We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guesthouse with excellent staff. Super friendly.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Family Peace House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Family Peace House to your Saves list
Family Peace House
Paknajol | Thamel, Kathmandu 977, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 371 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Varanasi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great guesthouse with excellent staff. Super friendly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Before I start my review, I'd just like to make a couple of points in reference to some of the reviews below. I don't know what some people are expecting, but the reality is that Nepal is still very much a developing country. Things like power outages, wifi problems and water shortages are a fact of life. It has nothing to do with negligence on the part of guesthouse owners. If the power is down, it's the same in most places. The same with the wifi. There is no national water supply - many places have to dig their own wells to supply water and treat it themselves. If there's a problem you don't call a plumber, you fix it yourself. It can be frustrating if things don't work perfectly but to blame things like this on the owners I think is pretty harsh. There are plenty of more up market places which will have less of these problems, but I'm assuming that the majority of people who have stayed here are looking for good budget accommodation. Which this is.

All that said, we had no issues at this guesthouse. The water worked perfectly throughout our stay including the hot water. The wifi went down a couple of times and the staff did their utmost to try to fix it as soon as we said there was a problem.

The guesthouse itself is situated down a nice, quiet side street, away from the madness of Thamel. It's only a short 5 minute walk to the centre from here. The room we stayed in was nice, clean and good value for money. You can get toilet paper and towels for free, you just have to ask. The staff we're incredible and couldn't do enough for us. If you need your room cleaned, just ask, and they are more than happy to help. They provide breakfast and other food at a good price as well. There is a nice garden area in the back as well as a rooftop area. They provide a laundry service which is done on the same day if you get it in early.

We ended up staying here for two weeks in the end. We had been on the road for 9 months at the time and needed somewhere to relax for a while. Kathmandu is not the ideal place for that, but the staff were so helpful and friendly here we found no reason to move on. I can't say enough good things about them. Just ask, and they'll be happy to help.

A big thanks to the guys at Family Peace Home, and we'll see you when we return.

Chris.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    5
    8
    0
See reviews for
3
11
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Good location but poor service, the owners don't care about customers, nobody clean the share bathroom, all the day they wait on the couch.... we saw 2 rats in the room near the kitchen and the sheets are not changed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Also this year we spend a few weeks in the ‘Family peace house’ at Poknajol.
More times in different rooms. It was the last time because we will not book this guesthouse again. There are pros and cons but the list of cons get longer every time we stay here.
I will make a honest list of all those things we saw and give more comment if necessary.
First I start with the pros:

• Free wifi. Most times it works. We had some days it did not but more guesthouses in the area had that problem.
• Good mattresses. And that is so important for a good night sleep
• Quiet neighbourhood. Tucked away from the street. Streetdogs can keep you awake.
• Most times clean bedlinnen
• There is a backup light when there are powercuts. Also wifi works with powercuts.
• Free towels and toiletpaper if you ask.
• “cleaning” (that is a big word) on demand. Even if you stay 2 weeks they never ask to clean the room !

And now the long list of cons:

