We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food in Kathmandu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thakali Kitchen

Thakali Kitchen
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
(01) 4701910
Improve this listing
Ranked #119 of 408 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Restaurant details
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Food in Kathmandu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I went there three days in the row with my family, before my flight to the United States. We all ordered Non Vegetarian Thali. The food is prepared fresh and it is very delicious. I ate the food until I had the feeling of no more space in my stomach. The quality and quantity of food were both excellent. The price was very reasonable too. 4 non veg thalis for 4 people came up to less than 1200 NPR or $12 USD. I am definitely going to this place everytime I visit kathmandu.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    24
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
486 reviews 486 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
“Must Try”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is another Must Try Place based on the recommendation of the Manager of my Nepalese hostel in Thamel. He asked me to order their set meal . The meal came with rice,chicken, some pickles and some other items which are refilled by the restaurant server. The server or restaurant waiter goes around carrying a container of rice and viands and if you wish to refill your plate then he will just scoop up the condiments, rice and viands on your plate. Although I didnt find the food to my liking it was definitely an experience to taste Nepalese food.Price is also very cheap.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Nepalese Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Nice Nepalese restaurant with great food. Cosy ambience especially during dinner. Only the mutton of my Thakali set meal is a bit too stiff to bite off. Tried on 2 occasions & still faced the same problem. Better try vegetarian next time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“No style at all, but super food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Bright lighting, formica tables and metal chairs, a real basic cafe, but the place was packed, with both locals and tourists who'd been paying attention to their guide books. We stuck with the veggie option and were not disappointed. Excellent food, freshly prepared and cooked, cold beer,rock bottom prices what's not to like?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gangtok, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Thumps up to the food served. Liked everything, recommend the nepali thali. Didnt get to taste the non veg items but surely would come back for more.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thakali Kitchen also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Thakali Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thakali Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.