We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #40 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice Stay..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were choose the right choice to stay in Crowne Plaza Hotel, Kathmandu. Nice and clean hotel. Far away from the busy town,Tamel. ( only 10-15 minutes away ). Service here was good. Staff is helpful. House keeping was provided a good clean in our room during our stay. Breakfast here is the top with variety choices. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

We are very happy to know that you are delighted with our infrastructure. Our property represents the true magic and spirit of Nepal and to make ultimate destination of contemporary style and luxury in the city of Kathmandu.
Your feedback on various services of the hotel is extremely useful and indeed very encouraging for my team members to keep working hard on exceeding our guest’s expectations with genuinely warm and indigenous Nepalese Hospitality.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    320
    91
    15
    5
See reviews for
105
167
53
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Let's be honest: even the locals will readily admit that Kathmandu is "the worst place in Nepal". The day I arrived there was a strike, meaning it took 2 hours from airport to the Crowne Plaza, after which it was impossible to go anywhere in town. Our business meetings had to be held in the hotel, which was just fine, since it was positively the most peaceful, pleasant, visually appealing place I'd seen during my short visit to Kathmandu.

The comfortable lobby (indoor and outdoor) and large gardens make it a great place for a meeting - strike or no strike! The food in the restaurants (we ate at the lobby restaurant and Kakori, the Indian restaurant) was excellent (note: I love Indian food).

Internet was a bit touch-and-go and didn't work outside the main room/lobby areas. But it was never a real problem and besides, it was the best connectivity I found in Kathmandu!

The pool looked excellent although I didn't have time for a swim.

A few additional dollars invested and this would be a 5-star joint!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience with us.
We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the services rendered by our team.
Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience, and we look forward to welcome you again at Soaltee Crowne Plaza on your next visit to Kathmandu, Nepal.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fazilka
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We went on family vacation to Kathmandu with my parents to celebrate their 25th Anniversary this was the gift to my parents by me. I am so pleased that I choose hotel Soaltee for stay in Kathmandu. Kathmandu is a very nice place and is famous for temples- Pashupathinath temple and Baudhnath. The hotel made our stay memorable in Kathmandu.Special thanks to Bonas from nepalonsale.com who provided us a very good Nepal package at prices under our pockets
Soaltee hotel is rated 4 star hotel where you can experience the natural beauty of Nepal. The hotel‘s large landscaped grounds echo mountains beauty of Kathmandu valley. The hotel provides the cozy atmosphere with vibrant gardens surrounding open veranda. The hotel is located in peaceful Tahachal, 4 km from places and temples of Durbar Square, 4 km from Pashupatinath temple and 3 km from Swayambhunath Stupa. We took taxi from outside hotel to visit these places at very cheap rates.

Hotel staff was friendly and efficient especially at the reception and on the door. We had very cozy check in process and were taken to our rooms. Rooms offered to has following features-

1. It has panoramic view of mountains and village.

2. It was quite spacious and elegantly furnished in the Nepali style.

3. It was provided with king size bed, sofa, wardrobes, TV etc.

4. Attached bathroom with hair drier and all useful toiletries.

5. AC was also there but not required at all.

The hotel also has swimming pool and massage centre. You enjoy floating in pool gazing the mountains. I also tried rejuvenating therapy in the massage centre which was very relaxing.

Quality of the food was very good especially Chinese food was amazing at the China Garden. My parents liked the Indian food in Indian restaurant Kakori. Breakfast was only served in buffet so no other option for breakfast.

We really enjoyed the hospitality of the hotel and highly recommend it as the luxurious stay in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Kathmandu.

The team was overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation and we thank you for sharing such inspirational compliments.
It has always been our utmost focus to provide our guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and it is motivation from guests such as you which encourages us to give our best.
We thank you for your recommendation and support and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I think my review for this place would have been different if I had been traveling with someone but as I was traveling alone, I found the location of this hotel to be very difficult for me. It seemed to be away from the other hotels in the area and not near the city centre. The rooms, amenities, and service were good - as good as one would expect from a Crowne Plaza anywhere in the world but for the price I paid, I actually would've liked it to be even a bit nicer. The restaurant while yummy was pretty overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza kathmandu !

