We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Reason to Stay in Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abilene's Victorian Inn Bed & Breakfast

Abilene's Victorian Inn Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abilene
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abilene's Victorian Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Abilene's Victorian Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
820 NW 3rd St, Abilene, KS 67410   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Abilene B&B and Inns
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“The Reason to Stay in Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I have stayed in this type of accommodation for years and going to the victoriana inn is the perfect example of why.
The owner, Adrian, treats you more like a friend that has come home rather than a paying guest.
The large victorian home has been beautifully restored and the public rooms are lovely.
The bedrooms are spacious. A great deal of thought went into the little details like mirrors, lighting and storage.
Adrian asked about food allergies as well as likes and dislikes.
She gave us the name of a terrific restaurant..margaritas and seeing her there too!
Her other guest was a researcher who joined us for breakfast. It was great talking to him about history.
This entire experience made me very glad I had chosen this place to stay.

Room Tip: No pool. This is not for kids. I loved the Parker Room because it had a little sitting room. All the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
20
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, CO
Top Contributor
375 reviews 375 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 189 cities Reviews in 189 cities
865 helpful votes 865 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This B&B has a lot of nice things about it. It was very clean and even though it was Victorian, it was well maintained and in decent shape for it's age. All of the home's furnishings and decor was in decent to exceptional shape also. All the rooms looked nice & well cared for.

Our room was very clean and comfortable. The bed was comfortable and sheets were nice. There was only one pillow each to sleep on (not including the decorative pillows on display on the bed) & it was a large pillow but quite hard. It would have been nice to have two regular size pillows instead - one soft & one firm - to chose from instead of one king size pillow. The pillow was too hard for me so I had to use just the corner of the pillow which had the least amount of stuffing in it.

Upon check in, we were given a box of chocolates. That was a sweet touch until we saw the date on the box.....the chocolates had expired almost 2 years ago....best use by date was 20 months ago!! We would have rather received no chocolates than an old, out of date, expired box of chocolates.

The inn itself was peaceful but we could hear the guests in the room next door to us talking. And the near by train blew it's horn at night and early morning. Sometimes the horn went off so frequently, I was wondering if it was numerous trains or just one really long train.

The stairs leading up to all the rooms is narrow and turns, making it difficult to carry luggage to your room. I suggest bringing your overnight items in a back pack or tote bag instead of a standard travel luggage, in order to have an easier time going up the stairs. With that being said, this Inn in not handicapped accessible and should not be stayed at by those with mobility issues.

We had access to the majority of the house at any time. Refreshments were available in the dining room. The microwave there is an antique unit, possibly 30 years old. We tried to use the microwave but it worked poorly and would not adequately cook food. It is neat to see if you've never seen one of original models of microwaves with turn dial timer & door release buttons.

There is no parking near the front door but you must park behind the Inn and walk up the gravel driveway to the front door. The front step has a huge chunk missing but it's fairly well hidden with a potted plant.

We did not get a choice at all as to what was served at breakfast. It would have been nice if Adrian would have asked our food preferences. We found her more bossy than friendly.

Overall, it was a neat experience but we would not repeat it.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs if you train whistles bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We rented the top floor. It was spacious enough to accommodate my mother (her 70th birthday) and four of her daughters. The breakfast was gourmet. Adrian made us feel at home. I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: the top floor would be great for a girls getaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Among the best breakfast's ever had at a B&B. Adrian is an accomplished chef, (look at her humongeous scrapbook). Both her and her husband will make you feel at home. The location is great to everything. (They even have bicycles if you want to peddle around or to the Eisenhower museum). They are friendly, helpful, and the type of people you want to be friends with.

Be sure to ask about the story of the piano that Nat King Cole once played. The Parker room filled every need we had. Including a carousel horse. Bed was excellent.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Abilene, Kansas is a pleasant small town, and a nice place to visit. The Eisenhower Presidential Museum is quite well done. As such Presidential museums go, it is one of the best.
This Inn is a very good home base for a stay in Abilene. It's comfortable, clean, central and welcoming. The innkeepers seem to enjoy their role as "welcomers", and have created a rather nostalgic atmosphere that evokes the Abilene of the Eisenhower years.
At one time, this is where one of Ike's best friends lived. Who knows, Ike may have visited there himself.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I had found Victorian Inn when looking for a place to stay during our two day visit to the Eisenhower Library and Museum. We loved this B&B. From the moment we arrived, Adrian welcomed us warmly, gave us a tour, talked about the history of the house, answered our questions about the area. We loved the room, we enjoyed the parlor, fresh-baked snacks, wonderful breakfasts, and helpful comments about the local area. Adrian hosts afternoon teas - for those in the Abilene area. She also has a cute gift shop where she offers fresh loose teas and many other items. We would return in a heartbeat - if we are ever in the area again. You will not be sorry you picked Victorian Inn for your stay in Abilene.

Room Tip: Check their website for a complete tour of the Inn. Good room descriptions helped us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton,CO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I would like to thank the owners of this beautiful and most comfortable bed and breakfast as we spent one night in Abilene to see the Eisenhower exhibits. This home is so well maintained and
you are made to feel so very welcome. I felt like I went back in time. Andrea had lovely cookies, te, coffee peanuts out in the parlor. There are two pianos in which you are free to play one of them if you would like! There are tennis courts behind the B&B and a huge swimming pool, so bring your bathing suits! The breakfast was perfect! We got to visit with people from all over. It was perfect.
The home is amazing! I so appreciate this couple making our trip to Abilene so worth it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hazelett room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abilene's Victorian Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abilene's Victorian Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 820 NW 3rd St, Abilene, KS 67410
Location: United States > Kansas > Abilene
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abilene's Victorian Inn blends history with elegance. This 6,000 square foot Queen Ann Victorian was once the home of President Eisenhower's best friend. Experience a timeless elegance with the comfort of modern amenities. A gift shop is on site as well as wireless internet and much more. Call for more information. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abilene's Victorian Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.