We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vickikathmandu60” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shree Lal Pure Veg Restaurant

Shree Lal Pure Veg Restaurant
House, 334 | Near Nursingh Chowk, Chibahal, Thamel, Kathmandu House no 334 chibahal, Thamel, Nepal
00977 1 4250417
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 408 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Price range: $1 - $2
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
kathmandu
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“vickikathmandu60”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

really good dosa's , tablecloths need a wash but the delicious food was worth overlooking this. staff pleasant, we travel and work in kathmandu and it is good to see , real food being served[ not pretentious tourist food] in kathmandu at a reasonable price . We will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    26
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were there once during our short trip to Kathmandu and the food was good but nothing exceptional. We ordered thali which was tasty and very big (as you can ask for seconds of anything you have on your plate). The service was quick and waiters helpful and kind. But the interior is rather gloomy as there are no windows and a bit too shabby and... well... dirty (their table cloths were asking for hot laundry!). Also bread baskets in which they served naan were very sticky. We were there in winter and it was incredibly cold inside - a heater or two would be extremely useful. I think it's a good place if you are a vegetarian or vegan but you shouldn't expect anything special there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shantishreelal, Owner at Shree Lal Pure Veg Restaurant, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you so much for the review and hope to exclude the these rare fall-downs in future...! We try to give the best experience to the customers although all the days are not the same in a year...!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointment!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I read good reviews on trip advisor n tried the food. In my opinion, Shree Lal is nothing but disappoinment and full of crap!! They are not sincere in serving. Customers are often shortchanged!!

The thali set short of 2 items whn it arrived. Whn enquired , I was told the items are finished. There are replacements for the 'finished' items. The next evening, d dosa(thosai) came without chutney. The same reason "finished". Was told chutneys avail only in the morning. Gave them the benefit of doubt and ordered idli the next morning. Guess what?? Still no chutneys. Idli came with dilluted sambar and tomato ketchup!!! Who eats idli with tomato ketchup except for moron! !

Three incidents are not coincidence. If they are really honest, they should inform us beforehand that certain items are not avail whn customers are ordering. Offer a substitute that complements the meal. If not, provide a discount. Overcharging customers by shortchanging them is unethical.


    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shantishreelal, Owner at Shree Lal Pure Veg Restaurant, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
I am so sorry to see this review and I'd search into every and each detail of the review and will make sure not to happen this again. I was shocked to see the review, and assume that it was due to the short of staff, which affected the business so badly for few days....! Now we have additional staff and the Shree lal Inn staff to meet with the customer satisfaction...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were in kathmandu for five days and we came to shree lal a LOT of times (pretty much 2 times a day) the food is great and authentic, the staff are friendly and polite and the fact that none of us got upset stomachs speaks for itself! I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone, it is very reasonably priced and located centrally.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shree Lal Pure Veg Restaurant Rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have been eating at the Shree Lal Veg Restaurant Restaurant since 2005 and it is my go to choice of restaurants in Kathmandu. The food is superb and the service is great. It has gone through several incarnations since I started eating there and each one is better. They are now open for breakfast so you can have an delicious meal to start the day. The owners are very hospitable and take good care of everyone, including their staff. Another plus is that they have Vegan food available. Another is that there isn't any meat served in the restaurant. I have made multiple trips to Kathmandu through the years and eat at least one meal a day here. They now have a guest house on the upper floors and it looks good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shree Lal Pure Veg Restaurant also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Shree Lal Pure Veg Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shree Lal Pure Veg Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.