We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karnali Excursions - Day Tours

Karnali Excursions - Day Tours
Durbarmarg | Next To Yak and Yeti Hotel, Kathmandu, Nepal
+977 1-4233192
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 367 Activities in Kathmandu
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Karnali Excursions, Nepal is a trek and tour company headquartered in Kathmandu, Nepal. We offer our clients, group and customized individual treks and tours of the Himalayan Region and India. Our specialty is the Himalayas; these astonishing mountains nourish a unique diversity of life and culture that for centuries has called out to the hearts and minds of people all over the world. Karnali Excursions opens up the magic and mystery of these great mountains, their sacred places, remote villages, legendary cities and ancient palaces.Thank you
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very reputable company. I have travelled with Karnali Excursions P Ltd few times and found their services extra ordinary. Leaders and staff looks after everyone so well with kindness and tries their level best and beyond to ensure one completes their pilgrimage/trip with fullness.

My first trip to Kailash Mansarovar with Karnali Excursions was in year 2005, last trip in 2012. At that time the roads were so bumpy and the journey was really hard to Kailash Mansarovar until returning to Nepal/China border. In the past couple of years there has been lot of improvements by Chinese Government so the journey is not so hard now.

Tibet is a very remote place and the facilities are still beyond the basic in some places. Due to high altitude one may find difficulty in breathing. Few tips I am happy to share with you which I found very useful in my travels. Ginger, dry dates and dry raisins. Take a fresh ginger, peel and shred it. Sprinkle little salt onto it and drain away excess water out of it. Let it dry completely in the sun and pack in a small pocket size plastic bag. This is one of the best natural medicine I found for high altitude. Off course drinking 3 litres of water is another. Travel light as possible with required gear.

Travelling to Gosain Kund, Aug is a monsoon season. One may see leeches. Tips- slightly sprinkle water onto your trekking boots. Soak your hands with water or use wet napkin and rub it down your clothes. Take some salt and rub it down your clothes and trekking boots. Salt will sunk into your clothes/trekking boots, this way leeches will not come near you.

I would highly recommend Karnali Excursions P Ltd to anyone who wishes to travel to Kailash Mansarovar, Gosain Kunda and any other places they cover. I would love to travel with Karnali Excursions again and again.

A special thanks to Hiradai and the team. Thank you in millions!

Love & Light

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guidehimalaya, Manager at Karnali Excursions - Day Tours, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you Bhavna
for your reviews, It is really wonderful to have your words.Looking forward to have you in himalaya soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Lake Gosaikunda and Langtang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This has been a journey out of this world and Karnali's Excursion advices and choice of guide were perfect. Dorje the guide made this trip so very special. i will never forget the effect of walking along with him while he chanted Mantras, the beautiful puja (prayer) done at the Gosaikunda spring, the walks outside the beaten track in the lake area. In fact his presence was such a blessing tat nature rewarded us with a rare sight of the elusive Red Panda!
Thanks Hira-ji, I will continue to get advice form you they are more than valuable.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guidehimalaya, Owner at Karnali Excursions - Day Tours, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Gaby ji
Thank you.We are pleased to have you with us in this very special place in Himalaya.This is truly the place for the yogi like you who has very strong connection with himalaya where Yoga philosophy was first introduced to Patanjali by lord Shiva( Yogi Raj).
Sincerely
Hira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

First, Ganesh was a great guide. We couldn’t have asked for anything more. He was incredibly attentive to our every wish and desire. He was very good about doing little things many guides don’t, like double-checking every restaurant and tea house to make sure we didn’t leave sunglasses or other small items before we left. He also significantly added value to our trip by ensuring we had the best rooms available in almost every lodge… and the lodges he chose were all excellent. While eating or at the lodges, he wouldn’t let us do anything like flag down a waiter and always insisted on doing it himself. It was truly 5-star service.

Ganesh was also very friendly, talkative and open with us when asked about the country and some questions that many guides would not have navigated well. His willingness to engage us on any topic was first class. We have travelled extensively and he was one of the warmer and kinder guides that we have had.

The entire trek exceeded our expectations in almost every way. We want to thank your entire staff for their great work. We would confidently recommend your company to anyone and have already done so with many of our friends.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico, United States
1 review
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Kailash - Manosarovar Aug./Sept., 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My daughter and I joined a group of 25 to Mt. Kailash. From the moment we met Karnali staff in Nepal, I realized we were in the best possible hands for this trip. Their vast knowledge gained from previous trips to Kailash and their personal attention to everyone's individual needs, i.e., health needs, supplies, food, etc. was perfection. My daughter's physical strength was challenged sometimes and Yubok never left her side during those times. She and I will never be able to thank him enough for his caring attention. Ramesh, Govinda, Shiva and the rest of the team were more like family. This was a life changing journey for me and the heart warming professional care of Karnali's staff was a major player. I hope to make this journey again and look forward to being guided by Karnali Excursions.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Choosing a tour company is always tough! However choosing a tour company from the millions available in Nepal is even tougher! You will not go wrong with karnaliexcursions. We have gone on several trips and had several guides but no one would match up to the care, hospitality and the wealth of information provided by Bishnu whom I would rate as the best guide we ever had. Equal credit goes to Hira ji who did everything to ensure that our plan was perfect for first time trekkers. They both went out of their way to make sure that our trip to their country was a memorable one and it was! Thank you once again Hira ji and Bishnu for being a part of one of our most unforgettable trips.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karnali Excursions - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Karnali Excursions - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karnali Excursions - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.