We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic for the money you pay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Khangsar Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Khangsar Guest House to your Saves list
Khangsar Guest House
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   PO Box 20976, Thamel | Chhetrapati, Kathmandu 25451, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 387 Kathmandu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Very basic for the money you pay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Khangsar is a basic hotel in Thamel, Kathmandu. My room was fine on the 4th floor. Mind you it is all worn down, but with a great lobby internet connection and its location is strategic, if staying in Thamel. If you are not used to basic accommodation, you may want to stay elsewhere paying double or triple.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    70
    28
    15
    10
See reviews for
11
43
104
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The water in the bathroom was brown, the sheets were dirty and the room was quite small for the price we paid in comparison to other guest houses we have been in Kathmandou. Moreover, the owner was not really nice and he always tried to sell us the most expensive options.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I choosed to stay here due to nice comments about nice and friendly enviroment. The guest house location is very central , yes there is similing service but rooms are not clean, running water is brown. Manager can arranged everything you would like however in my case;
1-) I was asked to pay double in USD for the trip to Bhaktapur compared to travel agent which was at downstair
2-) when you need taxi for airport, a kind of private car comes and you end up paying 50% more.
So be careful with smile and all advertise chairty work in guest house , there is a bit fake and cheating part of it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latacunga, Ecuador
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have stayed here three times now and booked a trek with the owner. The rooms are basic but clean and have (most of the time) hot water and a fan. The staff are always smiling and willing to help in anyway they can. The breakfast is also great value and the location is perfect, not noisy but centrally located so you can get around Thamel easily by foot. The airport pick up is vital but they never hold up a sign so make sure you ask around and you will find your driver! We also took the Kathmandu valley tour with them which was a tiring but great day if you do not have long in Kathmandu.

Room Tip: Top rooms are quiet but quite a walk up those stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishikesh, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

waw i have found one of the best place in Kathmandu . the supporting staff was great and always help full . and all the things was on time .i stayed about 3 nights . it was very good experience in Kathmandu .if you are visiting around in Kathmandu .so Khangsar Guest House could be a good choice .

a great than x to management ☺

Room Tip: i suggests people roof top can be a good nice choice .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelty, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed here for two nights and days,22/09-24/09, and found the staff friendly and helpful. They helped arrange a couple of trips for me at very short notice. The rooms were clean and there was always hot water for washing and showering.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

As i am regular nepal visitor i used khangsar guest house few times.. Had comfortable stay and didnt have any problem what they have promised. Really friendly staff makes my stay happy and comfortable, Mukhya who works at night he was happy to open door at middle of night with smile and we became like friend and he even took us at boudhnath after his duty.

Its so cheap and they had new thick matress and i love it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khangsar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khangsar Guest House

Address: PO Box 20976, Thamel | Chhetrapati, Kathmandu 25451, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 387 B&Bs / Inns in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Khangsar Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Thamel in a quiet area, rooftop garden restaurant, 24 hr hot & cold showers, friendly staff. You will find good hospitality and accommodation at a very affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Khangsar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khangsar Guest House Hotel Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khangsar Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.