We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious vegetarian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of OR2K

OR2K
Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
4422097
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 413 Restaurants in Kathmandu
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious vegetarian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Everything tasted great, loved especially the Combo Platter and the Mint Juice. We came back here several times. The vibe is nice and the place looks really cool.
The price is overall not too high. Also a good place for a romantic dinner.
The service like in most places in Nepal wasn't that great. Trying to make eye contact with a waiter is a skill here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    185
    68
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good middle eastern menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

One of my favourite places to eat in Thamel. I come here specially for the middle eastern food and amazing fresh mint lemonade. The restaurant has two locations nearby each other, one is more formal seating and quite, while the other is more relaxed and vibrant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Vegetarian Food and Casual Setting at Reasonable Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Based on a recommendation, a colleague of mine and I stopped here for lunch after shopping in Thamel and were generally pleased. The restaurant is on an upper floor of a building not far from the Thamel Chowk traffic intersection. Diners remove their shoes, sit at low tables on cushioned benches, and order from an extensive menu. Free Wi-Fi is available, and many patrons were busy checking their the Internet on their cell phones and computers. Service was a bit slow but not unreasonable for this type of casual restaurant. Zucchini pie, felafel in naan bread, and a cheese omelet were all tasty and quite generous in size, with coleslaw or vegetable salad accompanying each item. The charge for the omelet was higher than what was shown on the menu; I decided not to question the charge because the difference in price was not much more than US$1 and all the other prices were very low (e.g., about US$2 for a felafel platter and less than US$0.50 for a bottle of mineral water). Our total bill for two persons, including a 10 percent service charge, was only 1,150 Nepalese Rupees, or around US$12.50, certainly reasonable for this type of restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Best food in nepal hands down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed in Nepal for a month and the food at Or2k was the best food I've had in the country. The service was great with the waiters able to understand english well. Right in the heart of tamel. You sit on the floor on comfy cushions. Will definitely go back when I return to Nepal. Well priced.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Probably a cool hippie hangout back in the day, more mainstream now!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

OR2K still attracts the traveller type today but conjures up visions of a cooler place back in the day! On entering you take your shoes off, sit on comfy cushions on the floor to eat and drink and listen to Buddha Bar music. It's a nice place if you want to just hangout, use the wifi and relax. The food is ok, I ordered a noodle dish which was more than a generous portion but wasn't anything special, it was just nice! My husband ordered daal baat which was one of the blandest we tasted, shame, as we've tasted really good daal baat in cheaper places. The wine is nice as is the Everest beer! All in all its a pleasant experience, a good place to go if you want to get away from the chaos of the street.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OR2K also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to OR2K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OR2K, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.