We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feels like home!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pilgrims Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pilgrims Guest House to your Saves list
Pilgrims Guest House
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   North Thamel, Lekhnath Marg | Kathmandu, Nepal, Kathmandu 19549, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 387 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“feels like home!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I've stayed there for more than a week in 2010.. the staff and the guests mingled every night in the garden restaurant, talk to each other like we've been friends for a long time. The room is quite tidy, not perfectly clean but warm enough to cover us from the breeze. They also have water heater and wi-fi. A small bar next to the restaurant where u can have your breakfast n dinner. And the food was totally yum.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    59
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
20
31
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

i stayed here for 2 weeks and its a great place.
the cheapest rooms here are good and you can us the internet in the lobby.
the owner of the place Gunga Lama is very nice and welcoming man.
located in good place in the thamel.
you can meet here also many beautiful girls...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed at Pilgrims for three months while I was in Kathmandu, and it turned out to be a wonderful choice! The staff was friendly, helpful, and accommodating; they told me they wanted Pilgrims to feel like my home for the summer, and they worked hard to make sure I felt that way! My room was pretty basic but it was clean and had everything I needed, including a TV, balcony, hot water, and a fan. Pilgrims also offers great amenities other guest houses might lack, such as reliable WiFi and a generator for load shedding incidents. They have several types of rooms as far as size, number of beds, and price, so check out as many as you can if you want the best room for your needs.
The garden restaurant is also really nice. It was a great place to relax, eat nice food, and meet a ton of travelers. The location is great, too: not far from the heart of Thamel, but not in a particularly noisy area, either.

Would definitely stay there again, and would absolutely recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We where here in June and July, moving around Nepal but using this as our base and stayed a total of 18 nights. When we were away we left our big bags and had a small secure locker for the whole duration of going back and forth.

They have rooms of varying prices which are simple and clean. Our favourite part of the hotel was the courtyard though as we met lots of other travellers. The food is good and the staff are excellent. I would definitely recommend. We stayed in $10 and $15 rooms with taxes included.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Pilgrims Guest House is of course basic, very basic. But if you come to Nepal for trekking, as I did - and I ended up staying here already for more than six times - you better get used to "basic" already before you start your treck. But the rooms fulfil their purpose, they are clean, offer a bed and - most important of all - a quiet and relaxing atmosphere in the middle of hectic Thamel.

The garden in front of the gues thouse is a gem. In few other locations in Thamel can you enjoy such traquility at such a low price. There is also a nice roof deck where you can take your dinks. And yes, the food is great. Get your carbs before you take off for Anapurna Roundtreck!

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms on the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My stay in nepal was for 4 nights. We were 3 ppl out here for official work. This was our 1st visit to Nepal. We got taxi from airport who said that he will show 3 hotels and if I like any one of them then the taxi ride will be free of cost. Out of the 3 we liked Pilgrims Guest house more so coz of the garden area that they have where you can chill, have bear,eat or do net. Rooms were spacious and good. Food quality is good but little expensive. There Manager is good but the owner was very rude with us on day 1 when negotiating with them for the hotel room. IT was coz of the Manager that we took this hotel as he was very polite and calm. The evenings was great and relaxing in there garden restaurant with beer was an amazing way to relax and enjoy cool weather. Rooms are good specially top floor. Bathroom is good with hot water. Food quality is good. The only bad thing is that restaurant takes it last order at 9pm and food is little expensive.

Room Tip: When you visit here..check all the rooms before deciding on 1. If you visit b/w aprl-august then kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokhara, Nepal
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

As a frequent guest to KTM I used to use this guest house, but then I understood what the Indian manager says about the guests behind their backs. It's a shame because the staff like all others in Nepal are so friendly.

The rooms on the ground floor give them a big miss and other rooms are old and nasty, there are some nice rooms but you need to pay over a 1000NRP for these.

A big plus point is the garden restaurant attached to it, great for meeting other travellers.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pilgrims Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrims Guest House

Address: North Thamel, Lekhnath Marg | Kathmandu, Nepal, Kathmandu 19549, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 387 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pilgrims Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pilgrims Guest House is one of the finest guest house in Thamel, Kathmandu. For more than 10 years Pilgrims Guest House has been offering a warm welcome to travellers from all over the world. More than three-quarters of our guests return and many have done so for several years. We are proud that for last 10 years we have made our guest feel like they are staying at home with our warm and friendly hospitality. Pilgrims Guest House is located in the northern part of Thamel. We assure you for the clean, safe and free from traffic noise accommodation. Pilgrims guest house has 26 comfortable neat and clean rooms with facilities offering Standard, Deluxe and Budget rooms .Each of our rooms comes with private bathroom with hot shower and cold shower all the time, LED TV in every rooms of our guest house and providing free Wifi internet services in all the rooms. Our staff is efficient and well trained .They will be ready 24 hrs to provide you the services or assistance you need. The garden is the heart of the guest house. We invite you to join conversations with interesting people and relax with a glass of wine or a local imported beer. We also offer for your pleasure traditional Nepali, Chinese, Continental and Indian Cuisine. Pilgrims is conveniently located and is walking distance to the Royal Palace Museum, Bhagwati Bahal Durbar, the Garden of Dreams, Durbar Square and Basantapur. Or wander through the streets of Thamel to find exquisite teak carvings, hand-hammered Tibetan singing bowls, mountain tea blends, fragrant incense, hand-knitted sweaters, or elaborate Khukari knives. To help make this dream come true, we will even pick you up at the airport. Look for our sign (Pilgrims) just outside the airport exit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Pilgrims Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pilgrims Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.