We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dish

Dish
207 North Cedar Street, Abilene, KS 67410
785 263-3836
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Abilene
Restaurant details
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I grew up in Abilene and now live about an hour away. I go to The Dish every chance I get! Because they are only open Mon-Fri for lunch, it's hard to make it often. However, when I travel through Abilene for work, I stop. I have also taken a day off just so I can get my Dish fix! It is a very relaxed, quaint and welcoming environment. The menu changes from week to week and there is a creative, gourmet spin on everything. Even a grilled cheese or BLT sandwich can be fancy! For the amount of food you get, the price is very good, too. My young nephews ages 4-7-10 love going there as well! It is one of the best restaurants that I've been to!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always a great lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The menu is always serving fresh and local ingreadients. I had never tried anything I didn't enjoy. The chef serves meatless options, hot and cold sandwiches, soups and salads. And always come out with generous helpings! Love it and would recommended to anyone!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The service is so nice and the food is spectacular! What more could you ask for? All around a nice little restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This small downtown restaurant is the best and most innovative in Abilene. During a recent 4 day stay, we ate there 3 days. Would have dined there all 4 days, but sadly, they are not open on the weekends. This is a lunch-only establishment, run by a couple of sisters... one serves and the other is in the kitchen. Food is very flavorful and creative, and is a great value. Wonderful soups and salads, and generous sized sandwiches.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Exceptional restaurant in small town KS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I was very impressed with the delicious fish tacos and chicken soup at this downtown restaurant in Abilene. The tilapia tacos were exceptional, the best I have ever had! What a treat to find this in small town Kansas. Pull off of the I-70 and take time to enjoy the culinary delights these ladies put together.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dish also viewed

 

Been to Dish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.