We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUCH a wonderful hotel!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tibet International

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tibet International to your Saves list
Hotel Tibet International
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boudha, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“SUCH a wonderful hotel!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Hotel Tibet International was an incredible respite from the hustle of life in Asia. The staff were very welcoming. The spa was wonderful. The room was decorated/furnished impeccably. The shower... oh, the shower!!! The breakfast was delicious. I wish we had more time/money to stay there. It was actually quite a good value (though more expensive than our usual room). We plan on taking a tour group to the hotel later this year or next as we are sure they will enjoy staying there.

Also, the location is very good. Boudhanath is the best area to reside in Kathmandu, by far! Only a very short walk to the stupa and surrounding area. Very convenient!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Mr.Graf,

Thank you for taking your time out to write a review about us.
We are very pleased to hear that you had a memorable experience with us. Your words have encouraged us to keep thriving.
We would be happy to serve you at Hotel Tibet International in future.

Regards
Dechen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    77
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
54
126
62
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed in this hotel because of the location near the Bodanath stupa (and quiet near to Pashupatinath too), so we enjoyed the Buddhist surroundings. Rooms are adequate, clean and with comfy beds. Service is very good, and the view from our room was unforgettable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time out to write a review about us.
We are glad that you liked your room and had a memorable experience during your stay at Hotel Tibet international. We hope to be able to serve you in near future.
Regards
Dechen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algiers, Algeria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Charming hotel in a great location. The bedroom was not too big but spacious enough and well-appointed. The bathroom was very clean. Everyone at the hotel was kind and friendly. I highly recommend this hotel for everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Mam,

Thank you for writing a review about us.
We are happy to hear that you had a memorable experience during your stay with us. We also would like to thank you for recommending us.
We hope to be able to serve you near future

Regards
Dechen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

A warm and friendly welcome at the Hotel Tibet, a haven of peace in Kathmandu. The rooms are comfortable and spacious and the decor tasteful. Unfortunately we were not able to take advantage of the lovely roof terrace.
A special thanks to the staff in the restaurant who are competent and professional. The food is excellent and well-served. Congratulations to the young man who speaks French so well!
Thank you again.
Eva Stafford and Jean François Viot,
Paris, France

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front of the hotel (left as you come out of the lift). The other side gives on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Vice President Operations at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Eva et Jean,

Je vous remercie pour vos encouragements.
Et c'est un grand plaisir de savoir que notre service est de qualité internationale.
Nous sommes heureux d'apprendre que vous avez eu une expérience mémorable avec nous.
nous espérons vous servir à l'avenir.

Meilleurs vœux.
Abhinav.N.Rana
VPOP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hotel Tibet International is a first class hotel amidst the often dusty third world surroundings of Kathmandu. It also has a soul and embodies the best of Tibetan Buddhist hospitality and customs. The hotel is decorated all over with traditional Tibetan motifs and handiwork. The roof terrace is delightful for breakfast and the breakfast buffet will delight most any palate and diet choice.

I didn't realize how much Hotel Tibet International influenced our November trip to Kathmandu until I viewed it in relation to other places in Kathmandu. I dropped by a hotel in Thamel where I had stayed previously and noticed that the front desk was frigid and the staff were not service-oriented. I brought their brochure back to my wife, and she would not touch it because it was so dusty.

We went to a special meal at Yak and Yeti, and I felt I could have been anywhere in the world as opposed to Hotel Tibet International's Tibetan theme which I found particularly appropriate for staying a block away from Boudinath.

Then there were the little things, like you could not enter the lobby without being welcomed. When I asked for bread for my daughter who had intestinal problems, they were quite concerned and wanted to make sure their kitchen had not caused the problem (it had not). When my wife was confronted with a cold shower at 11:30 PM, we called the front desk and the problem was fixed in 5 minutes. They even checked our room to make sure we were getting hot water. I have been at hotels in first world countries with lesser service than this.

I highly recommend this hotel as a peaceful refuge and delightful center for your next trip to Kathmandu.

Room Tip: I like the rooms with a view of Boudinath, but the other side is quite good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Seaver,
Thank you for taking your time out to write a wonderful review about us.
Your word of appreciation has boosted us to keep up our excellent performance. You can be assured that we will keep thriving.
We are also delighted to hear that you had a memorable experience with us at Hotel Tibet International.
We will be more than happy to serve you in future.
With Regards
Dechen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this Hotel, and enjoyed every minute of it.

Nice, big and comfortable room. Small but adequate bathroom.

A very nice welcome.

Genuine and pleasing service.

Restaurant served good and nice food. The Nepalese "Thali" was excellent.

There is a Tibetan carpet factory and showroom attached to the hotel. Spent quite some time going through the carpets and the antiques on display.

The service was excellent. Rinchen booked our flights to and from Pokhara, arranged our sightseeing tours, including our flights to Mountain (Everest flight) all quietly, efficiently and with a smile that was very genuine.

The checkin and check out was efficient, no fuss.

The only thing average about this hotel is the breakfast. But the attendance of Chef and managers, bantering with the guests, made the breakfast and the morning, wonderful.

Convenient location for the Stupa, which was just up the road.

The hotel was a haven from the chaos of Kathmandu, and we were very happy coming back to it each time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Mr.Chotrani,

Thank you for writing such wonderful review about us.
I have conveyed you remarks to our staff.
Your every word of praise is very much appreciated by all, esp by Rinchen. We are happy to be able make yours stay a memorable experience.
Rests assure that even in future we keep thriving.
We hope to see you and youyr wife at our hotel soon in future.

With Regards
Dechen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I've been staying at Hotel Tibet Int. since in opened its doors in 2011, and I just spent 3 glorious weeks in my favorite room, 609, were I wake up and see the Himalayas soaring over the Kathmandu Valley. Breakfast is served in the new Norbulinka Terrace, with a view of snow peaks rising about Boudha Stupa. I discovered that the Norbulinka Terrace is perfect for a private dinner/dance party. The staff at Hotel Tibet could not be more professional, kind and helpful, serving us with delicious food and drinks, making us feel at home. The handpainted decor makes you feel that you are really in Tibet. I had a first rate massage at the Shambala Spa in the mornings and felt energized all day. It was hard to leave, but I will surely be back!

Room Tip: My favorite room is 609, gorgeous views, lots of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Maura,

Thank you for writing a review about us.
We are glad to hear that you had a memorable experience with us.
Your words of appreciation have boosted us to work harder. We will continue to thrive.
We hope to serve you soon at Hotel Tibet International.

Best Regards
Dechen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tibet International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tibet International

Address: Boudha, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tibet International 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tibet International is a boutique hotel offering Nepali hospitality with a touch of Tibetan warmth, strategically located close to the Boudha Stupa which is a world heritage UNESCO site. We offer 68 rooms, lavishly furnished with fine beddings and linens for a good night's sleep. Our Shangrila Kitchen offers fine Tibetan / Chinese and continental cuisine, Norbulinka Stupa View Terrace offers breakfast in stunning view of the famed Stupa and our Shambala Spa offers the best remedy to de-stress and recover from treks, or a pampering before heading home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tibet International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tibet International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.