We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch Vietnamese and Great Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upstairs Cafe

Upstairs Cafe
Chakrapath, Maharajgunj, Kathmandu, Nepal
444-3330 / 981-309-3055
Improve this listing
Ranked #293 of 454 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Harare, Zimbabwe
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Top notch Vietnamese and Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I frequent Upstairs weekly. When spring rolls are not available, substitute fried wontons. Their Pho is excellent, as is the crispy sweet and sour duck (when available). Don't overlook their fish curry. Call ahead for eat-in or carry out if you need it.
The staff is friendly and accommodating, be sure to tip as they don't automatically add 10%, they deserve it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

If you love oriental food i.e Chinese, Japanese, Vietnamese, then this is the place to go in Kathmandu.
I've been few times to this place and I absolutely love the food here. The portion is sumptous.
I love when Mrs. cooks the food, does not taste as good when she is away- its an honest opinion!
The price is just right!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We were so happy with their friendly service ! This was the first time in Kathmandu we actually were served so friendly. Food was yummy Vietnamese ! We were going to BoddhaTemple when we saw this restaurant on our way. We were hungry so decided to take lunch here.. There was a really nice lady who came to take our order. I would definitely recommend their place to people visiting Kathmandu.
Oh and they didn't force us to pay VAT and service charge like they do in about 80% of restaurants in Thamel ! So one more positive point to respect their honesty.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathmadur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Great food and friendly people. Will be back again soon.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“First Vietnamese Restaurant in Kathmandu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Newly opened by a Nepali / Vietnamese couple, this little place is really warm and welcoming and serves great food. Kathmandu has long needed a Vietnamese restaurant and here it is! The pho is great, and the barbequed pork ribs are fantastic. Start with the spring rolls - they are terrific. The Nepali food is also good - the set-menu "Nepali khana's" are delicious. Several vegetarian options on the menu. It's near the US Embassy, close to Narayan Gopal Chowk.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upstairs Cafe also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Upstairs Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upstairs Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.