We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bashanta Basnet was great!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bu`keba` The Organic Village Cafe`

Bu`keba` The Organic Village Cafe`
Bakhundole | Lalitpur, Kathmandu 8975, Nepal
0977-01-5524368
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #129 of 413 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bashanta Basnet was great!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

It was the first time we had been to this organic restaurant with friends. Bashanta made our dining experience awesome. He suggested us the varieties of food along with their nutritious values....In over all the ambiance, quality of food, level of service, way of interaction with guest is superb. Mr Bashanta made our dining experience delight....

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to "dine"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I've been to Organic Village twice now and I've left happily stuffed each time. My favorite place to sit is in the multi-level outdoor private dinning rooms. With cushions and floor seating it has a very classy but relaxed atmosphere. This is a great place to go an enjoy a wonderful evening with some friends as the rooms are spacious (seating about 8) or to treat yourself or impress a newcomer. On top of that, the food is excellent, well-spiced and leaves you with many options - both vegetarian and non-vegetarian. Choices range from fire oven pizzas to curries to braised lamb. This is truly a great "dinning" spot in the heart of Jawalakhel. I already have plans to go back for thirds.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Go, and go often”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I stayed at the Summit Hotel in Patan, on the outskirts of Kathmandu, after my month-long Annapurna Trek, and absolutely loved Bu'keba, which was a short walk away. I had several lunches in the outdoor courtyard, and a lovely candlelit dinner one night, and the food was excellent without fail.

It was wonderful to see the attention placed on good quality, healthy, locally-sourced food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“excellent but order ahead”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

food was delicious but took about an hour to arrive. It is worth the wait but you might want to order your food and then shop for a while and return

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Superb and consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011 via mobile

Lucky me that I live less than a minute walk from here. When you see it from the alley you don't really give it more than a glance as it looks straight into the parking area with the connected Organic shop...but what you discover upon entry is their large and shady courtyard with some clever machaans, or little treehouses almost. They are draped with thin white sheer curtains and are two storeys. Each has a paper lantern and low tables with ethnic patterned cushions and pillows..very cozy.

My best advice is to stick with the Nepalese-inspired dishes. The menu is good; a bit for all taste. The pizza is just passable but have had much better. The beef or buff choyla is not to be missed...it's on the fiery side..full of ginger and chilies and worth every bite...the meat is really tender. Their Paneer Tikka is to die for and so is the chicken tikka...very moist and served with a cooling coriander/mint sauce. Their version of Dal Makkahni..or Dal Massani is not to be missed...rich and on the spicy side.

Nice selections of wine; but the beer is better with the spicey offerings. Their concept is simple and not over-fussy and the guarantee of locally grown organic products is also an appealing factor.

I pretty much eat here at least twice a week. Prices will vary on what you order; a personal recommendation from me would be for order several starters between everyone and perhaps a main...there is plenty of food for all. I'm still working my way through the menu however!

For those of you in the local Patan/Bakhundole area..don't miss it. For guests of the Greenwich/Summit hotels which are just minutes from here....don't miss it. Also have a peek in the shop attached..nice things from the countryside and (sometimes) fresh vegetable offerings.

Service...acceptable and cheerful...alas...if not a bit pokey...but such is the pace here in Kathmandu.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bukebabalram, Manager at Bu`keba` The Organic Village Cafe`, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear Robert

Nameste and Greetings from Bukeba.

Thank you very much for your fabulous review regarding our restaurant. We appreciate your genuine comment and your positive recommendation has boosted our moral to provide a better and constant quality to our guest experience to our valuable guests.

We look forward to serve you in near future and thank you for your patronage.

Regards,

Balram Maharjan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bu`keba` The Organic Village Cafe` also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Bu`keba` The Organic Village Cafe`? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bu`keba` The Organic Village Cafe`, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.