• Not clean. Everything is dirty. They just clean with a broom or put some water on the floor and dry it. Everything is covered with a thick layer of dirt. You don’t see it when you come to the room but don’t spill any water on the floor and try to clean it with a tissue. It will be black. But also the bathroom, mirror, bed, chair, etc etc
• Filthy pillowcovers . 1 day I want to change my room for an other one with balcony. When the “cleaning” lady finished my new room I moved my stuff. I saw that the pillowcovers where full with stains and smell bad so I took the pillows from my old room and replaced them with the one in my new room. After the lady cleaned my old room the door was kept open. I looked inside and saw that the pillows still had the same filthy covers. She also did not changed them that time. That is really gross.
• There are a lot of dog lovers coming to Nepal. Most dog in Nepal are infected with worms, not to speak about rabbies. It is no problem for the staff and owner if a guest bring streetdogs to the guesthouse and even upstairs and in the rooms. I saw guest with 1 and 2 dogs in there room on the bed, or on the couch on the balcony. Wow .. that means the next guest cant be infected by worm-eggs or get bitten by flees.
• The owners look friendly but I think they are not. We had several occurrences that the owner try to scam us or forgot agreements. All times in his favor.
• Hot water is a bit of hit and miss. Upper rooms don’t have hot water (most times). Lower rooms have more times hot water. Sometimes the water is not warmed by solar and they have to put on the electric heaters on the roof. Sometimes they just don’t want to put those on. Or tell you that you can take a shower on the ground floor in there or another room. Or they just say: “we have hot water so you must have hot water”. They don’t wanna check or do anything about it.
• In every bathroom you find toilets, shower or what so ever leaking.
• Lot of times youre toiletflush will not fill . We had to use the shower to fill the toilet
• The staff is not helpful when you have problems. Most times they do nothing about the problem. After several complains they are willing to help you (sometimes)
• Bad hygiene. Empty plates with food or coffee/tea stay several days before the rooms. Even if the staff pass this more then 1 time every hour they will not bring it down and clean it. Same if you put trash from your room outside your door. Don’t be surprised if it is still there after a few days. I did not eat 1 meal there and made my own tea and coffee.

So why did we stay there. At the first place they made us a good deal (but we had to remember them several times) for the rooms. A good night sleep is 1 of the most important things.
If you have to pay more then 700 rupee for a balcony room or 600 for a double room then you have better options in other guesthouses. We heard they ask 1000-1200 rupee for a balcony room. There is a new guesthouse 50 meters from FP house with good clean room and good beds for the same price. Other guesthouses have same quality for better prices.
We stayed here more times the last 3 years. The place runs down rapidly. Possible they think there are enough guests because there are also good reviews on TA. But really …. Even for Nepali standard (and I have been a long time in Nepal) this is not good enough for the money.

Room Tip: rooms with balcony but dont pay more then 700 rupee
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just a five minute walk from the city centre you find the Family Peace Guest House. It's a quiet place with friendly staff. Rooms are clean and it's possible to arrange trips via the hostel. Negotiate about the price (especially when it's low season). I had some trouble with our shower, but maybe that's just a Nepali thing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Family Peace House is in a great location with decent rooms, but there are many better choices just next door for you. The staff is not very friendly or welcoming. They also seem to be very disorganized. They forgot our reservation. One of the staff members charged us a 13% tax on the room only to later find out it was his way of ripping us off. Either to give the hostel more money from this nonexistent tax or to pocket the money for himself. This was unexceptable and you don't need to support them. Go to Tibet Peace directly next door. Better facility, better value, and great staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I've spent there 2 or 3 nights. Location is perfect - close to Thamel but far enought to be a realy quiet place. Large clean rooms with own showers (hot water) and toilet, comfortable beds and maily with balcony - realy welcome every evening to sit there with cold beer and chat with other people from other balconies ;) All guys were nice and helpful, always tried to do their best to satisfy any of your needs. Higly recommended quiet hotel in busy Kathmandu.

Room Tip: Take a room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We only stayed 1 night in this guest house and I was glad it was only one... The rooms are dirty, visible dry blood on the sheets, dirty floor in the room and bathroom, dripping shower which was impossible to turn off, toilet seat broken Torn mosquito netting on the windows and damp mould on the walls. Nobody available at reception at 10pm when I tried to get some water. Do not recommend this place, there are much nicer options available nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Family Peace House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Peace House

Address: Paknajol | Thamel, Kathmandu 977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 371 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Family Peace House is located in a quiet and tranquil area of Paknajol, directly adjacent to Thamel, the main backpacker’s heaven. We have 17 rooms in total with either en-suite or shared bathrooms, some have a private balcony, and all have a TV, fan, and heating in the winter. We have cosy garden and a restaurant with a variety of local and international dishes. From the roof top you have a view of the Kathmandu vallley including the Nagarjun Forest, the world heritage monument Swayambhunath ( Monkey Temple), Ganesh Himal, Gaurishankhar and Langtang Himal. We pride ourselves on cleanliness, comfort and friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Family Peace House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Family Peace House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.