We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ambience & food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1905 Restaurant

1905 Restaurant
Kantipath | Between Thamel and Kings Way, Kathmandu 44225272, Nepal (Formerly 1905)
+977 4215068
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #123 of 385 restaurants in Kathmandu
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Famous Farmers Market held in the beautiful garden every saturday. Natural Outdoor Setup with Ornamental Garden. Beautiful sunny wooden deck. Cozy Indoor Setup with a big Parking Space
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Excellent ambience & food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

What a lovely setting - pity we didn't get to see it in the daytime. I loved the simplicity of the décor ....

The food was really good and the service was excellent too. The only complaint I have is that we were set very close to the entrance/ reception area and given that it was a Thursday night and the restaurant was not that busy .... the staff were too busy chatting loudly, which ruined the ambience a little bit. I would also recommend that in such a lovely restaurant playing 'pop music' is not ideal - ruins the ambience along with the extremely loud chatting amongst the staff!!

Needless to say the food was excellent and the yoghurt cheesecake was divine!

Highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    15
    26
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love it love it love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Excellent place, downtown and feeling you are kind of outside. Good food, good service, nice parties, and wonderful Farmers Market place on Saturdays

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Save yourself”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

It is expensive, the service is slow and the food is despicable.
Only the ambiance is worth. There are plenty of restaurants around that are much better than here.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A place to spend sometime over a drink talking to a friend.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just the relaxing quiet place, reminds of the old times, peacefully quiet, a very lonely restaurant, good for some drinks and snacks, in the heart of kathmandu. The place deserves to be more lively.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langtang National Park, Nepal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

One of the great place I really like to go. Its in center of city even though its very quit and big area. The pond inside make the place very intresting. Food is good. Its really very nice to party on. I been in this place 8years ago in dance party at that time i though of coming back then since i keep on returning back these place. I think everyone should try these place one time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1905 Restaurant also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to 1905 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1905 Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.