We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lhasa Guest House

Lhasa Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kathmandu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lhasa Guest House
Save
You added Lhasa Guest House to your Saves list
Jyatha Street | Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 374 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Paro, Bhutan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The staffs are friendly, room amenities okay, centrally located and service is very excellent, Some more choice in restaurant could have been much better. Tibetan dishes are very good, Front desk response- very quick, it would have never been better if we were checked into other hotels, the stay in lhasa guest house have been a memory and we highly recommand other people to stay while in Katmandu/ Thamel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front side have disturbance from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Terneuzen, Zeeland, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Close to the center of Thamel. They have decent enough rooms but rooms at the front suffer from a lot of streetnoise. At the back this is better, but be prepared to wake up with the early workers in the neighbourhood.
Cold showers you can get the whole day. For a hot one the evenings are a better time.
The staff is friendly en prepared to help although sometimes it may be a problem to get your message across. Depends upon the person at the desk.
They share the groundfloor with a nice Nepali place to have a coffee and something to eat. No Nescafe here but a very reasonable cup of (filter?). Not bad at all that one.
We paid 20USD through an agency without too much bargaining. I imagine a seasoned traveller could argue this down at least 5 dollars.

Room Tip: Quiter at the back but rooms at floor 1 lack daylight/view and receive noise from backyard on the gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have stayed at Lhasa Guest House many many times in the past and it is a good place to stay. The staff is family and are good people. The rooms are cleaned every day. When i was there the cook was Prem Cook the food was very good. Raju the man at the desk was always helpful. Suggest you consider staying here.

Room Tip: was there in the 90's-2001 not Oct.2011 (had to click something)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

Lhasa guest house on jyatha thamel is probably the best 'cheapie' in thamel. It stands out because of the staff - it is Tibetan family run for years - lovely people. They bend over backwards for guests, and the tibetan Buddhist atmosphere is calm in the background, genuine and not intrusive. Rooms ok, rooftop 'garden', decent breakfast, good value. Over the years I have spent more than 3 months there, met many great people.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lhasa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lhasa Guest House

Address: Jyatha Street | Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 374 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Number of rooms: 19

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lhasa Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.