We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly place in Thamel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Backyard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Backyard Hotel to your Saves list
Backyard Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Thamel, Chibihal Club (Green Street) | Thamel Marg, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super friendly place in Thamel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I happened to spend a long time in this hotel and I can just totally recommand it, compared to other places in Thamel. It’s good value for the money, quiet, comfy and clean, you got wifi and a computer you can use in the lobby, breakfast and pick up from the airport, and probably anything else you need !!! They also provide tours and travel information, if you don’t have so much time, you can trust them to give you good deals.
I really agree with the other comments, what makes this place special is how the staff and the owner are genuinely nice and caring and try to do their best to make you happy. I’ve seen them pampering honeymoon couples as much as solo travellers. If you need them, they’ll be glad to help you!!! You’ll probably need to book ahead in high season because the place is getting popular, for some good reasons. I also recommand the tibet cafe right at the corner for delicious momos and homemade tibetan noodles !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest from France, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for your stay at our hotel. We were pleasured being at your service. Hope we get this opportunity in future again. We are glad you liked our place. All the best to you. Thank you.

Regards,
Sunil Manandhar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    64
    21
    8
    9
See reviews for
13
78
76
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the backyard hotel for 4 nights in October 2012 and was blown away by the hotel and its staff. The hotel is located in central Thamel and is in walking distance of shops, restaurants, garden of dreams and everywhere else you wish to go in Kathmandu. The rooms are clean and comfortable and wifi works all the time and is FREE :)
The best part about this hotel is the staff, they went above and beyond to make my stay enjoyable and helped me all the time. They included me in their celebrations and there was masala tea always on offer. I recommend to anyone coming to Kathmandu to stay at this hotel, I am definitely coming back ASAP!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest from Australia, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for your stay at our hotel. We were pleasured being at your service. Hope we get this opportunity in future again. We are glad you liked our place. All the best to you. Thank you.

Regards,
Sunil Manandhar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great hotel in the middle of everything in Thamel, though surprisingly quiet in the evening. Near shops, restaurants. Rooms are clean with good towels and bedding. Attached bathrooms with hot water showers, TV with English channels, free wifi, complimentary teas and coffees. Great views from the roof restaurant, a great place to have breakfast while looking at the mountains. A choice of 4 different breakfasts (in with the room rate) and free pick up service from the airport. The main thing that’s stands out most from this hotel was its staff. The guys here are just so friendly and helpful and forever smiling.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest from United Kingdom, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for your stay at our hotel. We were pleasured being at your service. Hope we get this opportunity in future again. We are glad you liked our place. All the best to you. Thank you.

Regards,
Sunil Manandhar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Arrived in Kathmandu to a barrage of horns, dust and pure wonderful mayhem. The backyard hotel made it all seems miles away.

This property has everything going for it. The rooms are incredibly clean as is the lobby and rooftop dining area. The showers are HOT and the pressure good for an end of the day respite. Rooms are of good size and linens fresh and clean. Bathrooms are well maintained as are all the common areas. Gentle smiles seem to greet you at every corner of this hotel. "The Boys" as we fondly called them are a pleasure to behold. Service was made extra special in the smiles that always came at no charge, gentle laughter breaking out as we tried to communicate. Breakfast made to order every day and delivered rooftop when you are ready. Coffee and tea whenever you want at no charge was a nice surprise. Don't miss out on this little gem of a place and take time to smile and laugh with the staff, after all it is what Nepal is all about.

Room Tip: A standard room has your bathroom "across the hall" it is private but you must enter the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest from United States, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for your stay at our hotel. We were pleasured being at your service. Hope we get this opportunity in future again. We are glad you liked our place. All the best to you. Thank you.

Regards,
Sunil Manandhar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmiel, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Booked hotel via trip advisor and didn't regret. Best value for the money. Nice and clean rooms, breakfast at the roof. Very friendly staff, especially director of the hotel - Mr. Durgalal. He is nice person and helped us a lot with different arrangements related to trekking and site-seeing in Katmandu and Himalayas. We didn't book anything in advance, but , thanks to him, we didn't go to any travel agency, but just purchased at the hotel flight tickets to Lukla, got all permits for the tracking and arranged porters for our 15 days track to the Everest Base Camp. Hi also helped us with daily tour in Kathmandu short rafting etc.
In an short words - we were lucky to start our Nepal experience in the Backyard hotel
No swimming pool or fitness - but you don't need them when you plan trekking and rafting :)

Room Tip: If you want to save a few dollars - you can take a room with a bathroom which is not located in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest from Isreal, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for your stay at our hotel. We were pleasured being at your service. Hope we get this opportunity in future again. We are glad you liked our place. All the best to you. Thank you.

Regards,
Sunil Manandhar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed twice already, few days, and before I leave Kathmandu for good I will definitely stay again the last few days there. The hotel is very clean, with nice size room, clean bathroom. But most importantly is the staff. They are all super helpful from the manager to the receptionist. They wil help you with anything. I would definitely highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The rates are very good too compare to the other hotels in Thamel. I have nothing negative to say about the hotel. You even find your newspaper below your door in the morning. :)
Sophie.

Room Tip: I just would not take the room completely on the roof. The view is great but as people may smoke out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest from United Kingdom, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for your stay at our hotel. We were pleasured being at your service. Hope we get this opportunity in future again. We are glad you liked our place. All the best to you. Thank you.

Regards,
Sunil Manandhar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I've lived 13 days at the hotel in september.I lived on supervior room with fine bathroom.The staff and the boss was very nice to make your stay good for one .. Cleaning the room fine so it's hotel I can highly recommend.
In Thamel (which tourists living in kathmandu there is a lot of noise at night, but everything closes down 11.30 pm, so you can spend the night alone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSUNEAL, Manager at Backyard Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest from Denmark, Namaste!!

Greetings from Backyard Hotel!!

Thank you for the review and thank you again for your stay at our hotel. We were pleasured being at your service. Hope we get this opportunity in future again. We are glad you liked our place. All the best to you. Thank you.

Regards,
Sunil Manandhar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Backyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backyard Hotel

Address: Thamel, Chibihal Club (Green Street) | Thamel Marg, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Backyard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backyard Hotel is situated in a bustling tourist area of Thamel in a very convenient location for everything that a tourist might be looking for, the best restaurants, shopping, the best bookshops and the tourist bus stop. Backyard Hotel is a 15 roomed small hotel that offers excellent service in a clean and comfortable environment where you will find people eager to please you all the time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Backyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backyard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.