We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nepalaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nepalaya to your Saves list
Hotel Nepalaya
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Thamel Marg 17 | Kwabahal, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Kerala, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Great location and excellent service! The rooftop had such an amazing view and made breakfast even more enjoyable! I highly recommend staying here! Good value for money! Airport transfers were a nice welcoming to Nepal also!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    94
    39
    10
    15
See reviews for
31
77
79
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Thank you for good hospitality ,it has good location good room and very clean most important things is rooftop restaurant gives panoramic view it is good centrally located hotel ,peaceful to stay hotel serve buffet varieties breakfast i enjoyed all provided services thanks all staff crew

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is also in a great location. The room was spacious and clean. We had hot water sometimes. There was a small open window in the toilet for outside the building and one in between our toilet and the neighbours toilet. One night they left the light on so we had a bright light come through to our room all night. Very odd lay out of rooms. Overall a very average stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Had a great experience during multiple short stays at hotel Nepalaya while exploring Nepal for 35 days. We were well taken care of during each of three visits. The hotel houses a very friendly staff, is located in a great location within Thamel, and was unusually quiet compared to other accommodations in other parts of the country where we encountered late night karaoke and screaming locals at all hours of the night. Reasonably priced and clean compared to other similarly priced accommodations that we encountered within Kathmandu.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

It is centrally located hotel in Thamel I found it very good room very clean very friendly staff , best buffet breakfast it is very good because of fresh fruit as well, it good area for shopping the hotel has just builded good lobby free wi fi service great view from rooftop garden restaurant so am happy by all facilities

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

In photos it looks like clean but it's not. I stayed one night but couldn't sleep because of the noise. Location of the hotel and the roof are good. Booking from internet is expensive. You can easily find better hotels. The hotel staffs are friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a wonderful stay with friends at Hotel Nepalaya. Very friendly and easy-going personnel! At terrace on the seventh floor you can enjoy the spectacular view of the mountings. Will defenetly recommend the place to others and stay here next time when I arrive to Katmandu next time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nepalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nepalaya

Address: Thamel Marg 17 | Kwabahal, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Nepalaya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sincerely warm welcome from Hotel Nepalaya…where hospitality comes from the heart…It’s a special Peace down here & your Environment Friendly Stay will be just like it is at home…We are known to be the best rated hotel in Kathmandu…& you’ve got to live here to know it…Hotel Nepalaya is known for its warm hospitality, & we are right in the heart of the Thamel city. The hotel offers fantastic valley views from its ‘temple of heaven’ rooftop restaurant. The Langtang, Ganesh Himal and Dorjelakpa mountain views from our rooftop is just amazing. You will find Rickshaws and taxi stands just a stone’s throw from our hotel, which is a 4 min walking distance to the major shopping areas, restaurants & bars of sizzling Thamel, & hardly 7 kilometers to get to get to the airports and only 3 kilometers to the bus stands. You will enjoy a wonderful peace of mind once you get in into the hotel as thamel is always a crowded, noisy and hustling place for tourists.Kathmandu is the capital city of Nepal, a tiny Himalayan landlocked Country in Asia which offers possibilities of vibrant cultures and its smiling people. Kathmandu is the only city connected by air to the major international towns scattered all over Nepal. Whether you are looking for rich culture and people, history, a Himalayan adventure getaway for walking, trekking, climbing, white water rafting, elephant safari to the One Horn Rhino & Bengal Tiger in natural parks and outdoor holidays in the broadest sense of the word... Nepal has it all! You don’t need to go anywhere else.The Hotel Nepalaya on the other hand is a hotel of Nepal’s cultural landscapes. Here you will find smiling welcoming staff that enjoys their work & a sunny garden for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner, 24 hour power backup, FREE WIFI and computers, 24 hours security, & rooms well furnished with modern amenities, and our staff is happy to provide you with all the information you need to enjoy your stay in Kathmandu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nepalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nepalaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.