We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, cozy place, quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tings Lounge Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kathmandu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tings Lounge Hotel
Save
You added Tings Lounge Hotel to your Saves list
Nursari Galli | Lazimpat, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 371 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
shanghai
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great service, cozy place, quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Tings is a very eclectic guest house with lots of funky artwork and decorations. We stayed on the top floor, which was awesome. The house cats enjoyed chilling with us, and the lounge had a nice wood burning stove which kept the place warm. In our room we had our own propane heater to keep us warm. The water pressure on the top floor was a bit weak, and it took a while for the shower water to warm up. That is why I gave it a 4 out or 5.

Additionally, all the staff were super helpful and spoke good English. The breakfast was delicious and very healthy. The location is about a 15 minute walk to the Thamel area, but be warned that there are no sidewalks and the main street is under construction (poor infrastructure). We wore hiking boots to get to Thamel. Tings itself is down a small lane that not all the cab drivers know about, but it is in between the Radisson and Shangri-la hotels, which they will know.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    34
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
77
42
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Nice staff, very friendly. During our stay painters were renewing the painting on the buildings, but we were not borthered at all. It is a good stay, nice decorated rooms with heating to warm up the room. The matress of the bed was hard, but we still had a good rest nightsleep. Breakfast is good, and of course the choise of different tea a delight. Walking to Thamel backpackers ghetto was only a small 15 minutes. Ting's roomrates are a bit high, but worth it all.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here in May 2012 so a little late for a review, but wanted to share the experience finally!

Stayed 4 nights in total, 2 nights in the orange garden room, which was very comfy and had a wonderful bathroom, and then 2 nights in a backpacker room with shared bathroom after being away for a while, as the other rooms were booked. It was fine but not nearly as good, and seeing as the price different isn't big, if at all possible then stay in one of the 'non' backpacker rooms.

The breakfasts were AMAZING, truly, but for food in the evenings make sure you check in the morning if there will be food being served or not, to avoid disappointment, as there are some days when they have the evening off. We had a light supper there one evening, and it was very good and a nice change if you've been having loads of Nepali food - they have tapas-style sharing plates, and WINE! Of course it's a different price to the local eateries in the area, but it's a different experience too.

It's an easy walking distance into town from Lazimpat, if you have the energy, but you'll feel safer doing it at night if you have a torch or two with you, it gets dark! Better really to stick to the local area at night and go into Kathmandu and around during the day, unless you want to be taking lots of rickshaws/taxis - taxis try to charge really silly prices, so make sure you know the going rate and negotiate.

All the staff at Tings are really friendly and sweet, and pretty efficient too - a nice point is that if you plan on going on a trip somewhere and then coming back to KTM again for a few nights, they're totally fine with you leaving your bags there, so you don't have to carry around all your stuff all the time, much more comfortable!

Room Tip: The orange garden room is very nice, and if you prefer an ensuite bathroom make sure you book well a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here over Christmas for five nights. We travelled in a party of five, so we tried several of the rooms and they were all very clean and nice, even the backpacker rooms with separate bathroom. Of all the rooms we had, we liked the balcony room best. The nights were cold in late December, but they provided us with gas heaters. Breakfast was excellent, and we had a wonderful Christmas dinner there, cooked by the owner and his staff.The hotel is set a couple of blocks back from the chaos on the main street. Be sure to bring along instructions on how to get there, otherwise the airport taxis will have trouble finding it. We found it very convenient for touring the Kathmandu area. There's a small super market down at the corner, a couple of very good restaurants a few blocks up the main road and the travel agency down by the main road (to the left) helped us get tickets for the mountain flight to see Mt. Everest. The Danish hosts and their staff provided hospitality of a very high standard and we are happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Tings and found it to be a very laid back place to stay . The room was good with a heater and a small balcony , the staff were nice . We ate there a couple of times and the food was tasty. It feels like a safe environment to be in .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4nights, a different room each time though as we kept leaving for other places and then returning as we loved it so much. The staff are really friendly and did their best to help with our erratic schedule. The hotel has some lovely outdoor seating areas and the whole atmosphere is like being at home. Would definately recommend this as a place to stay in Kathmandu

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We spent one night at Tings at the beginning of our trip and 2 nights at the end. Great place to stay with excellent food. We were able to leave some bags at the hotel while we travelled and got a really good welcome when we returned.
It is in a good location - we walked to a lot of places from there such as the Garden of Dreams.
Staff are efficient, friendly and laid back and the price is right!

Room Tip: Rooms are available to suit all budgets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tings Lounge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tings Lounge Hotel

Address: Nursari Galli | Lazimpat, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 371 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tings Lounge Hotel is neither a backpacker’s hangout nor an ordinary business hotel, but something in between where the convenience of a business hotel goes hand in hand with the relaxed and comfortable ambiance of what the few luxury backpacker place you’ll find around the world. We have 10 rooms of different sizes - 4 in the newly built front house and 6 in the cozy funky-like main house from the 70s. All rooms have private bathrooms – but for the two backpacker rooms the bathrooms are not attached. And a small 2-room flat for long term stays can also be arranged. All rooms have stylish interior design: International simplicity with a Nepali/Asian touch. On the first floor in the main house the residents can relax in the large living room as well as on the huge outdoor terrace. The garden with all its flowers, cozy corners, hammocks and terraces will be for all guests. We serve breakfast and if he has the time and feels like it Thomas will make dinner for our hotel guest. If he doesn’t don’t panic! There are plenty of good restaurants and eateries nearby. Or if you prefer to eat on the premises we will of course organize take away. If you feel like cooking feel free to use our kitchen. There is of course free Wi-Fi, and we can provide photocopies, scans, projector, meeting facilities etc. So if you are on business and need a place for your meeting, and find the business hotels too big and too formal, Tings is definitely an option. If you after reading this still can’t imagine Tings – a journey through places that have inspired over the years might help. Anyway, come by and have a look for yourself. It’s open and the menu is delicious with reasonable prices. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tings Lounge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.