We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MoMo - cooke like a local” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Socialtours - Private Day Tours

Socialtours - Private Day Tours
Tridevi Marg | Thamel, Kathmandu 1663, Nepal
01 4412508
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 367 Activities in Kathmandu
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A free day in Kathmandu or Pokhara can be a day of discovery. Discovery of Local Food and Cuisine, of local handicrafts producers, or organic food, or a discovery of livelihoods, or the insides of Buddhism. At socialtours, we believe that these unplanned days will be the moments you will remember the most in Nepal, whether you learn how to cook, go to a coffee farm, or just cycle around the small picturesque communities around these cities, or hike on our 8000'ers of Kathmandu (yeah, 8000 ft. not meters). Yes, we also conduct off beat treks and adventure activities around these magnificent day inspirations. Talk to us, we will HIGHLIGHT your trip to Nepal.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
“MoMo - cooke like a local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A really nice course where you learn to mix, wrap and cook MoMos. From buying the ingredients at the market till eating the MoMos. Yummy!

Visited July 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raj G, Owner at Socialtours - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Glad you liked the course and the end result was yummy... we also enjoyed the momos a lot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    23
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money, wonderful cooking experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Having done cookery classes all around the world this one was up there with the best, so good in fact that we booked a second day! We did momos and dhal bhat. The teacher is excellent and the kitchen clean and ideal for teaching a class. The day starts with a trip to the market stall to buy veg and then back to the kitchen to cook. You make literally hundreds of momos so get lots of practice.

Can't recommend this place enough and wish I'd found them earlier in my six week trip to Nepal as would have booked other days with them. They do cooking but also lots more trips.

Incredible value for money.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raj G, Owner at Socialtours - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this review! We are so glad that you liked it so much you came back for another class. Hopefully, the next time you make it to our neck of the woods, we will see you at our offices again, for another course, not to mention taking you out on one of our experiences.

Safe travels and see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great morning spent learning to cook like a local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a really enjoyable morning learning to make momos with Social Tours in Kathmandu. The staff were really friendly and the food was great! We have made them since a number of times! In addition, the staff knew Nepal really well and gave us a number of additional recommendations in Kathmandu that were really helpful. I would recommend social tours to someone with a spare morning in Kathmandu. Would recommend that they sell their own cook book or some local cooking apparatus as we would definitely have bought them - either for ourselves or as gifts.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raj G, Owner at Socialtours - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thanks for such a wonderful review. We are also so glad that you have been cooking the momos since as well. Thats really wonderful. We will also take note of your recommendations, and perhaps the next time you visit Nepal, we will have taken action on the recommendations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Learn how to cook yummy momo,s”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I did the cooking class with social tours and learnt how to make momo,s which were delicious. The shopping for the ingredients in the market was interesting as you went into places where the locals appear to shop. The lady that took the class (apologises but I can,t remember her name) was lovely and it was nice to be able to spend some time chatting with a Nepalise female as it seems a very male dominated culture. Thoroughly recommended activity if you are in Kathmandu and enjoy cooking.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raj G, General Manager at Socialtours - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
I really love it that you enjoyed the experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“14 days in Nepal - culture and trekking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We organised a tailored trip to Nepal for two people through Socialtours and we cannot recommend them highly enough. From the initial email correspondence to the end of the trip itself (and beyond) they were professional, friendly, eager to ensure they delivered what we required to an incredibly high standard and excellent value for money. We knew we wanted to do the Annapurna Sanctuary Trek and we knew roughly how many days we wanted to do it in, we also knew we wanted to spend some days in Kathmandu and also Pokhara chilling. We gave the brief to Socialtours and they put the package together for us organising all hotels, transfers, internal flights, guides, porters, Cultural Heritage Tour, Tea Houses and even welcome and farewell meals! We could not fault them on their choice of guide for our trek and we not only enjoyed the experience but learnt loads about Nepal, its geography, culture, religions, politics and heaps more in a very relaxed and friendly way from our Sherpa guide. The same must also be said of the Cultural Heritage Tour they organised for us round Kathmandu. We would definitely use them again and would recommend them without hesitation to anyone thinking of visiting Nepal for whatever reason and wants a reliable, professional, value for money and yet caring company to help them make the most from their trip. The fact that they are passionate about maximising the benefits and minimising the negatives of tourism for both tourist and the Nepalese people is an added bonus. Thank you so much Socialtours!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raj G, Owner at Socialtours - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Gina, thanks for taking the time to write a review. This means so much to us that we met and probably exceeded your expectations. This is exactly what we strive for and every now and then, when a review tells us we did do just that, it gives us all the joy in the world. We hope you travel with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Socialtours - Private Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Socialtours - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Socialtours - Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.