We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here, owner is not nice” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Paknajol

Hotel Paknajol
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kathmandu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Paknajol
Save
You added Hotel Paknajol to your Saves list
Paknajol, Kathmandu MNP-16, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 373 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Richmond, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't stay here, owner is not nice”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

This place is okay except that they never have hot water even though the owner insists they do. I had three showers, two were less than luke warm and one was luke warm at best. Other travelers there said the same thing. Since the guest houses on all sides of this place always have hot water I would stay there. For instance the Katmandu Peace Guest house is very good and the two brothers who run it are very nice.

The owner of Hotel Paknajol was also very rude to me when I politely asked for hot water. In my 3.5 months total in Nepal that is the first time someone has offended me since I find most Napalis very nice. He has a smiling face (at first in order to get your business) but in reality he is not a nice person. Don't let him fool you and don't give him your business.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paknajol, Owner at Hotel Paknajol, responded to this review, February 9, 2010
Dear traveler,
We are very disappointed by the fact that you seem rude or did not show due respect to you, forgive us for that.
But by the laws of physics, solar water heaters can not cope with heating in the morning sun and inactive even using an electric heater requires time that you have not given us, though we tried to convey this information to you several times.
Since then, we took into account this fact and is now at the Hotel Paknajol installed a gas water heating system that allows you to get really hot, relaxing shower in all weather conditions 24 hours a day.

Best regards,
Hotel Paknajol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
2
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
frankfurt
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

very freindly and veryhelpful staff, makes you feel at home, and always cares about you whatever you need! I specially recommend a guided motorbike tour in and around Kathmandu! Ask the manager for anything you need, and you get it. Roof terrace is a sepcial place to relax. Good advantage is the quiet road, a step away from Tamel.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

Hotel is really nice, prices are reasonable and more than affordable. Not my first time in Nepal, so I can tell the difference.
Location is very good indeed. 5 min walk to/from Thamel, but it's so much quiet here! When I first got here I was so surprised that there's such a place in the center of the city, but so cosy, clean and quiet. No noise. The air is much more fresh. No cars, no motorbikes here. At all!!!
Rooms are clean and bright. Beds and pillows are comfortable. And! (what is essential in winter) they have really warm blankets. Once you try them - you are sure about being comfortable while you sleep. Believe me, in many other places you just feel cold.
There was no tv in my room, not sure about the rest. But who on earth is gonna spend time watching tv in Nepal:) (4 out of 5 because of that on rooms)
Good view from the rooftop. Sunsets are beautiful. When the sky is clear 3-4 mountain peaks can be seen. You feel quite above the city, it's good feeling, you know what I mean:)
The stuff is English speaking and friendly, always ready to help in any case and provide you with all information necessary.
Hot shower available. Cosy garden in the backyard.
I strongly recommend Hotel Paknajol to those of you guys who seek for the good option at good price in quiet area.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
28
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

Guest house Paknajol located in a quiet, good location, not far from the tourist zone.
Professional and friendly staff, comfortable rooms.
Guest house is very nice, quiet vacation. The area is not very big, but beautiful, all green and cozy, in the back yard is quiet, beautiful, blooming garden, exotic plants, flowers, swings and a playground for ball games, tennis, volleyball, night there could be time for a barbecue in pleasant, friendly atmosphere for a cup of green tea with mint.
I am very happy holiday, be back soon:)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Very confortable guest house, well located as it's in a very quiet place.
The manager is very helpful, whatever you need or ask, you can be sure you will get what you are looking for.
Rooms are very clean, with a lot of space. Garden is really nice, and the roof top is enjoyable to chill out, with beautiful view on all Kathmandu..
i recommended it to everyone! :)

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Paknajol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paknajol

Address: Paknajol, Kathmandu MNP-16, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 373 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paknajol is a new, European managed guest house located in a quiet peaceful area; just 5 minutes walk from Thamel Tourist junction to come. We assure you for the clean, safe, totally free of pollution and traffic noise accommodation. Airport transfers will be free of charge if booking is more then 2 nights. To get Airport pick-up service, after reservation kindly e-mail us with your arrival details - name of airlines, flight number and arrival time in Kathmandu Airport. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Paknajol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.