We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Backyard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Backyard Hotel to your Saves list
Backyard Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Thamel, Chibihal Club (Green Street) | Thamel Marg, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great staff and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

I loved my time at this hotel as the staff was great fun and extremely helpful & great company .always had hot water:). The location was great! Had everything I needed near by! I stayed here for 1 and a half month, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Rouge,Namaste!
Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time staying at Backyard. It was a pleasure to be at your service. Your compliments are going help us as motivation and do better in future. We would love to see you again in future. All the best. Stay healthy and happy.

Warm regards,
SUNIL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    64
    21
    8
    9
See reviews for
13
80
76
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here before and after our treks. The hotel is in a great location in the center of Thamel. It is in a back alley off the main street which is nice. Rooms are great...neat and clean. AC cooled the room well. Hot water whenever we wanted to shower. Breakfeast on the roof top was very nice. Great value. My only negative would be the noise at night (would someone shoot that rooster that thought 3am was dawn...and it would get the dogs barking). Obviously this is beyond the control of the hotel and earplugs muffled the sound. I'm leaving the best for the last...the staff and owner. Over the top service by the friendliest and most genuine people you will ever meet. We booked our air travel from Pokhara and to/from Lukla throught the hotel's travel agency and I would highly recommend their service for this. We also took some local tours and hired their jeep to take us from Kathmandu to the start of the AC. When my wife arrived back early after EBC and they didn't have a room available, they found her another nice place close by until something opened up. They were always very helpful with information but never any pressure to use their services if we indicated we were not interested...just the way it should be. It was very much a pleasure to stay here and meet these great people. Cheers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Rouge,Namaste!
Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time staying at Backyard. It was a pleasure to be at your service. Your compliments are going help us as motivation and do better in future. We would love to see you again in future. All the best. Stay healthy and happy.

Warm regards,
SUNIL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great hotel, great value and even better are the helpful staff and owner. The rooms were clean and the showers were hot. We had them arrange all our flights and a couple of cars and we found the prices very reasonable. not once were we pressured to take tours with them....we were informed about what they offered but when we told them no thanks they never asked us again. I always enjoyed entering the lobby as I found everyone there very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Guest, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for this wonderful review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. We are glad that we were successful in making your stay at our hotel a nice one. Hope we get his chance again in future. Our friendly and caring staffs are the backbone of our hotel and cleanliness is our main quality. Your reviews are definitely going to help us to grow and perform better in future. We are glad that you used our travel services too and found it reasonable. There is no doubt about the cost as we try our best to provide our hotel guests with excellent service along with the most reasonable rate. It is sad that sometimes people misunderstand and take at in other ways and we end up getting bad impressions. We are now taking lot of care about that issue and making our guests understand that we are only giving them options to choose and make their trip a good one. It is great that you understood. Thank you again for everything. All the best.

Kind regards,
Sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed with my at Backyard for 4 days and we were really satisfied with everything from our arrival till we left. We had a fantastic stay there and felt like home. The staffs were simply awesome. There was not a single time we were unsatisfied with their servic. I don't think anyone would leave this place unhappy. Already planned for a longer stay next year. Thank you very much for everything.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Roger and Katy, Namaste!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!

Thank you for this wonderful review and thank you again for your stay with us. It was a pleasure to be at your service. It is nice to know you had a god time staying with us and that what we always work for. As said by most of our guests, our staffs are the jewels of hotel which add up extra qualities in our service. We have never compromised on the cleanliness and other services at the hotel and is never ending. We are highly awaiting your next visit. Looking forward to see you soon. Till then have a great time wherever you go. All the best for your healthy and happy life. Thank you.

Kind regards,
Sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otepaa, Estonia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I spent 26 nights at the Backyard in Sep-Oct 2013 having looked for a budget hotel in a good location, largely based on reviews here on TripAdvisor. We weren't disappointed.

The Backyard's location is perfect, on a side street only a 5-minute walk along Thamel Marg south from Narsingh Chowk (Thamel Chowk on some maps). The hotel provides complimentary airport pick-up, just arrange it in advance. There are dozens of good restaurants, a few well-stocked supermarkets and some of Kathmandu's best-known sights within a 20-minute walking radius. If you're hungry, you don't need to go far: Rama's Kitchen and the inconspicuous, simple but charming Tibet Café are just round the corner.

