We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Happy Traveller” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peak Point Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Peak Point Hotel to your Saves list
Peak Point Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jyatha | Thamel, Kathmandu 25515, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
“Another Happy Traveller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We came back from Langtang a day early and the hotel we had planned on staying at was full. Luckily, the Peak Point had a room available.

We were quickly shown to our room then offered tea. Unfortunately, we were very hungry and headed out to a nearby restaurant to eat. But that sums up the friendliness of the staff, always around for a chat, help with any inquiries, etc. We had excellent service whilst staying there. Our bus tickets to Pokhara were easily arranged and breakfast was offered at 6am so we could leave at 6:30 to get the bus to Pokhara. This was great and something they didn't need to do (breakfast is 7-10am), but the staff are very friendly and helpful.

The room was an OK size and although it wasn't sparkling clean it was more than good enough. The bed was comfortable and clean and big with plenty of sheets, duvet and blankets provided. The bathroom was also a decent size and was clean. A hot and powerful shower was always available.

The location is very good, 5 minute walk to the buses to Pokhara, 1 minute walk to lots of shops for last minute purchases and less than 5 minutes to reach most places in Thamel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    47
    22
    14
    8
See reviews for
32
80
71
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We traveled as a group of 4 adults in January 2014 and stayed 4 nights at the beginning of our Trek to EBC and 2 nights at the end. We experienced fantastic service from management through to the cleaning staff. The Owner/ Manager of the Hotel Sujan is very helpful and kind . Everyone greeted us with a smile and were extremely helpful with any query we had. The hotel has their own vehicle to take us around the city. They also booked the scenic mountain flight for us and provided breakfast outside of normal hours. The location was convenient to restaurants, shopping and historical sites. Rooms were immaculately clean and despite the usual Nepali power cuts, the hotel generator ensured we had power and hot water at all hours. The hotel restaurant was great value and the meals were excellent. We would definitely stay here again and have recommended this hotel to friends and family in England .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I had a very good time at this hotel.
The breakfast service was great. The rooms are good and the beds are comfortable.
The people that work here are warm and make you feel welcome.

Great price for a great time in Thamel. Its a good place to do your exploring in Kathmandu and other places in Nepal. The public bus is not far from here and brings you to different places in the valley.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I changed at least four hotels/hostels in the area and this one was the best one, the one I could come back to and where I was always welcome. Really friendly, honest and helpful stuff that will take care of you like family. If you don't have a big budget for fancy places but still want a good decent place this is definitely the place you are looking for!
Thank you Devent and everyone at Peak Point!

Room Tip: More expensive rooms don't actually have much difference to cheap rooms besides having more room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Java, Indonesia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The best hotel in nepal...friendly staff..good milk tea...an full service is goodly. I think if i visit nepal.i will stay in peak point and trekk to pokhara annapura and go to mt everest...in my dreams

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solo, Indonesia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed here for a week. They got the most friendly staff. Wonderful service. Great ambience.
Nepal has an energy problem, usualy the electrecity is out in day time. But this hotel has its own generator. So thats important for us.
Oh and go try the milk tea. They make the best milk tea in the city.
And yea, its free :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

i would say Peak Point Hotel was a great stay and indeed made my stay in Nepal very memorable one. To start with the staff are very helpful , trustworthy ( u can leave your gadgets with them for charging while you are out and they take good care of it) , reliable and greet you with a pleasant smile on their face at all times.Mr.Sujan and his team mates arranged for us the best travel package with best price and ofc tour guide.We were able to visit 3 different cities during our 6 days stay and manage to cover all the world famous heritage sites. They even called us everyday during our travel to make sure things are okie and v r having good times.Otherwise , the rooms are clean, warm and very comfy.Its in a very strategic location as well , Thamel street which is a tourist spot .So, u can olways find good place to eat , shop and have fun.I'm very grateful to Peak Point Hotel for guidng us through our 1st visit in Nepal -thank you Sujan , Manish , cute little Gopal ji , Davendra and Roshan!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peak Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Point Hotel

Address: Jyatha | Thamel, Kathmandu 25515, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Peak Point Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peak Point, which was opened in 2009 is an inner city hotel, it oozes personality and charms as it was created with the discerning traveler in mind. Our 20 charming rooms are of cosmopolitan class where we have integrated the flow through of space & light, the softest hues of earth, the sparkles of precious metals and ambient lightings to embrace the concept of less is more. To add to the above, our location is the key factor, as there is none other than where Peak Point is....Peak Point Hotel is situated at Thamel and just 5 minutes walking distance to get to the Green Line Bus Station. Also walking distance from Kathmandu Durbar Square (Historical Place). It takes 25 minutes from International Airport to Hotel. Peak Point has 15 standard rooms, 15 deluxe rooms and 5 suite rooms. We do have free airport pickup service which is most essential for the customers to feel comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peak Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peak Point Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.