We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EBC Trek 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makalu Adventure - Private Day Tours

Makalu Adventure - Private Day Tours
Amrit Marg, Thamel, Kathmandu 20144, Nepal
+977 985-1037083
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #21 of 302 activities in Kathmandu
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Treks, Expeditions, Tours and Mountain Biking in NEPAL, TIBET, BHUTAN & INDIA since 1998. We offer competitively priced trips to a set of destinations which we know well. Well resourced in the field but not heavily marketed, these trips are fantastic mix of expert guides, good itineraries, good logistics and a great crew of people.
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“EBC Trek 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

A very well organised, personal and welcoming organisation. From day 1 the staff were available to help with any issues that arose and as the trek progressed they excelled with their expert knowledge and understanding of the region and the people of Nepal. Special thanks to Mohan and all his hard working staff who made the entire experience unforgettable, if your planning a trip to Nepal I would seriously recommend Makalu.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Himalaya expedition 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I thought the hotel was excellent due to its friendly staff, immaculate rooms and great food. The hotel is based in a busy, thriving market area of Kathmandu filled with amazing restaurants that sell great food for reasonably low prices. When i return to Nepal on another expedition i will defiantly be staying at this hotel and use Makalu adventure day tours to organist it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track in style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Once again I have utilized the talents of Makalu Adventure to trek in Nepal.
On this occasion together with two friends we visited the remote, resticted Upper Mustang region.
We enjoyed the company of one guide, a cook, two helpers and a pony man.
We followed the normal route to the fabled walled city of Lo Mangthan where we rested for a couple of days.
We then decided to go ‘off the beaten track’. Heading east we visited the remote Tashi Kabum cave complex as well as Luri Gompa.
After this we headed south and enjoyed some truly spectacular scenery. The landscape was truly lunar and the rock formations were fantastic. A couple of days would be considered hard, and included a couple of 1000m ascents.
Our little party enjoyed some truly spectacular campsites. At this stage of the trek we saw no other westerners.
At all times our crew took exceptional care of us and the variety of food that our cook produced was exceptional.
In short, Makalu Adventure once again proved to be setting the standards that other companies should aspire to.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“NEPAL EVEREST BC + GOKYO TOUR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Completed the Everest BC + Gokyo Pass trek in Oct 2012. Makalu Adventures did an outstanding job of planning the entire trip allowing me to enjoy mine time and not worry about any of the logistics or planning. The company does an excellent job of keeping me informed through email, details about the trip, answering all of my questions and finally delivering on all of their commitments 100%. I would use Makalu Adventures in the future for my trips in Nepal and Tibet. Thank you for all of your hard work to make this a trip of a lifetime and a great experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warngau
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Annapurna Cicuit by bike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Having just returned from three weeks' cycling around the Annapurnas, i am still thrilled. Apart from the fantastic landscape and and people as well as the very interesting cultural insights i very much appreciated the professional and good-value organization of our customized trip by Makalu Adventure. Being recommended by friends who had previously done the Lhasa-Kathmandu bike tour it was a safe bet. Especially the attentive and caring guiding by Kalden Sherpa(who may not be a man of many words but masters the economic humour) needs mentioning. I definitely will come back to Nepal and i will definitely travel again with this company. Cheers, Gabriel

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makalu Adventure - Private Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Makalu Adventure - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makalu Adventure - Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Makalu Adventure - Private Day Tours to your Saves list