We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your home away from home in Thimphu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ro-Chog Pel Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thimphu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ro-Chog Pel Hotel
Save
You added Ro-Chog Pel Hotel to your Saves list
Post Box No. 828 | Rama, Chang, Thimphu, Bhutan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Thimphu B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Your home away from home in Thimphu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I stayed here for one week in early December, visiting my mother who had been here for six weeks while working in Thimphu. For us both, it was our home away from home. Owners Tashi and Wangdi are gracious and caring hosts and they have trained their staff very well. If at first you hesitate about the "out of town" location, do reconsider. It is so rewarding to be beyond the hustle and bustle and you will savor the breathtaking views of the mountains, river, and city gate. You can go for walks up or down the hill or just relax with a pot of tea in the sun on the terrace. With a ten minute drive, you'll be in the heart of Thimphu. Paro is just 45 minutes away. Rooms are well-appointed, comfortable and nicely sized. Food is fresh as can be, wholesome and varying. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
205 hotel reviews
Reviews in 190 cities Reviews in 190 cities
589 helpful votes 589 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

The Rog-Chog Pel is about 10 minutes outside of Thimpu, set a bit up the hill so it has nice views of the river. It was less than a year old when my wife and I stayed there for two nights in October 2011. At first we were disappointed that we were not staying in the city proper, but since we had just come from a couple of nights in very “rustic” accomodations in Pobjihka Valley, we found it was very nice to have some creature comforts and a good night’s sleep (we understand many of the places to stay in Thimpu can be very noisy).

Our room was very large, with a separate sitting area that had a couch, easy chairs, and a flat screen t.v.. The view from this room was a panoramic vista of the river. The large bedroom was attractively decorated and had a dresser and comfortable queen beds, but oddly there was no closet and very little storage area for clothes. The bathroom was large and had a tub/shower combo and a vanity with lots of counterspace. It was well-stocked with amenities.

Access to the rooms was a bit odd – either up some outside stairs or through the restaurant to one of three multistory buildings. The lobby/lounge area was large but a bit stark. The restaurant had a nice view of the river, and both the food and the service were very good – a bit different from the usual Bhutanese tourist fare. There was free wif-fi, but like everywhere else in Bhutan it was erratic.

Overall we recommend the Rog-Chog Pel if you don’t mind being outside of Thimpu. They are trying hard and have most things right.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trashigang
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

The recently opened hotel Ro-Chog Pel the way I see is indeed a home away from home. Right from the hotel owner as a host and the warm hospitality by their staff has this family approach that you will not miss your family. The rooms are large and of international class.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

The Ro-chog Pel hotel in the capital Thimphu, is a new and modern hotel. Very comfortable and wonderful service

Room Tip: All rooms are very good. I stayed at the hotel 3 nights on my way to east Bhutan and 1 night on my w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Should you be lucky enough to find yourself in, or going to, Bhutan you will undoubtedly be amazed by the scenery, culture and the lovely people you find in this magical Himalayan Kingdom. You may not, however, be quite so impressed by the standard of accommodation or food - neither is dreadful but nor is it much to write home about. The one exception we found was the Ro-Chog Pel Hotel, only six months old (in October 2011) and more than able to match international hotel standards. The rooms are very large, well appointed, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The food is by far the best we encountered during our two week stay (crisp, fresh salads to die for!) and the service is exemplary. It is currently about a ten minute drive from the centre of Thimphu but this should not put you off - indeed, unless you are keen to be serenaded by the capital's canine population, it is a distinct advantage.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ro-Chog Pel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ro-Chog Pel Hotel

Address: Post Box No. 828 | Rama, Chang, Thimphu, Bhutan
Location: Bhutan > Thimphu District > Thimphu
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Thimphu
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ro-Chog Pel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.