We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas to remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #38 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Christmas to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

When I travel in Nepal on my own I prefer to stay in one of the small guest houses, but when I travel with a group of tourists, as a Tour Leader I have to make sure that everything runs smoothly, so I stay at the Soaltee and I always feel at home. The staff are always genuinely friendly and we all feel very welcome.
The rooms are always spotlessly clean and the food great. The garden is also wonderful; it's like an oasis in central Kathmandu, just a 20-minute walk from Durbar Square!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza kathmandu!

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at Soaltee Crowne Plaza.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with our product and services rendered. Your feedback on our team member is indeed very encouraging to keep working hard on exceeding our guest’s expectations with genuinely warm and indigenous Nepalese Hospitality.

Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    276
    79
    15
    4
See reviews for
93
149
51
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Loved our two-night stay here. Good food, some nice shops on the property without overly-aggressive sales people. Comfortable, clean and quiet room. Only unhappy surprise was that smoking is still allowed indoors in places in the hotel - not pleasant, but then again, not much worse than the air in the rest of Kathmandu. Very helpful and knowledgeable staff. Close to city and Durbar Square, Patan City, stupas, etc. Loved all the flowers in bowls around the property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

Thank you so much for the great and concise review!
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with other travelers. We hope everything about your stay exceeded your expectations and encouraged you to choose our hotel for any future accommodation needs.

Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Having just trekked to Everest Base camp, an incredible experience but mentally and physically demanding, we felt we deserved a little comfort. We don't usually go for big chain hotels, but knew from how we felt after climbing Kilimanjaro that the only way to guarantee a decent bed and much needed supply of hot water is to 'suck it up' and go for this type of hotel. We chose the Crowne Plaza over The Hyatt on price and the fact that they were prepared to put our daughter in the room with us, which again kept costs down.
The grounds are beautiful and with a Hindu wedding going on whilst we were there, we saw how creatively the space can be used.
Room was comfortable and there was always hot water and a flushing loo! Such a treat after trekking.We had breakfast twice and also sampled 2 of the restaurants. The food was excellent. Yes it is expensive compared to eating in Thamel but not extortionate even comparing to the South African rand.
Treatments in the beauty salon were on special offer and certainly incredibly reasonable. So we could enjoy some welcome pampering after our exertions.
Staff were friendly and helpful. I think it was the first time they had been asked to track down Chabad in Kathmandu as we wanted to attend a Friday evening Sabbath service. They also helped us with our online check in and double checked our flight times which had changed since we had booked.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us during your recent visit to Kathmandu.

We are delighted to note that you have had an enjoyable stay and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you. Your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate our team to continue to deliver a high level of service to our valued guests.

Please allow us to showcase our warm hospitality to you and your near ones, again soon.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Nested well within the city, it manages to be away from the hustle bustle (3Km) , spread over a large green well landscaped ground with the surrounding mountains offering a very peaceful view. The rooms are both old and new - the hotel goes back many years. Ask for the rooms with Verandahs (Balcony). Service / Breakfast / Amenities etc are good but follow a leisurely pace. 'China Garden' does serve some very delectable and authentic Chinese cusine. The are other choices - Italian, Indian, Tibetan etc which are also easily available. The Casino is located at the back of the hotel mainly for tourists - lively on weekend nights. With a large grand conference hall, well spread open grounds, a service oriented staff - the hotel is very friendly for large groups and events. Some of the best launch events and high end weddings are held here regularly

Room Tip: Ask for gate view or mountain view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza!

We are delighted to know that you had a relaxing and peaceful stay. As you have noticed that the hotel is built to be an oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of the city.
We hope everything about your stay exceeded your expectations and encouraged you to choose our hotel for any future accommodation needs.
Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed in this wonderful friendly hotel for 3 nights. The hotel is a retreat from the bustling city. We enjoyed all aspects including the rooms, food services, location and a real plus was the wonderfully friendly service from everyone we encountered. Yes Wifi is expensive, but acceptable. We enjoyed the breakfasts and dining in the hotel and the restaurant 'attached' to the hotel as well. Just outside the hotel property there is friendly fair tourist shopping available as well. Well worth your consideration when staying in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu !

It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Kathmandu.

The team was overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation and we thank you for sharing such inspirational compliments.

It has always been our utmost focus to provide our guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and it is motivation from discerning guests such as you which encourages us to give our best.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu.


Warm Regards,

Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights and the accommodation is definitely not equivalent to what you would pay for in other countries. Rooms are dated. Wifi is expensive. Breakfast is okay. Staff service is average. I would recommend the Hyatt, which is in the same price range, over Crowne Plaza.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

We are thankful to you for your patience and taking out time and making us aware of your dissatisfaction thus providing us a great opportunity to improve our offerings.

We have taken note of your comments that you found the room assigned to you was not satisfactory as you found it little old. Whilst we continue to receive generally very positive feedback from our guest about our product and services, it is very unfortunate that on this incident, we have failed to meet your expectation. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.
On a separate note, we are pleased to inform you of the fact that we are carrying out an on-going product improvement program within our hotel so that we are better able to serve the needs of our discerning guests.
We have also noted your feedback on charges of our offerings and would like to share that our prices are competitive vis-à-vis similar standard hotels. As a hotel, we just do not provide a product but also an experience and a level of quality that is expected from Crowne Plaza Hotels.

The team at the Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu looks forward to providing you with a much better experience with upgraded room category on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The hotel handled an international conference quite well; exceptionally well if you allowed for the fact we were there during the wedding season and the staff were working all hours. The conference facilties are quite reasonable and flexible. We needed both large and small rooms. The accommodation is quite adequate without being exceptional and the restuarants are varied and good to very good.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room facing the very large hotel generators (rear of hotel). You will be thankful the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza!

Thank you so much, we are truly grateful for the kind praise that you have showered on our services. Conferences are events that we always focus on.Your feedback convinced us that we are journeying in the right direction and we are encouraged to continue our special efforts towards corporate events.

Please do book us for similar needs in future; we would love more opportunities of doing our best for you.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Address: Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#18 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the natural beauty of Nepal and strive for business success at the pioneering 5-star Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee hotel.The preferred hotel for heads of states visiting Kathmandu, our 12 acres of landscaped grounds echo the mountainous beauty of the Kathmandu Valley, with vibrant gardens surrounding our open veranda. You can stroll the grounds in peace and absorb the mountain view that surrounds Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, then drop into Rodi Bar for a celebratory drink.Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee is in peaceful Tahachal, 4 km from the palaces and temples of Durbar Square in the city centre. You're 6km from Pashupatinath Temple and 3km to Swayambhunath Stupa shrine. Tribhuvan International Airport is 8 km away.You can host stylish banquets, conventions and conferences in one of 7 elegant meeting rooms with space for 20-1,200 people. Gaze up at the mountains while you float in the pool or wind down with one of our rejuvenating therapies. You'll find Italian food at Al Fresco, Chinese at China Garden and Awadhi cuisine at our speciality Indian restaurant, Kakori and all day dining option at Garden Terrace.Ask Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee's Concierge to arrange hiking trips into the mountains and villages of Kathmandu Valley that will open up Himalayan panoramas or give you an insight into Nepali culture. When you return from your inspiring adventure, sink into your bedroom's inviting luxury sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.