We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hairdryers!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #38 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Atlanta
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Hairdryers!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I will forever remember the hair dryers in this hotel!

I don't know what the options are in Katmandu, but this facility is nice, but not outstanding. We were here as part of a tour package. It is located in a large compound and has on site shopping (and the vendors we dealt with were very kind individuals). Hard to assess the foodservice-had a Chinese style dinner one evening that I didn't much care for, and the breakfasts were good but not great. Staff really tried hard to accommodate but were either very jaded, and "couldn't be bothered" or on the other hand, really challenged to communicate in English. The room was medium sized, showed signs of wear, and moderately clean. And, that hair dryer! It was attached a drawer in the bathroom with a very small amount of cord, so that I had to sit down, and tilt my head over to one side to be able to use it. It was obvious that someone was trying to please but had no idea how to do it, which pretty much sums up the experience here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear like2travelAtlanta,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you received service and quality which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    276
    79
    15
    4
See reviews for
93
149
51
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We (3 Couples) went to Nepal for a leisurely experience for 5days and 4 Nights. We stayed at Soaltee for 3 Nights, and 1 Night at Nagarkot. Coming back to the Crown Plaza,

1) Check - In :
It was smooth, but despite informing them beforehand to arrange for better rooms (mountain facing), they gave us back facing rooms on 2nd Floor which had views of a pathetic terrace with generators.
2) Welcome Drink :
Pathetic. Which 5* property in this age serve you Lemon and Orange Squashes for welcome drink? At least have some courtesy to serve Juices instead of Squashes after paying 7K INR a night.
3) Rooms :
As I mentioned earlier, we were given the worst kind of rooms on 2nd floor. Rooms weren't clean. There were hairs all around on the Bed linen and on Washroom floor. Bed was comfortable though. Television wasn't working in one of the rooms which they repaired after complaining. I think they are on a cost cutting spree, as if you want to get the linen changed, you need to leave a placard on the bed. There weren't any Tooth Brushes / Shaving Kits nothing inside on the wash basin. On the next day, after a lot of fight with their duty managers, they changed our rooms to 3rd floor and 5th floor, which had better views and were nicely maintained.
4) Food :
- Breakfast - Excellent. Had a wide spread from Indian, Continental etc.
- Dinner - Had Dinner at Garden Terrace. Both Food and Service were pathetic. Food, especially the Paneer dishes were stale (which we complained to the chef also). Service was pretty slow.
- Room Service - Was fast, but again the quality of food was bad, looking at the price.
5) Swimming Pool :
It wasn't operational. The reason they cited was maintenance, but after confirming with some other people, it was actually a marriage which forced the shut down of the pool. A engagement ceremony took place besides the pool. The management was actually fooling the people residing to accommodate this function. Frankly speaking, we choose this Hotel because of its Pool, but we really felt bad at the attitude of management at the hotel.
6) Gym / Sauna / Steam Bath :
Excellent. All 3 facilities were nice and properly maintained. The staff at the male Sauna section were great and friendly, but the ladies complained about the behavior of some staff at the Female section.
7) Service / Attitude :
This was the biggest problem with this hotel. Since, its a big property, no single person is responsible for the maintenance. I would especially like to mention the name of their Duty Manager, Mr Deepak, to whom we complained about everything. Instead of helping us, he didn't listen to us, rather was rude and unaccommodating. He didn't even let us meet the senior management, rather said that he's the senior most guy available.
The service Manager of Garden terrace was good though.
8) Check Out :
Check was fast and quick.
9) Casino :
Nice and excellent. People present there really helped us understand the games, and kick start.

Overall, its a big property with lots of people staying in their Hotel. Its basically a business hotel, booked mainly by Travel agents. I would highly recommend to converse with them about the rooms, recreational facilities etc before checking in. Our stay at the property was pretty average looking at the price we paid.

Room Tip: Always ask for Mountain Facing rooms. The back rooms are bad, facing Gensets, and somehow not mainta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

We appreciate you taking out time and making us aware of your dissatisfaction thus providing us a great opportunity to improve our services.

The inconvenience that you have experienced is indeed very disturbing. We view this very seriously and have shared this with the department team members concerned. We also see it as an opportunity for us to improve our services reinforced through a refresher training initiative for our team members.

