We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Karma

Save Saved
You added Hotel Karma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Karma
Thamel, Bhagawati Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 342 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Cheap hotel with very very good facilities. It was really good hotel, a very nice staff, they are very kind to, they help us in so many things to make it easier to traveling in Kathmandu. Just say what you need, they will done it for you. They provide you with a taxi and picked up from the airport free. Also there is wi-fi in every floor and 1 computer in lobby, which will help you to find information to traveling in Nepal or to contact friends/family in your country. In front of the hotel you have the possibility to get money from a ATM. This hotel is situaded in the heart of the city. I will always choose this hotel, if I ever come back again to Kathmandu.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
10
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This building, the decor and furnishings are all a bit dated and you may feel you've travelled back in time, however the rooms are spacious, airy and bright.
The helpfulness and enthusiasm of the staff is the most welcome thing. With hot water and decent wifi and prime location it's a good choice for Kathmandu.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Karma Hotel is a very friendly and clean place to stay in Kathmandu. The manager and staff are very helpful and always smiling :) my friend and I, we stayed there for 5 nights between 22 Feb-21 March. There was never a problem to leave some bags behind and collect them whenever convenient..we were picked up from the airport..the toilet flush did not work, but there was a bucket ready to use :) hot shower was a treat (specially after Everest Base Camp trek!!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Karma Hotel was a very clean hotel right in Tamel district in Kathmandu. The staff were very helpful when it came to changing money, booking taxis, etc. Breakfast on the roof top was good although not excellent. For Kathmandu standards it is a quiet hotel apart from the generator that is needed during the winter when there is not enough water to generate energy for the entire city for 24h each day.

Room Tip: The higher up the better and the nicer the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Hotel Karma was nice, clean, in a nice area (plenty of restaurant and shops) and a nice and helpful staff. We were in Kathmandou in winter time (December) and it was freezing! Well, don't expect any kind of heating system in the rooms, you will be really cold (our window didn't seem to close pretty well.) There is hot water, but sometimes, you may be disappointed by the small or inexisting amout of real hot water you will get. But, we managed our way with the cold and the shower, and at the end, it didn't really bother us anymore (we stayed there total one week.) Free wi-fi access in our room. And if you go to Kathmandou expect electricity breaks twice a day for about 5 hours!

Room Tip: You should get a room upstairs. The first floor is really noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Karma on and off during our travels in Nepal. We did several treks and sidetrips to Pokhara and Chitwan and every time we came back to Hotel Karma. The staff is very friendly and helpfull and the hotel is very quiet overall. The beds are OK, the bathrooms are just fine and have hot water as long there's electricity. The hotel doesn't have backup power which is inconvenient, but that's just how it is in Kathmandu. They have WiFi, but in your room only on the 3rd and 4th floor (the access point is on the 3rd). Probably not the best value for your money in Thamel, but overall just a nice place.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 3rd floor (less stairs and good WiFi). The 'deluxe' rooms are the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telavi, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Karma Hotel, off and on, for the two weeks we were in Nepal. The staff was the best thing about the place -- very sweet and helpful. The manager arranged a very cheap excursion for us in Chitwan. We were shown several rooms and decided which one we liked, and they put us in the same room every time we came back to the city. Breakfast was included and always served warm -- we had perfect mornings out on the beautiful terrace on the 5th floor. The price was great and the location couldn't be better.

Room Tip: If you don't like the room you are shown, ask to see a different one -- they were very accommoda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Karma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karma

Address: Thamel, Bhagawati Marg, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 342 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Karma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Karma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.