We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buddha Land

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Buddha Land to your Saves list
Hotel Buddha Land
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Thamel Jyatha-30 | Pobox: 25852, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 387 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Panzhihua, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Its in a great location in Thamel, nestled just off one of the busy streets its right near the hustle and bustle but without the cars and horns. Staff were great, breakfast is good, rooms clean and 24 hour hot water and internet. Its fantastic value for money and I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBuddhaLand, Owner at Hotel Buddha Land, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
4th,Feburary 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaste! Thank you so much for sharing your experience wit TripAdvisor readers.We are very happy to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us in our hotel.It's our pleasure that you had remarked our hotel in peaceful location and noticed our friendly and helpful staffs.We are delighted to know that once again we are able to meet our guest expectation and will keep on working hard on coming future too.

Once again thank you so much for choosing our hotel and recommeding our hotel to other travelers. We would love to welcome you again in our hotel in coming future.Thank you!

Best regards
Hotel Buddha Land
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    32
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
11
45
43
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

It is very good hotel in the mid range segment, owner was very helpful and frank, best part is they provide free pick and drop and half day sight seeing free..Room was little small although but rest of the services compensate it...

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangoon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Booking via Agoda saves you money over the asking price of the hotel. As some other reviewers have said, staff can be clueless, but not due to lack of caring. Manager is the person to make your agreements with, have the staff write them down in the account book. Example, breakfast is 7:30 onwards, bought an early morning internal flight and had to leave by 7:15, manager said no problem, you can have breakfast at 7. Come down at 7, its dark, staff still asleep on the floor, say breakfast is at 7:30. I say manager said 7 for us, and they hop up and make it. Bought our internal flight tickets through the manager, and we checked before buying, he had the cheapest price compared to nearby agents. They offered to pick us up at the airport on our return from elsewhere in Nepal. Like others have said- it didn't show up. Hotel has its own taxi, we got the cellphone of the driver when he delivered us to the airport. He came right away when we called on arrival. Flights are notoriously delayed on internal flights, and they want to make sure you've actually arrived is probably why they aren't waiting at the airport. Compared the rooms to other places in Kathmandu and are very glad we stayed here, great value for what you get. Electricity is off ALOT in Kathmandu and other parts of Nepal, so some things are not available for that reason, such as the heat pump.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I booked this hotel only for a night. its not a luxury hotel, the amenities were basic but well maintained and cleaned. whatever the issue was the staff was really helpful. the location of this hotel is right on thamel street which is a tourist hub.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

nice hotel, well mannered staff, free breakfast, airport drop off (on top of the promised pick-up)... Assistance readily available any time of the day or night... stayed a week, turned out to be worthy...

definitely visiting them again...

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBuddhaLand, Owner at Hotel Buddha Land, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
January 8th,2014
Dear valuable Guest,

Thank you for providing your valuable time to write a review of our hotel in TripAdvisor.We are very happy to know that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and liked our services.We will keep on working hard to give our best service to our guest.

Once again, thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel in your next visit.Thank you!


With best regards
Hotel Buddha Land
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gotemba-shi, Shizuoka, Japan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife happened to be very sick (had diarrhea) in our three-day stay in Kathmandu. Then, the staff there turned into a big support for us as they tried to do everything they could to her. Even in the midnight, the staff offered the big deal of assistance.

Room Tip: Hot water can be available, but cannot be availale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBuddhaLand, Owner at Hotel Buddha Land, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
January 4th,2013
Dear valuable Guest
Namaste!


Thank you so much for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor readers.We are glad to receive such positive feedback from our guest.Its our honor that we are able to provide you our best service. I will share this to all our hotel team that you liked our facility and services.

Once again thank you so much for choosing our hotel and looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel in your next visit.Thank you!


Best regards
Hotel Buddha Land
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

When it comes to service, nothing beats this hotel. The manager and all the staff were well-mannered, friendly and highly helpful. They assured us of every help and delivered on it. And everything with a wide welcoming smile on their faces.
The hotel is situated in a by-lane in Jyatha, Thamel. So, while you are literally one minute's walk away from the restaurants and bars and shops, you are also in the midst of very low noise and can sleep peacefully.
The rooms are clean, there is continuous hot water and though Kathmandu suffers from frequent power cuts, you will have constant light as the hotel has its own generator. Every room has a flat screen tv with a large number of English and sports channels.
The hotel provides free breakfast - bread, jam, butter, tea or coffee, eggs to order, fruit juice, bananas and sometimes a vegetable curry. They also make pancakes if you want free of charge.
In fact, they will give you juice, tea and coffee completely free as many times as you want.
The hotel has free wi-fi, but even if you don;t have a laptop with you, you can use the computer and internet at the lobby free of charge.
The manager also arranges for all travel plans including bookings for cars (for sightseeing or for going to other cities), buses and flights.

Room Tip: There is no lift so if you are travelling with a senior citizen or an infirm person, ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBuddhaLand, Owner at Hotel Buddha Land, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
January 2nd,2014
Dear Guest,
Namaste!


Thank you so much for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor readers.We are very happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us in our hotel.(Hotel Buddha Land).It's our pleasure that you had remarked our hotel in good location and noticed our friendly and helpful staffs.We are very happy that you liked our services and able to fulfill your expectation.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in our hotel and hope we can improve our standard of hospitality again. Thank you!

Best regards
Hotel Buddha Land
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Buddha Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buddha Land

Address: Thamel Jyatha-30 | Pobox: 25852, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 387 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buddha Land 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thamel is ranked as one of the top tourist destinations in Kathmandu, Nepal, so why not stay at a Hotel Buddha Land and enjoy the vibrant city that's alive with a contemporary cultural heritage that's down-to-earth and friendly. Its trendy nightlife is famous, the museums are extraordinary, the restaurants are a paradise for foodies and its shops are well worth a visit. Staying at a Hotel Buddha Land is an ideal way for you to spend your next holiday in Nepal or weekend short break. While you are there who could forget about the Guinness, you really won't taste finer. Nepal is the short break destination and Hotel Buddha Land are the perfect place to start your holiday. Stay in one of Hotel Buddha Land, then find time to explore the city. The best part of hotel is its environment, Hotel Buddha Land captures the essence of modern Nepal and maintains the highest standards in all the services it offers. With exquisitely appointed rooms, multi-cuisine restaurants and modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Buddha Land reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buddha Land, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.