We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Owner,bad staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1905 Restaurant

1905 Restaurant
Kantipath | Between Thamel and Kings Way, Kathmandu 44225272, Nepal (Formerly 1905)
+977 4215068
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #149 of 408 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: Nepali, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are situated in the heart of the city, stone throw away from Thamel. Food at 1905 is selected according to our local availability based on quality and freshness. We use organic salads and vegetables from local farmers. Natural Outdoor Setup with Ornamental Garden. Beautiful sunny wooden deck. Cozy Indoor Setup with a big Parking Space. Our Famous Farmers Market is held in our beautiful garden every saturday from 9-1pm.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Owner,bad staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The food is very good here,though the portions are a tad on the small side.The owner has tried her best to maintain the 100 year-old property,but as with Nepali institutions everywhere,the Maoists have made it mandatory for everyone to suffer bad or non existent service.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    28
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very good food, nice ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Excellent, haut cuisine food in beautiful and peaceful surroundings. Good for a romantic dinner or for yourself to sip on a delicious dinner or lunch. When we were there there was a group of physically disabled children, it was very touching to see with how much fun they bring their songs and dance.
For Nepali standards it is quite expensive. I paid 1100 rupees for one dish, including a glass of good white wine and tip.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccione, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This charming place is a bit off the beaten track, though very near to Durbar Marg where we we stayed. They offer different dishes and we tried salads and chicken which were tasty and good value. The atmosphere is nice in the evenings, when candles are lit all around.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worth a visit and meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The restaurant is a little tired and could benefit from an overhaul. But the food was fine and the staff pleasant.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cute little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

What a lovely little gem! In the hustle bustle of Thamel, this is a very quiet and quaint restaurant and it has a little romantic feel to it. The food was pretty good too!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1905 Restaurant also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to 1905 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1905 Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.