We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home in Thamel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thorong Peak Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Thorong Peak Guest House to your Saves list
Thorong Peak Guest House
Thamel - 29 | Narsingh Chowk, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 387 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Home in Thamel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Perfect location, very good price, friendly staff, a room even during high season when everything is full (just be nice with staff;)
Surely comparing with GHK, better to stay here and save for good pashmina. Ask 405 in advance and you'll have bathroom!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    48
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
27
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

clean rooms, great price, good location, fantastic staff, would stay here over and over again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

The guest house is well positioned, beautiful balconies, great breakfasts, really clean and comfortable rooms and very helpful staff. Would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

I stayed at Thorong Peak August 28 - September 4, 2011 and was pleased with the level of quality and cleanliness of the rooms for the price--which was pretty inexpensive and reasonable.

I had been to Kathmandu / Thamel before and had found most many of the lower-range guest houses to be dirty and unkept. Thorong Peak stands out as the exception.

I stayed in a room that had two beds, was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean (which is always important to me) and my room didn't have AC, I found that I really didn't need it, as I just opened the windows each night and had a nice breeze going.
Guest house staff were generally very nice and helpful. I found that once you got to know them, they all were super friendly and did their best.

(As westerners, I think it is important to remember that Nepali guest house workers and managers are most likely not trained in hotel management, nor are they trained or entirely familiar with American or western management styles and concepts. Most of these guys have no formal training in the field other than their singular experience working at that particular guesthouse, so they may appear at first to come off a bit rough or unpolished, but taking all that into account, I think they do a very nice job on the whole in Kathmandu in general, and try to show hospitality the best way they know how.)

With that said, I found Thorong Peaks staff to generally be friendly and very helpful (especially the older man who is the general groundskeeper and works the gate....he was so wonderful. You will know who I mean if you stay there).

I didn't have any meals during my stay at Thorong Peak guest house, so I can't review their food at all.

(I went out to eat most days at the local restaurants...and I do have one issue with a practice that seems fairly commonplace at most of these Thamel eateries....when they bring you the bill at any restaurant, they tack on a 13% "VAT Charge" AND a 10% "Service Charge". This results in a 23% extra charge being added to every meal you have at a local eatery. Just be aware of this practice. I questioned a few of the waiters at various places I went to eat, and I really question the intelligence of sticking on a 10% service charge.....I would have tipped my waiter 25 - 40 % most everyplace I went, but because of the obnoxious charges they put on your bill, most times I didn't.. THe waiters would stand to make much more money if they could just get their managments to stop requiring them to add on additional significant charges to customers bills, which is just a big turnoff for me.)

I would rate Thorong Peak highly and suggest their rooms to anybody who is looking for a clean, comfortable guest room in a great location in Thamel for a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

best thing of this guesthouse is the position, in Thamel but in a quiet street.
it's also clean (but you have to ask and be careful: sometimes they clean the room, sometimes they don't. and often, even if they do, cleaniness is not guaranteed!)
food is quite ok, staff is kind but not always (managers are not, in general).
and forget warmness. and extra-help: I had to go to a clinic as I felt sick, so we asked them for a taxi and they told us to go and get it on the street!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

i'm so impress 4 this hotel in fact it's just a small hotel but big service.all stuff so friendly and really take a great care 4 me and food was awesome ... cheap but exclusive service..love it

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thorong Peak Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorong Peak Guest House

Address: Thamel - 29 | Narsingh Chowk, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 387 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorong Peak Guest House was established in 1988 when tourism was just beginning to flourish in Thamel. A small personalized property with twenty well appointed rooms and three Suites. Renovated in 2010 and re renovated in 2012 in a traditional setting offers incredible valuefor the room rates. A multi-cuisine restaurant serves excellent breakfast, lunch and dinner to delight your palate in our zen garden. We are conveniently located in the heart of Thamel in a cul de sac, the tourism hub of Kathmandu. We have generator back up during power outage in the evenings and inverter back up during day time.Our inviting ambiance, fluttering prayer flags, peaceful garden, well appointed rooms and smiling staff welcomes you the moment you step inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thorong Peak Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thorong Peak Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.