We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thorong Peak Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Thorong Peak Guest House to your Saves list
Thorong Peak Guest House
Thamel - 29 | Narsingh Chowk, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 371 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Goa
1 review
“A special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This guesthouse is AMAZING! Attention has been given to what really matters to anyone away from home: super comfy mattress, quality linen, 5 star hot water power shower, and thorough cleaning!! Moreover the rooms have been decorated and designed by someone who has beautiful aesthetics and understands that quality fittings matter!
We arrived for a few days and ended up staying here over a month in rainy season as part of our honeymoon, and the super deluxe suite made us feel like we were in a boutique hotel.
Staff are wonderful, exact balance between warm courteous efficiency and typical Nepali modesty..... means they also let you be.
The breakfast is always fresh and delicious, the rooftop a quiet haven, and the location is a tranquil backwater bang in the center of Thamel.
Everyone expects power cuts,crazy traffic and challenging infrastructure in Nepal, its part of the local daily reality and all travelers should adapt and expand their spoiled demands. This hotel is equipped with generator and makes every effort despite the countrys hardships.
We love you Thorong peak! And one day we would like to climb that Thorong mountain :0
regards
Nicky and Narendra

Room Tip: All are good, ours looked out into the mango tree and had a small balcony, but ask for a sun facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer G, Owner at Thorong Peak Guest House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Namaste. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We had given much detail to all our rooms which were renovated over the last summer especially the decor, ambiance and comfort .
Its been our pleasure having you both at the Thorong Peak for your honey moon and we hope to see you both soon in Kathmandu. We wish you a very good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    44
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
26
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. The price is decent and the rooms are clean. The bathrooms are wonderful! I stayed in two different rooms at this hotel and both had newly renovated bathrooms which were made of stone. There is always hot water and the shower head is amazing!
The staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer G, Owner at Thorong Peak Guest House, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very happy to know that you liked our stone tiled newly renovated rooms. Its been our pleasure having you stay with us and to know that you had a wonderful time.
Thank you for taking your time to review us and we wish you a very good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

thorung peak is a clean hotel and the staff are prompt and friendly. the bathrooms are made of nice slate stone and the water is fine. there is toilet paper. there are tv's with multiple channels in multiple languages. it is good for a stopover in kathmandu. the staff, as i mentioned, are in particular, helpful. some of their names are, anil, samir, karma, ashish and santa; essentially everyone who is there.

Room Tip: ask at the desk, towards the entrance has less sun and is therefore less hot in the summer and obvio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer G, Owner at Thorong Peak Guest House, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us, liked our decor - the stone tiled bathroom and especially our staff that took care of you.
Thank you for taking your time to review us and we wish you a very good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed for couple of days in Thamel after trekking and Thorong was like a home where i could sleep well for more than 7 hours. First impression was: Good flooring, thank God :) they use parquet for the rooms. Clean bathroom, hot water, wifi, good food, good service. Although there's construction going on in the next building, it didn't bother me a lot. The most important thing was I could trust the staff, so a solo traveler like me felt safe there. Definitely my choice, if I ever go back again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer G, Owner at Thorong Peak Guest House, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very happy to know that you had a comfortable stay with us, liked our warm hospitality, friendly service, clean rooms & bathroom, hot water, wi fi and our restaurant food.
Our regrets that there was construction in the backside. They have now finished breaking it down and almost done clearing the materials now.
Thank you for taking your time to review us and we hope to see you back in Nepal soon. Wishing you a very good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The rooms and bathrooms are clean. The staffs are friendly and helpful as well. Always greet you with a smile.

As far as internet connection is concern, please don't expect speedy internet connection. You might get connected to the network but it takes forever to load a page.

During my stay, there are construction going on, so it was kinda noisy. Drilling starts as early as 6 am so not really a good news for a light sleeper. Kindly take note that although it's situated in a cul de sac, you can still hear faintly the noise and traffic from the main street.

Overall, I am satisfied with what I have paid for & will for sure come back to stay at this hostel, as well as recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer G, Owner at Thorong Peak Guest House, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for taking your time to review us and recommending us to fellow travelers.
We wish you a very good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I have visited kathmandu and stay at Thorong pick which is in the hearth of Thamel ,I fund the staff very friendly and helpful to guide me and advise me to the activities and places to see in kathmandu .The room are big and bright ,hot water all the time ,tv and Internet good too.food and drinks are exceptional especially local one! Definitely good value for money and very safe .very close to bars and restaurants .

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer G, Owner at Thorong Peak Guest House, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Anotnio,
Its always been our pleasure having you stay with us. Thank you for taking your time to review us and we hope to see you back in Kathmandu soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A wonderful guest house in the heart of Thamel with exceptionally clean rooms and staff that will go above and beyond to help you get to and from the airport / recommend the best ways to get around.

This guest house is walking distance from some beautiful sites and the bustling centre of Durbar Square - we went back the night before our flight home because we felt so welcome there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sameer G, Owner at Thorong Peak Guest House, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very happy to know that you had a wonderful stay here with us and enjoyed our hospitality. Thank you for taking your time to review us and we hope to see you back in Thorong Peak in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thorong Peak Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorong Peak Guest House

Address: Thamel - 29 | Narsingh Chowk, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 371 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorong Peak Guest House was established in 1988 when tourism was just beginning to flourish in Thamel. A small personalized property with twenty well appointed rooms and three Suites. Renovated in 2010 and re renovated in 2012 in a traditional setting offers incredible valuefor the room rates. A multi-cuisine restaurant serves excellent breakfast, lunch and dinner to delight your palate in our zen garden. We are conveniently located in the heart of Thamel in a cul de sac, the tourism hub of Kathmandu. We have generator back up during power outage in the evenings and inverter back up during day time.Our inviting ambiance, fluttering prayer flags, peaceful garden, well appointed rooms and smiling staff welcomes you the moment you step inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Thorong Peak Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thorong Peak Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.