Let me assure you that nothing is more important than regaining your trust and all of us here sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu on your next visit to Nepal.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Quality 4 star hotel, comfortable accommodations, efficient service.
Nice variety of restaurants, good location (considering the traffic) to visit the sites of Kathmandu, lovely grounds. Only complaint is the internet, service is slow, inconsistent, not accessible from guest rooms.
Quality of F&B was excellent, nice variety.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and especially enjoyed the food and beverage offerings, ambiance and service. At the mean time we have noted down your feedback on our internet facilities and are addressing the same. It is feedback from esteemed guest like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for better services to our guest.

The team at the hotel looks forward to having you back with us and assure you of another great stay and dining experience.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I never been in such a peacefull hotel in my life. The staff was amazing good and genuine.
The place is just breath taking and romantic. I can't forget Kathmandu. The food for me was a bit strange. Maybe for me because I'm not very use to. But I still tried and all the crew really liked! The view and the birds outside its just amazing... The rooms are simple and not fancy. I loved the place and I will recomend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Kathmandu.

The team was overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation and we thank you for sharing such inspirational compliments.

It has always been our utmost focus to provide our guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and it is motivation from discerning guests such as you which encourages us to give our best.

We thank you for your recommendation and support and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was there in September 2012 with my wife and 1 year old son. We found the service excellent and also they had really good food for breakfast and also dinner.

Surely will recommend this to anyone that is looking for a pleasant stay with great service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

It was pleasure having you stay with us during your visit to Kathmandu.

The team was overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation and we thank you for sharing such inspirational compliments.

It has always been our utmost focus to provide our guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and it is motivation from guests such as you which encourages us to give our best.

We thank you for your recommendation and support and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This Hotel is quite comfortable but can't believe it is the best in Kathmandu. It is large and more of a business hotel with a lot of people staying there. Always seemed to be busy. Pretty typical Crowne Plaza. Rooms are adequate but by no means 5 star and a bit tired. Service is generally OK, but we did have some problems getting a non smoking room. Room has good quality bedding, with nicely finished bathrooms, mini bar and Flat Screen TV. I think this is the only place we turned on the TV in 23 days and that was just because it was our last 2 nights on vacation.

Breakfast was buffet, but had easily the best selection of any hotel we stayed in, in India or Nepal. Breakfast room was always busy but service was good and no wait for water, tea or coffee.

Front desk was and lobby was very Americanized and there was a small shopping arcade, concierge and travel agencies as well.

Not really any complaints, just that it was a big international hotel much like you can get from any of the main chains anywhere in the world, with standard facilities and nothing to really add to a good time in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. We are happy to note that the services rendered by our team were to your satisfaction. We have noted your feedback on room and are addressing the same. At the mean time, please be informed about the fact that we are carrying out an on-going product improvement program within our hotel so that we are better able to serve the needs of our valuable guest .
We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Hotel Crowne Plaza is the best hotel in Kathmandu. The suites in the hotel are very beautyful and cozy. The service given by the hotel is also damn appreciate able. I simply loved the service the environment of the hotel. It is really appreciable.

Room Tip: Best hotel...all the suites are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered. Your feedback on our product and services is indeed very encouraging for our team members to keep working hard to continue to exceed our guest’s expectations with genuinely warm and indigenous Nepalese Hospitality.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope that your memorable experience will bring you back here in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Address: Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#18 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the natural beauty of Nepal and strive for business success at the pioneering 5-star Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee hotel.The preferred hotel for heads of states visiting Kathmandu, our 12 acres of landscaped grounds echo the mountainous beauty of the Kathmandu Valley, with vibrant gardens surrounding our open veranda. You can stroll the grounds in peace and absorb the mountain view that surrounds Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, then drop into Rodi Bar for a celebratory drink.Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee is in peaceful Tahachal, 4 km from the palaces and temples of Durbar Square in the city centre. You're 6km from Pashupatinath Temple and 3km to Swayambhunath Stupa shrine. Tribhuvan International Airport is 8 km away.You can host stylish banquets, conventions and conferences in one of 7 elegant meeting rooms with space for 20-1,200 people. Gaze up at the mountains while you float in the pool or wind down with one of our rejuvenating therapies. You'll find Italian food at Al Fresco, Chinese at China Garden and Awadhi cuisine at our speciality Indian restaurant, Kakori and all day dining option at Garden Terrace.Ask Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee's Concierge to arrange hiking trips into the mountains and villages of Kathmandu Valley that will open up Himalayan panoramas or give you an insight into Nepali culture. When you return from your inspiring adventure, sink into your bedroom's inviting luxury sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.