We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring earplugs. Lots.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Potala

Hotel Potala
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Potala to your Saves list
Hotel Potala
Thamal | PO Box 26182, Kathmandu 00977, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 372 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bring earplugs. Lots.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Clean, the beds are moderately comfortable,and the service is good, but the bars on either side do not shut down until very late and thus is only bar star friendly. Don't expect the wifi to reach your room, or to be able to sleep before midnight due to the extremely loud rock and roll bar next door.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    37
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
2
23
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Extremely helpful, knowledgable and courtous staff-every single one of them makes you feel welcome and home. Rooms are average and please make sure that you ask for one far away from nightclubs- this is centrally located hotel and there are many around it that can make your night miserable!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Hotel Potala is one hotel that many budget travellers end up overlooking in their trip to kathmandu as in many travel guides it seems expensive compared to other budget places. This is a view that I also had, and in my edition of Lonely Planet Nepal it seemed fairly pricey.

However, I recently stayed there for a week as a friend I had been travelling with was leaving to go home and wanted something not too pricey but that was nicer than some of the places we had stayed, cue Hotel Potala. However, something we didn't take into account was that the Hotel actually saved us money in the long run, costing us 15,000 Nepali rupees for a triple room (with three singles, not a double and a single) for a week, and the cinche was that it included breakfast.

Our room was considered the deluxe and had a bathroom and a TV. It came with nice warm blankets and quilts and the pillows were soft and comfortable. Something that is not mentioned in my LP guide is that Potala also had incredibly fast Wifi, with a router on two out of three floors which allowed me to make good Skype calls and even load videos from YouTube with ease.

Breakfast is included in the price, and you can choose to have a few different set meals, most of which include 2 eggs any style, hash brown potatoes and toast/croissant with a choice of tea or coffee. It is served until 11.30am, and you can pay 80 rupees extra and get one of the special breakfasts which generally included juice, bacon or steak.

In other meals, the hotel food was good value and tasted good, we ate here for a few dinners and Dal Fry with rice came to about 200 rupees, whereas a restaurant would charge you 350. For those counting pennies the restaurant is a good option.

In terms of location it is smack bang in the middle of Thamel, being a stones throw away from Restaurants like OR2K and The Factory, as well as two minutes from nicer places such as Phat Kath and The Roadhouse Cafe. Our taxi driver got confused and took us to Potala guesthouse, but if this happens, just say Kathmandu guesthouse and it's 2 minutes down the road.

Like other reviews have mentioned, it is on top of a club called Purple haze, which plays covers of westerm songs til about 11pm most days, although I mamaged to sleep through it on the few early nights we had!

All in all we loved our stay at Hotel Potala and are planning on going back there in 2 weeks (I write this from Lumbini). For three people we paid £31/$51 each for a week which worked out at just over 700 rupees a night, including breakfast.

Room Tip: Anything on the fifth floor (rooms 501 - 505) has good wifi and is considered deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPotala1, Owner at Hotel Potala, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Sir Namaste
Thank very much for taking a time to write splendid review about hotel potala on tripadvisor. We are pleased to know that you have had pleasant stay with us. We are trying to do much better always making your comfortable stay at hotel potala Thank you very much once again for appreciation about our amenities and foods. We would like to provide moreover pleasant and homely atmosphere. We are looking forward to staying with you again .
Regards,
Sudarshan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Our travelling group used this hotel before and after our Everest Base Camp trek. The staff were wonderful, helpful, cheerful and always attentive. I liked the lounge area near reception for free tea - it was a good area to meet and chat. Rooms were basic but very clean and well maintained. Felt like the most wonderful shower in the world after returning from the trek, however any shower would have felt like this! Thank you to the professional staff at Potala, I plan to return in a couple of months for my second trek and have asked my guide to arrange my base at Hotel Potala. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Well known by taxi drivers coming from the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The hotel is located In the heart of Thamel. This has it's pros and cons. If you're a light sleeper: bring earplugs! Breakfast is great. But outside breakfast hours, serving is slow and the food poor. Rooms are small but clean, and the bath is even smaller but stabil. The staff is very friendly and funny, always greeting you with a smiling "nameste". The hotel has an arranger who can put together any activity for you, such as trekking, rafting etc.
On top of it all, the hotel has a really nice rooftop, where you can relax and sunbath. We Can only recoment the place!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed here a few times when in Kathmandu. Love the place. Great friendly staff in a well run centrally located hotel in Thamel, KTM.

Clean room, with hot water. Good resturant with local and international food.

A home away from home. I will be back

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Perfect in the centre of Thamel, if you don't mind live music from the bar next door at evening.
Rooms are clean and breakfast is great!
The staffs are really helpful and always friendly. I stayed there for two weeks and they even got a present when I left.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Potala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Potala

Address: Thamal | PO Box 26182, Kathmandu 00977, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 372 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Potala is a leading hotel in the heart of the Thamel neighborhood of Kathmandu.Run by a Nepali and Tibetan family, it is a perfect place for those who value time, convenience, and a safe place to stay. We've been in the hotel business since 1991 and know how to make our visitors feel like they are in our house rather than our hotel. We are close to many attractions in the city and provide a wide range of guest services and amenities. Our 27 rooms provide many lodging options, all with 24 hour a day hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Potala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Potala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.