We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasent stay withoverall confortable experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% Off Room Rates!
Ranked #36 of 129 hotels in Kathmandu
Faridabad, India
1 review
“Pleasent stay withoverall confortable experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent 3N/4D at crowne plaza soaltee in the month of july our vacation was planned and organised by cox & kings. At our arrival we were greeted with fruit basket and welcome drink then we were taken to casino (different property in hotel itself) for lunch were buffet was being served, we didn't liked lunch due to poor service otherwise casino was good for their offering and amenities. We then tried our luck at casino were we enjoyed thoroughly, fortunately we won some games and started accumulating chips. In the evening we spent some time in swimming pool which was refreshing experience for us, at swimming there was a open air bar but unfortunately was not functional at that time. Park area near park was well maintained and gave a pleasant view of mountains. About rooms i must say that some rooms that were mountain facing that gave a thrilling sight on the other hand rooms facing city was pathetic.Room service was very good waiter and housekeeper were cooperative ,we had prompt service in rooms even at midnight.

On the second day we had a appetizing buffet breakfast at hotel and lunch at casino-majong were buffet was stale and service quality was poor we reported such experience to the manager Mr Madhav Khatri who attended to our complaint and provided us better service for next 2 days. He was very friendly to everyone ultimately he became very good friend of us. To sum up we had a value for money experience at our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu !

We really appreciate your positive feedback regarding our Hotel and are thankful for your constructive comments since it allows us to improve our product and service quality.

We have well noted your concerns in regards to Casino Mahjong and have shared with the concerned management team of the Casino. Nevertheless, we are glad to learn that you were happy with our product and the service of our team.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    217
    69
    9
    4
See reviews for
78
119
40
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Kathmandu for 2 nights in April 2011. It was overall a good experience, with nice staff. However, the services (coffee, food, water,...) are over priced: ~12 USD for a cup of espresso!!! The hotel is a bit old and needs to be refurbished. We tried the Chinese restaurant, which was not bad. The breakfast garden restaurant is really nice and offers variety. Rooms are clean, spacious, and we had a communicating room, which was really practical and made rooms look bigger. So if you are staying in more than a room, you definitely need to request a communicating one. The only negative aspect of the room was the smell of cigarettes (despite he fact that we requested a non-smoking room).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

We appreciate you taking the time to write your comments. We are glad to know that overall you had a very good experience with us. It is our constant endeavor to provide the best of services and hospitality to our valued guests.

We respect your view pertaining to prices of beverages and would like to share that our prices are competitive vis-à-vis similar standard hotels. As a hotel, we just do not provide a product but also an experience and a high level of quality .

We have noted your feedback on room smell and are addressing the same. Please consider this to be an exception to our usually high standards.

We’ll be honored if you could give us another opportunity to serve you in the near future where our team will leave no stone unturned to provide you a great experience with fond memories to cherish.


Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I spent two nights here on a business trip. The rooms were comfortable and good size. All staff I encountered were very helpful and friendly. The location is a little out of the way from what I could tell and the views were not what I hoped for based on proximity to the mountains. Overall it was a more than acceptable experience in a chain hotel I have normally known for consistent quality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you so much for the great and concise review!

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with other travelers. We hope everything about your stay exceeded your expectations and encouraged you to choose our hotel for any future accommodation needs.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Having visited Kathmandu about about 20 times before for work, I decided to try the Crowne Plaza after a less than satisfactory stay at the Yak & Yeti the last time I was here. Check in was quick with friendly staff. Rooms are a good size but the bathrooms a little small. Being on business the WiFi in the room was sporadic but being Nepal I excused this and had no problems working from the lobby / bar. Biggest issue is its location & the traffic you need to battle to get in & out.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction. At the mean time please be assured that we have noted down your feedback on internet and are addressing the same.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights while traveling through Nepal on our honeymoon. If you are going to Nepal to experience Kathmandu, we'd probably recommend a fun bed and breakfast on freak street. The purpose of this hotel seems to be to cater to international business people and dignitaries (Chinese Foreign Minister stayed there when we were there). It's the type of hotel where you feel important the second you drive up to it. It's clearly a showcase.

The hotel grounds are beautiful and house several top notch restaraunts with international cuisine. We very much enjoyed the quality and selection as well as a charming and attentive staff as we dined at both the Italian restaraunt and main hotel restaurant. The food, however was seemingly not authentic to Nepal as we could not even find momos on the menu! Nonetheless all the food was delicious and a real treat.

