We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice considering the options” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thamel Eco Resort

Save Saved
You added Thamel Eco Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thamel Eco Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Chibahal, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 341 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best choice considering the options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We only had 10 days in Nepal over Thanksgiving 2011 and were using Funny Nepal Treks (Highly recommended by the way). We were given multiple options for our 2 nights in Kathamandu (1 upon arrival and 1 before heading home) and decided on this place. It's at the end of a little street off the main drag, which was nice for noise reduction. The room we were given at the end of the top floor and was large, had great light, and was fairly clean. With the constant blackouts, candles were provided along with clean water in an old themos. The biggest issue was the bathroom. It was pretty beat up and there was a large square piece of wood covering a whole that seemed to be old ventilation to the next room. The courtyard was great and so was breakfast. The staff was always very helpful. To make sure another hotel would not be better for our last night, we had our guide take us to what he considered the other good hotel and after taking a look, Thamel Eco Resort was way better. We also received a better room for our second (last) night and there were no bathroom concerns. Given the other options in this price range I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to look at multiple rooms. Our top floor corner unit, although more spacious, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    79
    29
    11
    6
See reviews for
19
52
46
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stay 3 nights here when back from Pokhara, it is very clean, friendly GH, the garden is beautiful, location is very good, and there is a very very good breakfast just near this GH called like Tebiet XXXX. I live here in January 2012, the single room is $20 and the double is $30. I like here very much, just one problem, I ask them to help me send my 30 Postcard, but neither of my friends receive it ;((((((((

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

With friendly staff, nice and clean rooms and good location, Thamel Eco resort was above my expectations. After a nice sleep, you can have a delicious breakfast and then continue your itineary in Kathmandu. The location is very nice to wander around Thamel in the evenings. One of the best aspect was the staff where everyone was very helpful and friendly. I strongly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was booked thru our expedition company for a sight-seeing trip we made to Nepal in August this year. Everything was very comfortable, location was suberb to wander around Thamel, and rooms were adequate for the level of property. Only complaint was having to wait 5+ minutes with water running for it to get warm (not hot). Breakfast was good as well. Nice garden!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

When I visited Eco Resort in Thamel last week, I was pleasantly surprised by its boutique design, lovely garden and the feeling of being in an oasis of quietness in the middle of hectic Thamel. The hotel has very nice bedrooms. For people who look forward to a bit more comfort and space after a trekking in basic circumstances, the AC deluxe rooms are a recommendation to book. They are very clean, nicely designed, bright and spacious, have a hygienic and comfortable bathroom attached, and, most importantly, have excellent matrasses that give you the necessary rest before or after a trekking.

The entrance and the garden with a small stupa in the middle are nicely decorated to move you literally away from the bustling streets. The resort foresees yoga for those who are interested on the roof top of the hotel with a view on Swayambunath (the Monkey Temple). The rates on the website were during the time I visited the hotel more expensive than the ones mentioned on the flyer. Depending on the season and the occupancy, I bet it is worth to contact them directly to find out what is the best rate.

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe Rooms in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I have recently been to Nepal with my family and friend on a leisure trip and opted an accommodation for all for two nights in a gap of three days in the month of June 2012 in Thamel Eco Resort.

In spite of our relatively short trip ;plenty of observations were noted and the same; we would like to share for consideration of potential visitors to the city of Kathmandu.

It is conveniently located in the vicinity of commercial main street area in Thamel. The resort in question can be classified under the three star category hotel and offers all basic amenities available in all the hotels in equivalent class across the Indian subcontinent. The employees of the resort are very helpful and service oriented. The quality and the spread of morning breakfast was impressive during our stay and some of the dishes opted for the breakfast on both the mornings suited the palate of all in a group of 17 persons.

The undersigned is unable to comment on the quality and variety of items offered in the menu of lunch or dinner as both the days we opted to have both the meals outside as per the predilections of the members of the group in an array of restaurants located in the main street Thamel area.

We happened to meet one of the directors of the resort-Mr. Rajan and exchanged pleasantries & experiences of our stay with him. We are highly impressed with his polite demeanor and stature in the hospitality and travel industry in Nepal.

In fact, it turned out to be a `value for money proposition’ experience. We strongly recommend this resort to all interested to visit Kathmandu for their comfortable .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburg Missouri
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Recently I had the privilege of taking a once in a lifetime trip to Nepal. I booked everything through Earthbound Expeditions. Who in turn booked all my flights, tours, and hotels. I stayed in the Thamel Eco Resort in Kathmandu. It's a multi story hotel. The service was excellent. All the employees treated me first rate. I ate at odd times and they always accomodated me. It's tucked back away from the main hustle and bustle but close enough a little foot walk will get you to a multitude of shops for your shopping pleasure. The security was always visible and were always willing to help me with whatever I needed. I always felt safe when I was there and that is a biggie for me. I recommend them as I would stay there again. The room was always clean and I never had a problem with insects at all. And I was there during the monsoon season. They have air conditioning, except when all the electricity goes out. And it does, but it's not anything to do with Eco Resort. It's a Nepal thing. When you travel there, you will find out first hand. There's not enough space to tell you everything I enjoyed. You must find that out for yourself. Find Earthound Expedions and have them take care of you. The rest is easy. Thamel Eco Resort will take good care of you.

Room Tip: I try to stay in the upper levels. It's quieter. And I always seemed to get the end rooms. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thamel Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thamel Eco Resort

Address: Chibahal, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 341 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thamel Eco Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 42 room eco friendly boutique hotel with a garden has 19 brand new rooms in brand new building and 23 rooms in Old Building. Out of 42 rooms 18 are Deluxe with A/C, 1 suite room and 6 common bathrooms.While the pillars of the hotel at its entrance and the carvings over its windows replicate the artful heritage of Nepalese architecture, you feel like being in a traditional Nepali home in some of its rooms that display typical Nepalese pottery.A miniature Buddhist stupa in the middle of its front courtyard brings an ambience of peace, conveying the chief concern of the hotel to offer you a full repose of body and mind.Thamel Eco resort (TER) offers affordable prices, as well as a convenient location. Situated in the heart of the tourist district of Thamel, you are never far from restaurants or shops. Visit the King's Palace Musium, Swayambhu nath - the most revered Buddhist stupa in Nepal, and because you are in Thamel you can't miss the Thamel Chowk, with its countless restaurants and shops. At the hotel, guests enjoy complimentary wireless internet access, fruits and tea / coffee. Thamel Eco Resort makes for an excellent choice to stay in the tourist district of Kathmandu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Thamel Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thamel Eco Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thamel Eco Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.