We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful spot in a chaotic place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Garden Home

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Garden Home to your Saves list
Ambassador Garden Home
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thamel, Kathmandu 9681, Nepal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Discount 25 to 35%
Ranked #20 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Peaceful spot in a chaotic place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

After reviewing what seemed like hundreds of different hotels in Katmandu and Thamel in particular, I just sort of choose this one more out of pot luck than anything else. Was I glad I did, definitely. Won't repeat all the good things that the other reviewers have put, as they are all true. Great location great staff, great value for money. Sure there are cheaper places and more expensive places, but if you want a comfortable place that's clean, safe and above all got staff who go that extra mile,then this is the place if chaotic, noisy, full of life and colour is where you choose to stop. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room numbers ending in 02,03 or 04 as they are on the back of the hotel overlooking the Garden and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review, we all are happy to know that you had great time at ambassador garden home. Hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

Thank you once again

warm regards,

Prakash & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    153
    26
    14
    3
See reviews for
53
207
92
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

A beautiful boutique hotel, stayed for the first time, so had initial hiccups as my stay was for 6 days...but, I was floored by the reception given, hospitality and mainly the food. A peaceful place amidst busy Thamel street.
They respect PRIVACY (unlike in few hotels where staffs would stare at the guests). the responsibility staff took to make sure the guests are happy..A big KUDOS to the team of Ambassador Garden Home...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review, we all are happy to know that you had great time at ambassador garden home. Hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

Thank you once again

warm regards,

Prakash & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

A truly peaceful place, right in the heart of busy Thamel. The room was good, and the service was great. Good wi-fi too. Everything just worked. The kind of place I'd go back to in a heartbeat if I ever find myself in Kathmandu again (I have a feeling I will!). A delightful experience overall.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review, we all are happy to know that you had great time at ambassador garden home. Hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

Thank you once again

warm regards,

Prakash & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paros, Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

As I walked in the gate I was greeted by the friendliest and helpful staff I have come across in a long time. Check in was quick and the room was divine. It's the place where you can be left alone or you can hang in the beautiful and tasteful lounge or outdoor restaurant and have a chat with a staff member or another patron.
This place is a cut above the rest in the mid-range budget arena. It's location is more than satisfying, you are moments away from great shopping and an array of delightful restaurants and bars. I was splurging a bit but I am so glad I did, I have no regrets about staying here at all!
The room was perfect. Comfortable bed, aircon, great shower and the usual fridge and tea making facilities. A nice fruit basket on arrival as well as a can of juice and beer - bonus!
I'll be heading back whenever I get back to Kathmandu.

Room Tip: They all seem quite lovely they all face away from the street. I was on the third floor. Nothing to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review, we all are happy to know that you had great time at ambassador garden home. Hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

Thank you once again

warm regards,

Prakash & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel twice now (2013 and 2014). Both times, it was marvellous. The rooms are very clean, the staff extremely friendly and the food excellent.
I can't imagine us visiting Kathmandu and not staying here.
Highly recommended...

Room Tip: Make sure you go for a room with a garden view, they're quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review, we all are happy to know that you had great time at ambassador garden home. Hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

Thank you once again

warm regards,

Prakash & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

As others pointed out, this hotel is a very clean, affordable and comfortable stay in the middle of Thamel. The breakfast is tasty (although only one option is included, many others are available for very decent prices) and the internet surprisingly reliable. Thamel could be chaotic and loud, sometimes at night. However, in Kathmandu, this is the neighborhood to stay. The hotel is located around many restaurants, supermarkets and ATMs and about 15 minutes from Durbar Square (which is even more chaotic during the day). The staff was friendly and accommodating and they put us in touch with Lok, who used to be their full-time driver and now works on his own. He took us around every day for reasonable fees, speaks English quite well and is very knowledgeable of the Kathmandu Valley attractions. The hotel deserves its high rankings.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are ideal for single or couple travelers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review, we all are happy to know that you had great time at ambassador garden home. Hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

Thank you once again

warm regards,

Prakash & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The Ambassador Garden Home Hotel was recommended to us by a friend and it turned out to be an excellent recommendation. For some being right in the heart of the tourist area which is Thamel could be off-putting, however the location of this hotel means that it is extremely quiet and something of an oasis amidst the clamor. An old house that has been renovated as a boutique hotel, Ambassador Garden Home is truly charming. There are 18 rooms of three or four different sizes [you need to check carefully on the hotel's website to ensure you choose the size and style that you require. All rooms have complimentary WiFi.
There is a small but very charming common area, with two computers [the internet is quite fast] and a small but interesting library. This opens out onto a small but delightful covered garden where meals are served.
The staff are friendly, very attentive and helpful.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The designations for various rooms can be confusing - check the hotel website to clarify between the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review, we all are happy to know that you had great time at ambassador garden home. Hope to have chance to serve you in future too.

Thank you once again

warm regards,

Prakash & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Garden Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Garden Home

Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 9681, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#7 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
#8 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Garden Home 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have attached bathroom ,LG FHD LED TV & AC (24 hours back up through generator for both heating & cooling )with mini bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Ambassador Garden Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Garden Home Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Garden Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.