We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for backpackers/ trekkers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shree Lal Pure Veg Restaurant

Shree Lal Pure Veg Restaurant
House, 334 | Near Nursingh Chowk, Chibahal, Thamel, Kathmandu House no 334 chibahal, Thamel, Nepal
00977 1 4250417
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 454 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $2
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place for backpackers/ trekkers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Delicious vegetarian menu..... a tasty simple spot for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Rooms are basic, yet inexpensive and in a great location in the centre of Thamel.

The real charm of this place is the host family whose genuine welcoming hospitality and kindness spur an easy recommendation.

Perfect for backpackers.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shantishreelal, Owner at Shree Lal Pure Veg Restaurant, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we appreciate it ; and would like to continue with this best customer satisfaction...!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    26
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Favourite pAce in Kathmandu for food and rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Found this place because I went for food but saw they offered rooms and they were the cheapest I could find given that they were perfectly clean (the bathrooms could do with a new lick of paint but this can be ignored!). The food is really really nice, cheap and come in big portions - particularly recommend the all you can eat veg thali, and there is a roof balcony as well, and they bring food up there which is nice in the morning. Only problem I found was the rooms are lacking in natural light but i spent most of my time when in the hotel on the roof so wasn't really an issue.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shantishreelal, Owner at Shree Lal Pure Veg Restaurant, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we appreciate it ; and would like to continue with this best customer satisfaction...!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you love Indian food this is the place!!! Would say it was more of a lunch spot than an evening meal. The restaurant is basic but cosy, Incredible value for money and delicious. Make sure you find time to give it a visit. They do cheap accommodation too! The staff are sincere with their friendliness and nothing is too much trouble whether its food, accommodation or travel on a budget. Make sure you ask to see the rooms before you buy, their more than willing to show you a few. If you want to sit at a fancy restaurant then this probably isnt the place for you. But if you want good food, good price and friendly very helpful staff then you should definitely visit Shree Lal. Highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shantishreelal, Owner at Shree Lal Pure Veg Restaurant, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we appreciate it ; and would like to continue with this best customer satisfaction...!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, really good value for money rooms.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I love mr ritwik and his wife shanti! The nicest people I met in Kathmandu.
So welcoming, I felt like I am at a home of a family. Not trying to push and trekking or other things which is notorius in kathmandu. What a warm place to stay in and good budget rooms. You will love this family.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shantishreelal, Owner at Shree Lal Pure Veg Restaurant, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we appreciate it ; and would like to continue with this best customer satisfaction...!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best veg. restaurant in Kathmandu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Try ones at shreela veg restaurant you will enjoy the dish with good quality service with smile.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shantishreelal, Owner at Shree Lal Pure Veg Restaurant, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we appreciate it ; and would like to continue with this best customer satisfaction...!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shree Lal Pure Veg Restaurant also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Shree Lal Pure Veg Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shree Lal Pure Veg Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.