We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in a desert of chaos and noise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #41 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Oasis in a desert of chaos and noise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed there for a week on a business trip and found this hotel to be excellent. The location is a bit far from the city (due to traffic), but once you get it, it cuts you off from the noise and chaos which the city is known for. Wonderful landscaping of the property. The service is prompt and efficient. Rooms are well equipped and comfy. The food range especially for breakfast is good which an eating area on the outside. In short, it is an oasis for the city.

Room Tip: Chose rooms which overlook the hills - great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza, Kathmandu !

We are pleased to receive your nice review of our hotel, and your satisfaction with our services.

As you have noticed, our hotel is built to be an oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of the city. We have tried very hard to ensure that the property represents the true spirit of Nepal and to make ultimate destination of contemporary style and luxury in the city of Kathmandu.

Your comments will be shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu, a leader in excellence.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience, and all of us here sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back at Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu on your next visit to Nepal.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    320
    91
    15
    5
See reviews for
105
167
53
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our family of four stayed at the Crowne Plaza Soaltee on two occasions, at the beginning and end of our visit to Nepal. Each stay was excellent and each room was super relaxing and comfortable. The rooms were very clean, the linens were fresh & crisp and the views of the gardens and grounds were just lovely. The front desk staff were very good about accomodating our request to have our rooms next to/or across from our teenagers and allowed us to have a late check-out. The breakfast buffet is huge and extensive with a massive amount of choice. I would recommend staying here to anyone who is looking for high standards in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza kathmandu!

We do appreciate you taking time to share with us your experience at our hotel.

We are very glad that you had a really pleasant stay with us and we are very grateful to receive your feedback that overall we were being able to meet your expectation. It brings immense pleasure and delight that you have extended your gracious compliments to our team of associates, who have been recognized for their hospitality, resourcefulness and warmth. Your comments will be shared with entire team as reinforcement to continue with their efforts to make Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu, a leader in excellence.

The team at the hotel looks forward to having you back with us and assures you of another great stay and dinning experience.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, Punjab, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a great five star in the city of Kathmandu.Service is first class. Food is excellent both in room dining as well as their restaurants.The KAKORI restaurant serves Mughlai and is open only for dinner. It is just not to be missed.Great food,excellent service. Good collection of liquor.They also have a continental restaurant that is equally good,The sprawling lawns and a lot of space to walk in the hotel campus give you the feeling of a resort.The coffee lounge is a bit disappointing though.The Hotel should mention that their casino has been closed since last two years.

Room Tip: choose the room on the right block,you will have great view of the lawns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu!

It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your recent visit to Kathmandu.

The team was overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation and we thank you for sharing such inspirational compliments on Trip Advisor.
It has always been our utmost focus to provide our guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and it is motivation from discerning guests such as you which encourages us to give our best. At the mean time your observation on lounge and casino has been noted down and are addressing the same.

We thank you for your recommendation and support and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights overall a good stay. The room we received was pretty much your standard hotel chain room. The staff are friendly and will arrange anything for you. The hotel has good facilities a spa, plenty of restaurants which we tried all of them the best in my opinion was the Italian. They do offer free wifi but the connection was terrible we did call reception and were informed an IT person would come to the room to fix the problem to our shock no one ever arrived.
There was a very helpful lady in reception (sorry can't remember her name) but she was very knowledgeable she arranged all our sightseeing, taxis etc she was fantastic.
We did enjoy our stay but I feel there are better options in Kathmandu we stayed at the kantipur temple house also on this trip and would have preferred to have stayed there the entire week.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nalinma, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza, Kathmandu!

We do appreciate you taking time to share with us your experience at our hotel.

Whilst we are happy to note that you liked our room, spa and our restaurants, it is distressing to read your feedback on the internet services. Please allow me to assure you that I have shared your feedback with the concerned department head and necessary corrective action has been taken in this regard.
It is our utmost focus to provide our valued guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality. It is feedback such as yours, which helps us to continuously introspect and find permanent solutions in order to constantly improve. I thank you once again for sharing your observations and sincerely appreciate your feedback.

We hope to showcase an improvement on your next visit so that our hotel can become your preferred "home" in Kathmandu, Nepal.

