We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet location only 200m from bustling Thamel, with excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sacred Valley Inn Kathmandu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sacred Valley Inn Kathmandu to your Saves list
Sacred Valley Inn Kathmandu
Jayatha, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 372 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A quiet location only 200m from bustling Thamel, with excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Sacred valley is really well situated in a quiet lane only 3 minutes walk from all the shops and restaurants of busy Thamel - the tourist centre of Kathmandu. The staff were efficient, very helpful and knowledgable, so were able to help a great deal for our whole Nepal arrangements. Having said the lane is quiet, everything is realtive and being Thamal the roosters start at 5am, the dogs start soon after, and the generators run at various hours of night and day ... there must be a good business opportunity for noise-shielding for all the Kathmandu generators. Meals are provided near the rooftop with a range of options that are good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    61
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
85
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Well located in a quiet lane yet close to the action of the Thamel.
The room we has was large and clean. Beds hard and not the most comfortable however fantastic HOT shower and free wi fi.
Staff were friendly but not on the ball enough to give a 5.
I understand the manager was at their sister hotel in Pokhara (highly recommended) at the time
so this may have been why.
That said we would highly recommend staying here when visiting Kathmandu.

Room Tip: Room 202 good for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Anyone who has traveled to Nepal knows Kathmandu can be a boistrous and noisy place. Sacred Valley Inn is a quiet rest in a noisy city. Our hosts were some of the nicest people we met on our holiday and they go to great lengths to make sure their restaurant food is safe. Its easy to get sick in Nepal from food and you could always trust the food at Sacred Valley. Very comfortable rooms and a great price. We stayed here because a friend did as well and I would recommend this to anyone going to Nepal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed as a group. Overall experience was okay, except that I know for USD 25 there are better deals – with heating and in better locations. If you come back late night (around after 10) you will find the gates closed and the staff asleep on the ground floor. It always took sometime (after knocking and shouting) for them to open the gates.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

There are many plus points to this property - its location in a quiet corner of Thamel , clean rooms, WiFi (when there is electricity), prompt response to e-mail queries prior to the stay, and generally friendly staff. We were generally very pleased with our stay, until towards the end when there was some confusion about us not settling the breakfast bill for one of the mornings. Although in the end, the matter was settled, it did leave a small stain on our overall stay. (They should have balanced their books before insisting that the guests did not pay for breakfast). Having said that, I would recommend the property to any traveller wishing to stay in the Thamel area.

Room Tip: While you have the option of paying for breakfast at the rooftop restaurant after each meal, don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at Sacred Valley on two separate occasions during our recent trip to Nepal. As others have mentioned, the rooms were very clean, and the location is great. It is within walking distance to Durbur Square and has easy access to all of Thamel while still being a bit secluded. The staff was professional and friendly and helped us to arrange everything from mountain flight tickets to short car rides. Their prices for a driver were very reasonable as well. Service at the restaurant was prompt and the food very yummy. My husband commented that people would be crazy to stay anywhere else. I agree!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

First impressions were that the room was exceptionally clean, keep it up guys! It really makes you feel good staying in a room so clean. Location was great, very close to the centre of thamel but also quiet. Organised transport from the hotel was more expensive but that is normal. Ganga is happy to help in any way. Great easy and clean place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sacred Valley Inn Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacred Valley Inn Kathmandu

Address: Jayatha, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 372 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For guests looking for simple but clean and comfortable rooms then Sacred Valley Inn is worth looking at.Friendly staff, good quiet location and cozy lounges and good restaurant. A little bit of sanctuary in chaotic Kathmandu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sacred Valley Inn Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacred Valley Inn Kathmandu Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sacred Valley Inn Kathmandu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.