We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, good facilities, good quality hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thamel Eco Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Thamel Eco Resort to your Saves list
Thamel Eco Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Chibahal, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 371 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Leeds
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Well located, good facilities, good quality hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed at the Thamel Eco Resort as part of an organised trekking trip to Nepal run by Earthbound Expeditions so we didn't research any alternatives, but were pleased with the hotel for the 3 nights that we were there.

The positives - Great central location, pretty garden area, great breakfast selection (variety of veggie curries, eggs, toast, cakes, potatoes - something for everything and buffet so you can eat as much as you need) we also dined here twice and were very happy with the food. Our rooms were very clean, although the showers were a bit temperamental, Wifi was free and pretty reliable, although I couldn't get Skype to work properly whilst I was there. The staff were friendly and helpful. Plug sockets that allowed us to plug in western plugs without needing an adapter.

The negatives - no lifts (although this is common throughout Nepal, so if you are infirm/disabled it's worth requesting ground floor accommodation) and a slightly stressful transfer back to the airport - they only allowed 30 minutes, in reality it took us over an hour and we really had to rush when we arrived to the airport - worth requesting an earlier transfer to be on the safe side. Also we had no option for a late check out which was a bit disappointing.

All in all, a decent base to explore the madness of Kathmandu!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    87
    33
    12
    6
See reviews for
21
60
53
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed here as part of our Tour. Paid for the first night myself. For what I paid I was not impressed with the room.Mentioned it to Management, luckily they gave me a better room when I returned after my trek. Great location in the thick of Thamel, convenient for food and shopping.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I was booked in to this hotel with an organised tour, so was a guest for two nights in September and one night in December.
The staff is helpful and the rooms are spacious and clean. I cannot comment on the value for money as it was inclusive of my trip... So you will have to find that one out for yourself...

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed here before and after our trekking trip in November 2013. The rooms are adequately sized, but not spacious. Bathrooms are relatively big. We enjoyed our stay because of the location and the cleanliness. Will definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the lower levels if you don't want to climb up to the 5 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Thamel Eco Resort in Kathmandu is a jewel. We stayed there before, and after, our tekking and sightseeing odyssey in Nepal. Like many hotels in the Thamel area of Kathmandu, it is hidden down a little alley-like drive. A 5-story three-sided set of buildings, it's central garden courtyard became kinda magical to us. We were part of a group with Earthbound Expeditions and this hotel was our base of operations. There are so many different rooms; from basic (which is what the tour group rate pays for), to pretty darn awesome! We stayed on our own dime before and after the tour and therefore got that awesome room. We saw even more awesome ones as well. The security block (not sure if there IS a hotel without security) is in a ground level corner, and one of the numerous highlights is the sincere hands-to-heart "namaste" from the guard at every encounter. They WILL know everyone by face. The desk was always able to provide exactly what we wanted, from restaurant, to specific shopping, and especially, what to do if we had a block of time and no plan. During our three weeks in Nepal, we learned so much we wish we'd known going in. Our group tour was magical, but that's another subject. We also stayed in a more luxurious resort at the end of our trip. We learned that people had not even been to Thamel! Some rode through the outskirts on their bus, or were dropped at Durbar Square or at the Monkey Temple or Garden of Dreams. They had never experienced Kathmandu without walking (or even taxi/rickshaw for the less adventurous) through the rabbit-warren-like Thamel streets. They MISSED Kathmandu!!!! Look at what Lonely Planet has to say, and really see the city. Stay in Thamel Eco Resort, in one of their suites if you want that extra space and touch. You'll get the Best Breakfast Buffet of our entire odyssey whatever room you're in. Email them even if they show no availability for your dates. Beg them. A suite may be open even if a room isn't. Trust me. Oh, and you may or may not get a hot shower no matter WHERE you stay in Nepal :-). Remember, the stories and memories are enhanced when you encounter the unexpected. Such as the wake-up call being a rooster. Namaste.

Room Tip: If booking on the web, go ahead and book that way. Then send an email, using simple English, and ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed here a few nights in October/November 2013, before between and after trekking. I was in budget and standard rooms, all opening to the courtyard. It was clean and comfortable. The location was excellent, a good base for exploring the city. The little garden courtyard was very inviting and overall a quiet place to sit, away from the hustle and bustle of Thamel. The food was very good, and reasonably priced. I always had hot water to shower with. The staff were very friendly and accomodating, and welcoming as I kept coming and going. Tour groups use the hotel, so it gets a bit people busy at times. Overall it was a very enjoyable stay and I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights, 2 before and 3 after a bicycle tour from Lhasa to Kathmandu. It is popular with groups with many early departures. Whilst the garden courtyard is very nice it acts as an echo chamber somewhat so at night I found I was woken repeatedly by people talking there. Many rooms only have windows opening onto that garden.

The first stay I had a twin room with a/c which was quite good, the second stay I was in a double with a broken fan and tiny bathroom. Beds were comfortable. I had none of the problems with hot water that others have described.

The security guards and porters are very nice and helpful and once arranged another fan for me. Unfortunately the reception staff - who despite seeming to be in abundance at times - often leave the desk unmanned and NEVER answered the phone when I called from my room about things like needing a fan or other issues. However they were helpful with directions when I had to sort out an air ticket problem.

Wifi is slow and patchy and often didn't work at all. Breakfast was good and the waitstaff were excellent and helpful at the restaurant. Location is central and 25 minute nerve wracking walk to Durbar square.



Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thamel Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thamel Eco Resort

Address: Chibahal, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 371 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thamel Eco Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 42 room eco friendly boutique hotel with a garden has 19 brand new rooms in brand new building and 23 rooms in Old Building. Out of 42 rooms 18 are Deluxe with A/C, 1 suite room and 6 common bathrooms.While the pillars of the hotel at its entrance and the carvings over its windows replicate the artful heritage of Nepalese architecture, you feel like being in a traditional Nepali home in some of its rooms that display typical Nepalese pottery.A miniature Buddhist stupa in the middle of its front courtyard brings an ambience of peace, conveying the chief concern of the hotel to offer you a full repose of body and mind.Thamel Eco resort (TER) offers affordable prices, as well as a convenient location. Situated in the heart of the tourist district of Thamel, you are never far from restaurants or shops. Visit the King's Palace Musium, Swayambhu nath - the most revered Buddhist stupa in Nepal, and because you are in Thamel you can't miss the Thamel Chowk, with its countless restaurants and shops. At the hotel, guests enjoy complimentary wireless internet access, fruits and tea / coffee. Thamel Eco Resort makes for an excellent choice to stay in the tourist district of Kathmandu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Thamel Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thamel Eco Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thamel Eco Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.