Our room, no 303, was fairly large with air-conditioning, fridge, TV, small balcony and en-suite bathroom. The room was kept impeccably clean throughout our stay. The double bed was firm and good to sleep in. Some of the rooms are without bathrooms, but there is one in the corridor on every floor, shared by no more than two rooms. Note that there's no elevator, which may be an issue if you're on the 5th floor.

The breakfast included in the price and served on the rooftop terrace 7-11am was invariably delicious with three alternatives that provided welcome change considering the length of our stay. There is free WiFi, but the signal varies depending on your room's location. Ask reception for the password. You can also use a guest computer in the lobby. The Backyard gets an extra plus for its backup power, which kept the water warm and the lights on even during load shedding periods.

We always felt safe and had no worries leaving our stuff in the room even when we were touring other parts of Nepal for a few days at a time.

The greatest part of our stay at the Backyard, however, was the service. The staff seems to get along with each other fabulously, which is reflected in their easy-going, friendly attitude towards guests. Everyone is willing to go the extra mile if help is needed. Kudos to Sunil, the Hotel Manager, for picking his crew!

It's not the hotel's fault that dogs bark and cocks crow during the night, or that construction work in the adjacent building began at 5:30am. Once the work is finished, the location is as good as it gets. And anyway, Kathmandu goes to bed early, so maybe you should, too.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the top floors to avoid noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Tiina and Kimmo, Namaste!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for your review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. We are glad that we were successful in satisfying you by our service and make your stay a nice one. Thank you again for those descriptions about our hotel. No body could have written that so well except you. Review like this is definitely going to boost our confidence and motivate us to work harder. We will always try our best to continue the same in future and earn more reviews like this. Looking forward to see you again in future. Thank you.

Best Regards,
Sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

for the price i paid, it's good for the backpacker to stay at Kathmandu. this hotel locate at the central of Thamel and close to main street, walk to the Durbar Square 15min only. The Staff is very nice. Room is clean, non-stop for the A/C and hot shower even the power supply is not stable at Kathmandu.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Pan, Namaste! Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. We are glad that we got what we have always worked for, your satisfaction is in our first place. Definitely, along with other services, location and staffs have been the most important qualities of our hotel which have helped us to progress. We try our best to offer whatever we can to make our guest's stay a nice one. Power shortage is a huge problem in Nepal which has to be faced by all, but we have not compromised on that, and we have stored backup power for the ease of our guests. We would love to see you in future and provide even better service. All the best.

Kind regards,
Sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights before heading to Pokhara. The staff are so nice & friendly & look after your every need without being too pushy. They asked if we wanted to do a tour & when we said no they left it at that. They did organise our flight to Pokhara for us & it cost us exactly the same price we had googled on the Internet so saved us the hassle. The room was clean & tidy. The roof top garden restaurant is a relaxing hangout place & the breakfast is really good!! The location is perfect, just on the edge of Thamel so it's easy to walk around all the shops but far enough away from the noise at night. This is Nepal so you will never escape from the sound of dogs barking or roosters crowing.. But I totally recommend Backyard Hotel as a homely base when you are in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Lisa and Penny, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for choosing our hotel. It was a pleasure to be at your service. It is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are always working harder to maintain and boost the quality of our service, make our guests satisfied and give them no chance to be unhappy and regret for choosing our hotel. We try our best to come up to your expectations. Looking forward to see you again someday. Take care till then. Thank you.

Kind regards,
Sunil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Backyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backyard Hotel

Address: Thamel, Chibihal Club (Green Street) | Thamel Marg, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Backyard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backyard Hotel is situated in a bustling tourist area of Thamel in a very convenient location for everything that a tourist might be looking for, the best restaurants, shopping, the best bookshops and the tourist bus stop. Backyard Hotel is a 15 roomed small hotel that offers excellent service in a clean and comfortable environment where you will find people eager to please you all the time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Backyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.