We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-la Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Shangri-la Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Shangri-la Boutique Hotel
Jyatha Road | Thamel, Kathmandu 977, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 371 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Pune
1 review
“Peaceful Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I stayed here for about four days. Its a nice place away from the street and all the noise. Very peaceful. Rooms are big and clean. Good service. Good people. There is a nice terrace where you can chill out, play music etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    14
    8
    2
    6
See reviews for
3
21
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We were taken here from the airport and that was a great idea not to bother (1st time we followed someone after 5 months travel in India).
The rooms are really good value for money, clean and clear, the double bed with attached bathroom, and TV. The whole for a very fair price after asking around for prices in Thamel.
The guys in charge are really nice and honest, no problem of trust, which is also important.
Well, we feel like at home in Shangri-La GH now and each time we come to Kathmandu after a trek (we've been in Nepal for 1 month and a 1/2), we know where to put our luggage and settle down to relax before heading up to the next destination.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

One of the most brilliant place to stay. Very friendly staffs + clean & comfortable room. All of the staffs speak quite good English and one of the manager even speaks JAPANESE very fluently so no worries about the language ;) Though this hotel is located in Thamel and takes only a few minutes walk to the main street, the place is very quiet and calm.
Lots of guests and the staffs here really love music which I'm also into. Sitting together and drinking tea and playing guitars with them on the rooftop is one of my most precious memory in Nepal. If you are looking forward to a hotel that really makes you feel like at home, this is definitely the place to go.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Shangri-la - a hostel with a heavenly experience where the staff and management are excellent. You can chill on the rooftop and get great food and drinks from the cook Neresh. Amit the Owner gives sound advice on all trekking trips and has good local knowledge of Nepal. Relaxed atmosphere with good ambiance be sure to check out the chill out room. Musicians are most welcome to jam with talented artists of Kathmandu. Location 2 mins just off the main junction of Thamel easy to catch a tourist bus to Pokhra and Chitwan. Be sure to visit and say Hi from Izzy to Amit..

Izzy - London, UK.

Room Tip: Different room for different price
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The customers service in this guesthouse is quite terrible. They dont have any respect or loyalty towards old clients...The bookings you do in this Guesthouse are not guaranteed because often they forget or if they sell the room to someone else for more money they can forget your booking. They often have problems with the backup for electricity. I also had a problem because they accused us of checking out without paying because apparently one of the employers stole the money we paid for the room...do yourself a favor a book somewhere else...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

We were made to feel part of the family, and immediately felt at home and comfortable with the wonderful friendly staff. It was a real haven in amongst the hustle and bustle of busy Kathmandu. The accommodation is perfectly adequate with a lovely rooftop restaurant and great food. The associated tour company Corsa Nepal Adventures, run by Nakul Devkota, quickly and efficiently organised a great tour for us to Chitwan National Park and on to Pokhara for some trekking. Everything went extremely smoothly and was professionally arranged with Nakul keeping in touch throughout the tour to make sure we were all OK. I thoroughly recommend the Shangri-la and Corsa Nepal Adventures.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

I spent 14 days in Shangri-La guest house. Very good quality-price. I felt myself in secure and I could meet very nice people. I was there during the Dipavali festival and the employers of Shangri-La have become friends. They discuss with you, and they are helpful,
Clara, France.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-la Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-la Boutique Hotel

Address: Jyatha Road | Thamel, Kathmandu 977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 371 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Boutique Hotel is a unique fusion of classical paintings amidst an urban atmosphere that perfectly captures the essence of Kathmandu, hosting guests from all around the world to share a space and indulge in conversations about their homelands as well as of their travels around Nepal. Located very centrally in the tourist hub that Thamel is, our hotel is tucked well inside, giving our guests a quiet sanctuary from the buzzing streets, where they can breathe fresh air from the surrounding greenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Shangri-la Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-la Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.