Thank you so much for the great and concise review. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with other travelers. We agree that our Hotel is little away from the city. On the contrary, there is an easy access to world famous Swoyambhunath ( Monkey temple), other world heritage sites and city center via taxis and the location does offer a calm and serene atmosphere.
Beside location we hope everything about your stay exceeded your expectations and encouraged you to choose our hotel for any future accommodation needs.

Thank you once again and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I would strongly recommend this hotel; we stayed there for two nights. Breakfast buffet was exquisite. Hotel is isolated from the city noise and has nice peaceful surroundings. Room, bathroom, hotel lobby and restaurant were very comfortable, nicely maintained and decorated. Hotel staff gave us a great service. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Kathmandu.

The team was overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation and we thank you for sharing such inspirational compliments.

We are delighted to note that you found the hotel location very ideal with excellent rooms, Lobby Restaurants and friendly staff. It is our constant efforts to extend personalized services to our guests and it is always a pleasure to see that it is so well recognized.

We thank you for your recommendation and support and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was 2nd visit to Soaltee Crown plaza and it was very good experience ,ideal for both Tourist as well as Business People , If you are on vacation , you have very good campus and spoiled for options of resturant , you can spulge money in next door casino which assured great evening even if you are not gambler. If you are on business , then book for Club Rooms as you have access to lounge with Happy Hours option and condut your business without have office actually you save a lot if you are going to meet lots of people.The property is quite spacious and was informed that they recently redoing furniture which is still in great shape compared to other old hotels i visited. Ths hotel is ideally suited for conference packages as you can accomodate as much as people as you want and Hotel has choice of conference rooms which are quite spacious and well desiged for big meetings / functions.Staff is well trained and helpful and assures you pleasant stay , prices offered by Travel Desk as quite competitive for Airport Drop and local sight seeing and provide good vehilces you don't have to exxplore any further .
if you are longer stay ,carry handset so than you can use local Nepal number which is cheap for communication with local taxi operator in the event you get lost somewherre. If you are Hindu , then please attend aarti at 6 PM at Pashupatinath temple which is around 8 kms ( 30 mins) from hotel which is nice experience .

I would specially recommend the bar in the lobby which is open facing lawns ,you can have drinks and enjoy Hukka inthe evening or you can have sun bath in morning and just relax.

Over all Great place tostay in Kathmandu and would love to stay again.

Room Tip: Please ask for rooms facing the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

It is feedback from esteemed guests like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Had stayed year last year and was right in staying here once again. Good Hotel, nice location and surroundings. Food is good and so is the breakfast.
Friendly staff , would come back next year again.I am a priority member was upgraded and even given a late check out which was nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza kathmandu !

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with our product and services. We appreciate your continued loyalty towards IHG brand and let me assure you that it is our utmost focus to provide our valued guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality.

The team at the hotel looks forward to having you back with us and assure you of another great stay and dining experience.

Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Address: Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#18 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the natural beauty of Nepal and strive for business success at the pioneering 5-star Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee hotel.The preferred hotel for heads of states visiting Kathmandu, our 12 acres of landscaped grounds echo the mountainous beauty of the Kathmandu Valley, with vibrant gardens surrounding our open veranda. You can stroll the grounds in peace and absorb the mountain view that surrounds Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, then drop into Rodi Bar for a celebratory drink.Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee is in peaceful Tahachal, 4 km from the palaces and temples of Durbar Square in the city centre. You're 6km from Pashupatinath Temple and 3km to Swayambhunath Stupa shrine. Tribhuvan International Airport is 8 km away.You can host stylish banquets, conventions and conferences in one of 7 elegant meeting rooms with space for 20-1,200 people. Gaze up at the mountains while you float in the pool or wind down with one of our rejuvenating therapies. You'll find Italian food at Al Fresco, Chinese at China Garden and Awadhi cuisine at our speciality Indian restaurant, Kakori and all day dining option at Garden Terrace.Ask Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee's Concierge to arrange hiking trips into the mountains and villages of Kathmandu Valley that will open up Himalayan panoramas or give you an insight into Nepali culture. When you return from your inspiring adventure, sink into your bedroom's inviting luxury sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.