We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roadhouse Cafe

Roadhouse Cafe
Thamel, Kathmandu 9315, Nepal
4262768
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 385 restaurants in Kathmandu
Cuisines: Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

when you are full of Dahl Baht and curry, head to the Roadhouse - wonderful coffee, excellent woodfired pizzas - all with great service from the staff

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    189
    179
    53
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Western style food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice place, food very western. Safe place, but unexiciting. Would go again, but not the place to try if you are only in Kathmandu for a couple of nights. Pork chops were very good, pizzas were tempting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The food is good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The food is good here. However the serving of the waiters is not the best. I was waiting for my bill about 20 minutes! The waiters are very slow and seem not to care.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Low service, obsessive waiters, acceptable food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The staff work very slowly, often mistaken in the order. Tasty pizza, salads, cakes and coffee. If you want to eat without inconvenience – don’t choose this place: waiter come to me 5 time within 10 minutes and ask: “Do you finish your tea – I want to take your teapot cose we don’t have enough and another client order pot of tea!”
And I wait my bill 15 minutes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Coffee and Pizza - Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Coming from Melbourne, I like my coffee. They served Illy coffee at just the right temperature and the pizzas were very good. I must admit I had come in from Biratnagar where western food did not exist, so we were starving for pizza and the Roadhouse did not disappoint.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roadhouse Cafe also viewed

Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Roadhouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roadhouse Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.