float in the pool or wind down with one of our rejuvenating therapies. You'll find Italian food at Al Fresco, Chinese at China Garden and Awadhi cuisine at our speciality Indian restaurant, Kakori and all day dining option at Garden Terrace.Ask Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee's Concierge to arrange hiking trips into the mountains and villages of Kathmandu Valley that will open up Himalayan panoramas or give you an insight into Nepali culture. When you return from your inspiring adventure, sink into your bedroom's inviting luxury sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.