The pool, as with the rest of the grounds is beautifully landscaped and like other areas of the hotel, service here is also fantastic. The pool, however was terribly cold.

The rooms could use some updating, especially the bathroom (tub was a bit moldy) but were clean and offered most modern amenities. Our room was comfortable and did have a great view of the mountains and Kathmandu.

The hotel location is great. It's near central city and easy to get to pretty much any site at any part of the city including the airport.

Overall, the hotel atmosphere and style along with the food and service is tops. The restaraunts served Johnny Walker Blue like it was going out of style, which we appreciated and it was fun to be surrounded by the many political representatives who tend to frequent this hotel. It's not a place for Trekkers or those who want a low key trip, but if you're in Kathmandu to comfortably sightsee, relax and enjoy less-authentic but safe food, this hotel is a winner.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Kathmandu.

The team was overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation and we thank you for sharing such inspirational compliments.

It has always been our utmost focus to provide our guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and it is motivation from discerning guests such as you which encourages us to give our best.

We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

It is always a pleasure to be staying at the Soaltee Crown Plaza,Kathamandu and its a regular venue for our company conferences and also stay in Nepal.As regulars,it is important to frankly share our views and suggest imrovements to make this a better hotel.

The rooms are good in the new wing but in the old wing, the carpets etc are not well mainatined and there is a strong repulsive odour.

The check-in process can surely be improved and the staff could be better trained on the same.Its delayed many times and the rooms are also not ready on time.

The old-fashioned leather chairs in the outside entrance area are very comfortable and relaxing though it would be good if the same is made a no-smoking area.

Conference facilities can surely be improved-we have had problems with the A/c etc in the last conference.

Buffet(Breakfast,Lunch and Dinner) is atbest of a mediocre level with not much creativity and taste...though the room service food is good.The in-room dining order taking staff could do with being a bit more polite to their guests.

The Hotel does not credit guest loyalty points for bookings made through travel agents,which is very wrong.

Room Tip: Take the New Wing always unless you are booking a club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu !

Thank you for providing us with a feedback on your stay experience. I am grateful for your comments as such information enable us to continually monitor and improve the services we are offering.We take all our guest comments very seriously and I would like to assure you that we have addressed your comments with concerned department.

Once again I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback and take this opportunity to invite you back for your next lodging needs and experience the difference.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I will forever remember the hair dryers in this hotel!

I don't know what the options are in Katmandu, but this facility is nice, but not outstanding. We were here as part of a tour package. It is located in a large compound and has on site shopping (and the vendors we dealt with were very kind individuals). Hard to assess the foodservice-had a Chinese style dinner one evening that I didn't much care for, and the breakfasts were good but not great. Staff really tried hard to accommodate but were either very jaded, and "couldn't be bothered" or on the other hand, really challenged to communicate in English. The room was medium sized, showed signs of wear, and moderately clean. And, that hair dryer! It was attached a drawer in the bathroom with a very small amount of cord, so that I had to sit down, and tilt my head over to one side to be able to use it. It was obvious that someone was trying to please but had no idea how to do it, which pretty much sums up the experience here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear like2travelAtlanta,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you received service and quality which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu
Address: Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#13 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#21 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the natural beauty of Nepal and strive for business success at the pioneering 5-star Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee hotel.The preferred hotel for heads of states visiting Kathmandu, our 12 acres of landscaped grounds echo the mountainous beauty of the Kathmandu Valley, with vibrant gardens surrounding our open veranda. You can stroll the grounds in peace and absorb the mountain view that surrounds Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, then drop into Rodi Bar for a celebratory drink.Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee is in peaceful Tahachal, 4 km from the palaces and temples of Durbar Square in the city centre. You're 6km from Pashupatinath Temple and 3km to Swayambhunath Stupa shrine. Tribhuvan International Airport is 8 km away.You can host stylish banquets, conventions and conferences in one of 7 elegant meeting rooms with space for 20-1,200 people. Gaze up at the mountains while you float in the pool or wind down with one of our rejuvenating therapies. You'll find Italian food at Al Fresco, Chinese at China Garden and Awadhi cuisine at our speciality Indian restaurant, Kakori and all day dining option at Garden Terrace.Ask Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee's Concierge to arrange hiking trips into the mountains and villages of Kathmandu Valley that will open up Himalayan panoramas or give you an insight into Nepali culture. When you return from your inspiring adventure, sink into your bedroom's inviting luxury sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu-Soaltee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.