We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kathmandu Friendly Home

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kathmandu Friendly Home to your Saves list
Kathmandu Friendly Home
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paknajol Kathmandu | Paknajol-16, Kathmandu G.P.O. 5045, Nepal (Formerly Grand Millennium Guest House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Toulouse, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I have spend 12 days at Millenium GH last April. It was a perfect stay there. The rooms are very clean, the staff very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent, near the busy Thamel but in a very quiet area. Definitely I'll return there the next time I go to Kathmandu. Charlie.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    25
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
13
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sikkim
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

the grand millennium guest house is perfectly located in a peaceful surrounding, it has excellent accomodation and service facilities.the rooms are spacious, neat and clean.the staff very courteous and helpful. above all the food was great.!! we had a pleasant time visiting the areas in and around kathmandu in the vehicles provided by the guest house itself.:)))) a perfect place to stay and holiday!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

HI friends
i hav been theair in kathmandu nepal in the month of apiral 2012 for 7 days.nepal is a very good country to treavel and in nepal there is a very nice place to stay at katmandu Thamel that is GRANT MILLENNIUM GUEST HOUSE .
i fell pleasuse or very homely to stay in that because it is a very peaceful neat & clean place to rooms are fully exosted with full sun raise.The staff of that guest house is also coperative and every tim ready to surve survices.Same time it is located a very picefull and near to all big markets of Kathmandu.
Thanks
Roop singh
JAipur
Rajasthan
India

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

It is a nice, clean, quiet guesthouse in the centre of kathmandu. with very friendly and helpful staff, especially Sajan did his best to make it a pleasant stay!
The room was clean, with hot water. Only the beds were Nepali style...hard

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankleshwar
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Thank Allah for getting the Hotel (Grand Millennium Guest House Private Limited) in Kathmandu NEPAL. I HASHMI MOHAMMED ARZOO having some Business in Gujarat - INDIA. i was visited at Kathmandu for Business purpose and was stayed in Grand Millennium Guest House. The Owner of this Guest house - Mr. Rajendra Kumar (Managing Director) and Mr. Prem Thapa (Marketing Manager) are very nice men, they are providing good service with all respect and they are treating like real family members, I am so happy from Owners and all staff members of this Grand Millennium Guest House Private Limited in Kathmandu.

As per my thought the behaviour should be main important for services. and they have proved by services, Now i would like to go again in this Guest house. and i will try to stay always in this Guest house - when will visit in Kathmandu NEPAL.

Now i can say - to visit (at Grand Millenium Guest House - Kathmandu) and will get all services what you needed for enjoyments.

Thanks again,

HASHMI MOHAMMED ARZOO
Proprietor of M/s IIE international
Ankleshwar-393002, Gujarat, INDIA.

Room Tip: As per my thought the behaviour should be main important for services. and they have proved by servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011 via mobile

DO NOT STAY HERE! This is one of the worst places we have stayed at? Ever. The location is the ONLY good point as it is a short walk from the heart of Thamel.

This is a dated, tired guesthouse run by untrustworthy staff.

Although the rooms are large, the beds are harder than a trekking lodge's, satellite TV hardly works (if your room has a TV at all), we were blatantly ripped off by the staff who then lied about it to our faces when their creative accounting was questioned (including being charged for the 'free' airport pickup), the showers run cold after about 5 mins and the bathrooms are not clean. Don't believe their website's list of facilities or services, and the photos are mutton dressed up as lamb.

We also asked the staff to arrange bus tickets for us, which they did do at short notice. However, they then tried to charge us DOUBLE the ticket price and add on a service charge for arranging the tickets.

A 10% charge for 'service' and 13% tax may be added to your bill if you question it as an explanation for 'additional charges'.

We lost too much money here and do not tolerate being lied to by any hospitality staff, so moved to another guesthouse.

Again, in case you missed it, DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beebal, Manager at Kathmandu Friendly Home, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feed back. I am not sure whether you stayed at my hotel or not or you are one of our competitor. But your feed back helps us to improve our services in future.

Thank you again.
Raj
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

It was a nice coincidence that I found this place by walking by! I had a spacious bright and clean room with private bath and hot water up in the 4th floor - those rooms are the best value! I also liked the view from the roof top over the city and to Swayambhunath. The stuff is young and very helpful. The manager (Razz) is also a nice and helpful person. We all cooked Dhalbat together and had a lot of fun. I had a great time with other travelers there too! Free internet is available (but slow). People are easy going. I stayed in the guesthouse before and after my trek. The location is good, everything is in walking distance. There are some local food places around there too (very cheap and good food). If you like you are in no time in the busy Thamal area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beebal, Manager at Kathmandu Friendly Home, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Guest!
Thank you for your feed back we are committed to provide you our best services in upcoming days too. I hope your feed back delivers messages to other people who are looking for good and economic class hotels in Kathmandu.

Rajendra Kunwar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kathmandu Friendly Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathmandu Friendly Home

Address: Paknajol Kathmandu | Paknajol-16, Kathmandu G.P.O. 5045, Nepal (Formerly Grand Millennium Guest House)
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kathmandu Friendly Home 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choosing Kathmandu Friendly Home (Hotel) is a clever idea to those who loves noise free place to stay. Our property is just located 25 minute drive from Trivuban International Airport and 10 minutes from new bus park which is very convenient location for everyone. Our hotel is a good place for budget level travelers however we are committed to provide our services as good as some star hotels facilities. Basically we offer six stories building roof top sitting and view from where you can see of Kathmandu Valley and the pride of Nepal the Monkey Temple (Swayambhunath) in a stone through distance. More over from top of the hotel you can see beautiful some part of Langtang Mountain. Kathmandu Friendly Home (Hotel) have 24 hour hot and cold running shower and quite good lighting back up. We offer free WiFi service with high speed broadband and also those who don't have any personal electronics gadget we offer them with free Internet and computing facility at our travel desk. We are very serious for security of our valuable client and their belongings we never let trespassers and strangers inter into the hotel. We are very pleased to inform you that no our guest has lost anything in our hotel till date. We also have free safe deposit locker and free baggage storage system. We also offer you certified doctors on a call as per your requirement. Also we have Kathmandu Friendly Garden Restaurant with a tranquil ambiance. We provide those people who are interested volunteering. And the hotel donate certain percent of benefit to the orphanage home as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kathmandu Friendly Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kathmandu Friendly Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.