We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place but too small” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Funky Buddha Kathmandu

Funky Buddha Kathmandu
Bhagawot Sthan, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
(0)4700091
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 413 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Cuisines: Nepali
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good place but too small”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

Gd place to dine with friends. It gets quite crowded late evening as people start coming. Place is small , Good music and ambiance.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    39
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful place. Without doubt the friendliest staff I have ever encountered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

This became my local on my 5 day stay in Kathmandu. Wonderful interior with a bar and very comfortable seating areas. The food was great. Prepared in a kitchen on full view. The staff was amazing. I was a solo traveller and Kathmandu was very quiet when I was there due to a problem at the airport but the staff made me feel so welcome. Its also a place where the locals go too and I met many who were wonderful, I loved this place and rank it number one in the world of the places I have been too simply because its so friendly and welcoming. No need to eat. Its also a bar. Very well located in the popular Thamel area. I would say don't go to Kathmandu without going there.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuthbert, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quite Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Had lunch outside at Funky Buddha. The food was okay. There was a DJ who was playing music a bit too loudly for conversation at the table.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice ambience and lounge music”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

It's quite enjoyable to have a sip in this place with nice music. But the food is just so-so....I ordered some rice noodle and it's so dry and doesn't taste well. They should improve the food quality.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A great all rounder!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Great food and good service a very chilled out atmosphere during the day and some funky beats at night oh and a happy hour that lasts from 1pm-8pm made this one of our favourite spots to hang out in Kathmandu.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Funky Buddha Kathmandu also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Funky Buddha Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funky Buddha Kathmandu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.