Warm Regards,
Nalin Mandiratta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just spend a night in Kathmandu...arrived late and left the hotel early next morning, but even during that short stay haven't found anything terribly wrong. Nice clean & spacious rooms, the room service for Dinner was excellent..both the food and the presentation. Really helpful hotel staff...all in all, as good as you normally expect from a InterContinental group.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPradhan, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear pinakc,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza, Kathmandu!

Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our efforts and takes the time to write about it. Your comments will be shared with our entire team, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make us a leader in excellence.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience, and all of us here sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at Soaltee Crowne Plaza Kathmandu on your next visit to Nepal.

Warm Regards,
Sachin Pradhan
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is in the middle of very green, open grounds, full of flowers , very pleasant in the c rowdy city of Kathmandu . The rooms are a bit old but clean and nicely furnished. Overall ,service is very good , nice range of restaurants in the hotel and very nice breakfast buffet in the morning.I would say , for Nepal it is a 5 stars hotel, even it is a bit lower that the "standard" Crowne plaza hotel in many developed countries.

Room Tip: choose the new wing : the rooms are better and newer, choose rooms facing the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPradhan, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear casanovabkk,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza, Kathmandu !

Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful view regarding our hotel.
It has always been our utmost focus to provide our guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and it is motivation from discerning guests such as you which encourages us to give our best.
We hope everything about your stay exceeded your expectations and encouraged you to choose our hotel for any future accommodation needs.
We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm Regards,
Sachin Pradhan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The most striking feature of the Hotel is the large grounds in which it is set. There is a big open, lobby which also serves as a bar in the evening. There is a general air of spaciousness in this Hotel which is located reasonably close to the City centre. They have a choice of restaurants including a nice Indian restaurant serving kebabs. The food is good although service is slightly below par. They have a business centre, internet in the rooms and wi-fi -- although at nearly $15/day internet access is ok for the busineess traveller and not really cheap for the casual user. They have a shopping arcade, swimming pool etc. The buffett breakfast is very good with lots of choice. Check your room .. ours had a view of large plastic water tanks. Overall a nice, if slightly predictable hotel which could be anywhere in the World. If you want a feel of Kathmandu this hotel is not for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPradhan, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Rajashekar,

Greetings from Soaltee Crowne Plaza, Kathmandu !

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
It is our constant endeavor to offer warm and personal service that exceed our guest's expectations and feedback from our guests helps us to know if we are achieving this objective.

We have noted your concern regarding our food and beverage service as well as internet charges and are addressing the same. We sincerely appreciate your observations on our hotel and it will certainly help us to revisit our services and take corrective action.

We consider it a privilege to have been of service to you. Looking forward to meeting you personally on your next visit to our hotel.

Warm Regards,
Sachin Pradhan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee

Address: Tahachal, Kathmandu 97, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu
#12 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#18 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the natural beauty of Nepal and strive for business success at the pioneering 5-star Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee hotel.The preferred hotel for heads of states visiting Kathmandu, our 12 acres of landscaped grounds echo the mountainous beauty of the Kathmandu Valley, with vibrant gardens surrounding our open veranda. You can stroll the grounds in peace and absorb the mountain view that surrounds Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, then drop into Rodi Bar for a celebratory drink.Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee is in peaceful Tahachal, 4 km from the palaces and temples of Durbar Square in the city centre. You're 6km from Pashupatinath Temple and 3km to Swayambhunath Stupa shrine. Tribhuvan International Airport is 8 km away.You can host stylish banquets, conventions and conferences in one of 7 elegant meeting rooms with space for 20-1,200 people. Gaze up at the mountains while you float in the pool or wind down with one of our rejuvenating therapies. You'll find Italian food at Al Fresco, Chinese at China Garden and Awadhi cuisine at our speciality Indian restaurant, Kakori and all day dining option at Garden Terrace.Ask Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee's Concierge to arrange hiking trips into the mountains and villages of Kathmandu Valley that will open up Himalayan panoramas or give you an insight into Nepali culture. When you return from your inspiring adventure, sink into your bedroom's inviting luxury sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kathmandu
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Kathmandu-Soaltee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.