We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holidays Well Spent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buddha Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Buddha Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Buddha Garden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jyatha, Thamel | Amrit Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Pokhara, Nepal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Holidays Well Spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Visiting Kathmandu for the very first time coming from outside the valley..We were in search of a stay just few mins from the most happening place at Kathmandu i.e. thamel ..We could not have found a better place than this with the offered price for our stay..we were very much overwhelmed by the nice rooms and friendly service provided..we ENJOYED our stay..hope you will too enjoy your stay when you will have a chance..

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
7
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Buddha Garden Hotel, situated in the heart of Thamel, was recommended to me by a friend.
I spend two full weeks there and I have no complaints what so ever to make on my stay at the hotel. I had good acces to wifi and was able to keep in contact with family and friends. The personell was helpfull and I felt I could trust them. I always had the hotel´s breakfast in the mornings and sometimes I also tried their dinner in the night. My room faced the garden which made my sleep without disturbance. If you need a budget hotel in Kathmandu I honestly can recommend The Buddah Garden Hotel. It is a quiet, clean hotel with friendly personell and a nice garden.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidente Prudente, São Paulo, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

It is one of the most delicious and quiet to stay, very comfortable, with people you trust, good quality rooms.This is best hotel in nepal,nice garden,great food,nice room,good matress,great people,helpfull hotel. I was very pleased with the hospitality of all people of good indole, very good

É um dos mais delicioso e tranquilo para ficar, muito confortável, com pessoas que você confia, bom quartos.O qualidade é melhor hotel do Nepal, jardim agradável, boa comida, bom ambiente, bom colchão, grandes pessoas, o Hotel útil. Fiquei muito satisfeito com a hospitalidade de todas as pessoas de boa indole, muito bom

Room Tip: The double rooms are great, very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I was very much satisfied with the service with affordable price while my visit in nepal last month with my friends hangout.
even i am planning to visit NEPAL next month and i am willing to stay in the same hotel.
ALL THE BEST GUYZ.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

A tranquil hotel a short walk away from the busier centre of Thamel. The hotel had arranged a pick-up for me from the airport and after a quick check in I was shown to my room.
No need to ask for a towel or toilet paper (as in so many Indian places I have stayed) and there was also soap and flip flops for the shower. The sheets were clean and in good condition and wi-fi was available in the room. There is a nice garden area and a restaurant on site. I have eaten here many times and the food is very good. The hotel is always very clean courtesy of the cleaning ladies and there is always someone available to help or take food orders.
I am going trekking now and will leave some luggage with them and will be more than happy to stay here again when I get back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robin b, Owner at Buddha Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear sir,

Greeting from Buddha Garden . Thanks for your pleasure stay at Buddha garden hotel.we would like to welcome you again in our Hospitality.

Regards
Robin Basnet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Hotel is attractive and well maintained .The garden of the hotel is impressive with statue of Buddha brings positive vibes ,We stayed here for two nights and were very impressed. We had a lovely room which had everything we needed and was spotlessly clean. The bed was really comfy and the room itself was a good size. The hotel is beautifully furnished . we were made to feel very welcome by the proprietors who were very friendly and gave us some great tips about where to visit in the Kathmandu . Breakfast in the morning was a real treat.The staff were professional and friendly, Staff are attentive and interested in serving customers.The food came quickly and was absolutely fantastic .

In summary, you get what you'd expect and more from this Hotel. Would definitely recommend and revisit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New Jersey
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Absolutely loved "Buddha Garden Hotel " Perfect hotel in Kathmandu.Owner of Buddha garden welcome us with great smile .The hotel is very charming, i was feeling home as soon that i cross the door.The property is clean and a good place to unwind.Rooms are clean and very spacious. Great service, comfortable rooms and incomparable ambiance! Staff are incredibly courteous,the hotel and garden is nice and very peaceful.The dining was excellent .The staff is kind with great smile.

Room Tip: Room with second floor with garden View is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buddha Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buddha Garden Hotel

Address: Jyatha, Thamel | Amrit Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Buddha Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buddha Garden Hotel features a rooftop garden and bar, as well as free Wi-Fi. Fresh Nepali coffee or cocktails can be enjoyed there, accompanied with views of the mountains and gardens. It is a 5-minute walk from Kantipath Bus Station and the Garden of Dreams. Simply furnished, air-conditioned rooms have satellite TV and a sitting area. Private bathrooms have a hot water supply. Buddha Garden is just a 10-minute walk from Narayanhiti Palace and Kathmandu Durbar Square. It is a 15-minute walk from Thamel shopping area and a 30-minute drive from Kathmandu Airport. Area and airport shuttle services are provided for an extra fee. The hotel's garden has a Meditation Buddha Statue under the Tree of Wisdom. Guests can arrange day trips at the tour desk, or head to the 24-hour front desk for bike rentals and a laundry service. The on-site restaurant serves Indian, Continental, Chinese and Nepali dishes. It also has 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Buddha Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddha Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.